Things You Should Never Say To Your Kids!

Date: 14-08-2010 4:21 pm (13 years ago) | Author: G-boy {da hoodhailing boy}
- at 14-08-2010 04:21 PM (13 years ago)
If you’re angry with your child, don’t say a word without first considering the impact it’s going to have on your child. Children sure know how to get on your nerve but you must control your emotions and get your point across in a rational manner without doing any damage to the emotional development of your children.

These are five things a mother must not be caught saying to her children, no matter how upset she is:

1. You are a mistake!

One of the most deadly sin of parenting is telling your child that his/her birth stole your life away, whether you are a single mother or married mother who had an unwanted pregnancy; don’t transfer your bitterness and resentment to your child. Getting pregnant and having the child is totally your decision so take responsibility for it. No matter what a child has done, don’t ever say he/she is a waste of space or that you should have had an abortion when you had the chance. It is a  hurtful thing that no child should hear. It makes them feels like an intruder that disrupted your life and not worthy of love.

2. Why Can’t You Be More Like Your Sister

If you think your child isn’t doing so well, help the child out in a constructive way. Comparing them to others can destroy their self esteem, make them fatally competitive and even damage their relationship with the child you are comparing them to. They could also think that they can only get your approval when they are like someone else and that you don’t love them for who they are. Help your children see the beauty in their own uniqueness by focusing on each individual without using comparisons, when you compare them to others you are indirectly telling them they are not good enough and if they internalize that as a core belief it can lead to undesirable behaviors in the future.

3. Your Father is Good For Nothing

As much as you would want to, you need to bite your tongue on this one. Do not speak negatively about your husband or your children’s father to them. If you are having problems with your spouse talk to an adult don’t put that burden on your children, they are kids and they can’t fully understand complex adult issues. Don’t let them have to worry for you, it will hurt the children and paint negative pictures about relationships to them at any early age.  Knowing that their parents are not at peace can also make them fearful and insecured.

As they grow older, they will become much more aware of what is going on, and if your partner really hurt you, they will find out one day anyway. Spare them the headache when they are still young.

4. You should be ashamed of yourself / I am ashamed of you

You can tell your children you are disappointed in their behavior and make them sober for what they have done without shaming them into feeling guilty. There are times when shaming works and produces the behavior we want from a child, but most times it comes along with the feeling of inferiority that can last a life time. The children will carry on the message of “I am wrong,” “I’m not enough,” and “I can never do anything right.”

One act of indiscipline from your children is not enough for you to be ashamed of them or to make them feel ashamed of themselves. We all make mistakes and the important thing is accepting correction, they should never be defined by the mistakes they have made. You don’t even want your children to think you will love them less when they make mistakes.

5. You Are Dumb, You Are So Stupid …

You hurt your child’s feelings every time you use negative words to describe them. Even if the child acts silly often, don’t tag the child as silly. Being called names continuously can leave the child truly believing that he or she is worthless  and defective, and  they may carry that feeling into adulthood. If you call your child clumsy and stupid every day, what are the chances that the child will stop acting stupid? The child will simply believe he or she can’t be smart like other kids and stop trying to succeed. So if you call your children dumb they are really going to think they are dumb.

Posted: at 14-08-2010 04:21 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- omorewa at 14-08-2010 06:02 PM (13 years ago)
okay noted..

Posted: at 14-08-2010 06:02 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Michro at 14-08-2010 06:07 PM (13 years ago)
Nice post.
Keep it up.
Well done.

Posted: at 14-08-2010 06:07 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FlyMamacita at 14-08-2010 08:19 PM (13 years ago)
Noted !

People who say tins like this to their children is either people who dont knw notin abt raisin kids or people with a temper tht they can not cool down....

I can neva say such, it can bring damage for d rest of their life...

When u make d choice of bein a parent, pls pls pls abeg make sure u r ready for it!
Posted: at 14-08-2010 08:19 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- diwahns at 15-08-2010 03:12 PM (13 years ago)
yeh guy u a wonderful, keep it up . lets get it that even insulting them jokily is not advisably cos the thong is very powerful.
Posted: at 15-08-2010 03:12 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- onchedu at 15-08-2010 03:30 PM (13 years ago)
Seen
Posted: at 15-08-2010 03:30 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- nellkiss at 15-08-2010 04:15 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 15-08-2010 04:15 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Evve at 15-08-2010 08:18 PM (13 years ago)
In Allens movie called "Whatever works" there is sentence, something like this:
world and people need documents for everything -- for really dont matter things, but they dont requires documents that make able to be a parent, so then there are hurt children.
Just came to my mind, hope it refers to topic Wink.
Posted: at 15-08-2010 08:18 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- enc4life at 15-08-2010 08:22 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Michro on 14-08-2010 06:07 PM
Nice post.
Keep it up.
Well done.
Posted: at 15-08-2010 08:22 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- onyin at 15-08-2010 11:34 PM (13 years ago)
Negative words.
Posted: at 15-08-2010 11