Moment Respected Scholar, Prof. Wole Soyinka Was Asked To Get Up From A Flight Seat By A Young Guy

Date: 24-06-2019 11:00 am (4 years ago) | Author: Adegbenga Ayinla
- at 24-06-2019 11:00 AM (4 years ago)

This is a Narrative of how a young Nigerian man asked Nobel Laureate Prof Wole Soyinka to vacate a seat for him.
''@professorwolesoyinka #celebrategreatness #relationshipsmatter met one of the greatest Nigerians walking the earth today and as with other times, he was genteel, witty, forthright and humble. My smile gives me away as he permitted the picture whereas he would have preferred to get back to his newspapers.
Then we boarded the flight and after assisting him with his bags, he took the window seat and promptly started reading again.
A few minutes later this young man, baseball cap, t-shirt to show his muscled chest and tattooed biceps boards the plane and tells Prof he is on his seat (which he was).
Those of us including the cabin crew tried to reason with Bobo Fine to let the old man be but the chap refused. He insisted Prof should vacate his window seat, which the old man quietly did for his original aisle seat next to him.
I couldn’t understand how we got to this point where we no longer have respect for elders, even if are so ignorant of the great global personalities in our midst. Is it too much to ask that an elderly man be allowed to remain in a seat allotted to you in the same business class cabin and the same row?
Na wa o!''
In Germany once an old person enters a Bus or a train and there is no empty seat,people give up their seats to make sure they seat..I have never really asked if it is a must but the love with which they do it is awesome.
Over the weekend i was abroad and decided to take the Bus so that my Bambinis could look around...The bus was so full with no empty seat but a nice young man gave up his seat for me...lol
What he did was not wrong but he could have let the old prof take the seat...costs nothing!!!

Posted: at 24-06-2019 11:00 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Baye77 at 24-06-2019 11:09 AM (4 years ago)
Sincerely I dont get it...fine, one will argue the dude should have respected prof's age nd stuff...but prof shd have sat on his allocated seat in the first place...
..and the analogy u gave of younger people getting up for elderly ones in trains overseas completely contradicts this scenario...this isnt a case of no empty seats available...this is a case prof living his allocated seat to take another when both were empty just because he boarded first...he was wrong to have done that too.
Posted: at 24-06-2019 11:09 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- SweetDaddy1 at 24-06-2019 11:21 AM (4 years ago)
So the respected scholar, prof. don't know the number of his seat. you brought this as a story to fool Wole Soyinka not the young guy.
Posted: at 24-06-2019 11:21 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bebold at 24-06-2019 11:28 AM (4 years ago)
You must be stupid was it not the boys assigned seat ?
Posted: at 24-06-2019 11:28 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- philnel at 24-06-2019 01:56 PM (4 years ago)
I really love the 4 comments above, Prof has a seat assigned to him and he is well educated to know what trespassing is. I really like the courage of the young man who thought him what discipline means. Until Nigerians start seeing everyone this way, doing the right thing. Mr Poster, you ended up disgracing Prof Wole with this rubbish you wrote.
Posted: at 24-06-2019 01:56 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 24-06-2019 03:12 PM (4 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 24-06-2019 03:12 PM (4 years ago) | Hero
- kazeemolajide at 24-06-2019 04:37 PM (4 years ago)
be an elder those not mean to violate the law abide.
Posted: at 24-06-2019 04:37 PM (4 years ago) | Newbie
- nametalkam at 24-06-2019 10:58 PM (4 years ago)
Age is not a factor to seat on someone else's seat, Nigerians like to behave like slaves because of the poverty mentality, so because someone is older than you they should sit on the seat you have reserved on a flight!? GTFOH! that is just a silly way to think especially when you have not even heard the other person's side of the story

Posted: at 24-06-2019 10:58 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero