Relationship and culture differences...? What to say?

Date: 12-08-2010 10:25 am (13 years ago) | Author: Ewelina
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7
- at 12-08-2010 10:25 AM (13 years ago)
I don't write in order to make me confident in my realtionship, but to receive another view at things Wink. Im in relationship with Nigerian man and Im from Europe: sometimes I don't understand his bexaviour, although I love him, sometimes his attitude and seeing things make me consider if he truely respect me or not.
What is the culture of relationship in Nigeria? What is important for naija man?
Regards, God bless you all Wink!

Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:25 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- divineproject at 12-08-2010 10:27 AM (13 years ago)
Most Nigerian men like to DOMINATE.........am sure you dont like dat!

Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:27 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 12-08-2010 10:31 AM (13 years ago)
The culture of relationship in Nigeria is, U play by the rule.
Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:31 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bittersweet at 12-08-2010 10:33 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 12-08-2010 10:27 AM

They do, huh?
Doesn't sound good !

Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:33 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 12-08-2010 10:36 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 12-08-2010 10:33 AM

They do, huh?
Doesn't sound good !

Havent you noticed it here?

Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:36 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- solojaro at 12-08-2010 10:39 AM (13 years ago)
And respect him as the head,
Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:39 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 12-08-2010 10:41 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: solojaro on 12-08-2010 10:39 AM
And respect him as the head,

Yea............but sometimes you guys forget that respect is reciprocal and that since you are head, the women are the NECK....... Grin

Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:41 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- docreala at 12-08-2010 10:43 AM (13 years ago)
love transcends culture but all the same ask him all the things u feel u need to know,how to relate & treat each other better.
Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:43 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FlyMamacita at 12-08-2010 10:45 AM (13 years ago)
I like this topic kinda...Cuz when i started my relationship i was thinkin nooo d culture differences is nothin, is not gonna b a problem...

But after some months i found out is not true  Smiley Even i had many Nigerian friends, but now is d first one i have a relationship with and u rily have to understand each other, compromise, and communicate !!

Now u can think it is not easy for u to always understand ur man, but it is not easy for him 2 !
Here in Europe we expect those loving, kissing, hugging, even in public, d way we do our thins on family is totaly different, our view on raising kids is different, daily activity even.... but when u find balance and u put equaly from u and him in d relationship it works out !
Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:45 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Evve at 12-08-2010 10:51 AM (13 years ago)

It's not that I don't like that: I respect that and I'm sure that it's good for relationship when man is full of wisdom Smiley.
It's also easy to say that love can overcome differences -- it's good reason to learn how to overcome, because everyday living is down-to-earth and these small things built life.
Sometimes my Man says that I don't respect him, although I do respect him...! What is for naija men a sign of no-respect...?
Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:51 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- FlyMamacita at 12-08-2010 10:54 AM (13 years ago)
waiting for d guys to reply this one  Wink
Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:54 AM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Evve at 12-08-2010 10:58 AM (13 years ago)
I hope Wink.
I know that relationship is relationship and it's not easy even between two people from the same city Wink, everything can be made but understanding and love, however -- we live at distance (my Man lives in another, further city) what makes bigger problem, cause we have never had enough time for enough talk Wink. Everything is crazy.
Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:58 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bittersweet at 12-08-2010 10:59 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 12-08-2010 10:36 AM
Quote from: bittersweet on 12-08-2010 10:33 AM

They do, huh?
Doesn't sound good !

Havent you noticed it here?

Not only here,my dear!
I'm living it,and it's really troublesome!  Undecided

Posted: at 12-08-2010 10:59 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- solojaro at 12-08-2010 11:00 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Evve on 12-08-2010 10:51 AM

It's not that I don't like that: I respect that and I'm sure that it's good for relationship when man is full of wisdom Smiley.
It's also easy to say that love can overcome differences -- it's good reason to learn how to overcome, because everyday living is down-to-earth and these small things built life.
Sometimes my Man says that I don't respect him, although I do respect him...! What is for naija men a sign of no-respect...?
Listen to whatever he says, obey him first, then later you can let him know of your own idea. and don't try to give him an order.
Posted: at 12-08-2010 11:00 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 12-08-2010 11:03 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: solojaro on 12-08-2010 11:00 AM

Listen to whatever he says, obey him first, then later you can let him know of your own idea. and don't try to give him an order.

And why she can't be listened first?
If it's about something which concerns her,about her life or body,why she should obey him,if she has another opinion?

Posted: at 12-08-2010 11:03 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Evve at 12-08-2010 11:11 AM (13 years ago)
Ok, but how can I recognize if he respects me or not...? It's diffucult for me, cause in my country I can easily say what is what with men, what their behaviour say abt them, but Nigerian men?
It's in my mind..., I really believe that respect is the base.
Posted: at 12-08-2010 11:11 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- solojaro at 12-08-2010 11:19 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 12-08-2010 11:03 AM

If it's about something which concerns her,about her life or body,why she should obey him,if she has another opinion?

That is a difference case, she must let the man knows what concerns her, both life and body. but with repect to the man , and he also will listen to her with respect.
Posted: at 12-08-2010 11:19 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 12-08-2010 11:22 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: solojaro on 12-08-2010 11:19 AM
Quote from: bittersweet on 12-08-2010 11:03 AM

That is a difference case, she must let the man knows what concerns her, both life and body. but with repect to the man , and he also will listen to her with respect.

Aha!
When u say "with respect to the man",what do u mean by that?
I mean, of course that she would let him know in a calm tone, but just informing him,bcz the decision is taken by
her already!

Posted: at 12-08-2010 11:22 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- solojaro at 12-08-2010 11:25 AM (13 years ago)
He can never talk bad about you in public, can not abuse you, and can never call a third party in between two of you what ever the problem that is between two of you and can never never beat you. He will always ask of your opinion after his.
Posted: at 12-08-2010 11:25 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Dguy at 12-08-2010 11:27 AM (13 years ago)

I have to really disagree with you on this one - thats 100% wrong.

Very much not all (naija) people are same but on a rough scale the average Naija man doesn't want to be ridden over, at most decisions should be made together and that doesn't in anyway translate into wanting to dominate you - Nada

as its said respect is reciprocal - sometimes things get flared up, depends on the dude temperament - it could turn funny and everyone waiting for an apology  - more like clash of egos .... what id say is, show him nuff love and see what he gives back.

Posted: at 12-08-2010 11:27 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 7

1. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family

2. Nigeria Man Narrates How His Dad Impregnated His Ex-girlfriend And Took Her Out Of The Country

3. 70 Passengers Found Vomiting Bug During Flight From Mauritius To Frankfurt

4. I'm Open To Dating WOMEN - Khloe Kardashian Announces

5. “Something Foul Is Going On” – Very Dark Man Reveals Update On Nickie Dabarbie’s Whereabouts

6. Nasboi Opens Up On Why He Thought Sydney Talker Was A Yahoo Boy

7. "They Know How To Genuinely Love & Have S*x"- Kenyan Woman Makes Bold Statement On Nigerian Men

8. Ex-Lagos Gov. Babatunde Fashola Proudly Walks Daughter, Yewande, Down The Aisle In Style

9. "Govt Officials &Security Personnel Have Turned Banditry Into A Business" -Governor Dikko Radda

10. Nigerian Lady, Roseline Dies After Allegedly Being Pushed Into Boiling Pot By Friends In Delta

11. Arsenal v Bournemouth: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

12. Sacked Eko Disco MD, Tinuade Sanda Dismissed Over Alleged Fabricated Credentials

13. Yobe Police Arrests Teenager, Mohammed Abdullahi For Kidnapping & Murder Of Neighbor's Son

14. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada

15. Manchester City v Wolves: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

16. Father Of Seven, Abdullahi Imman Arrested Over Sexual Exploitation Of Children In Niger

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

3. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

6. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed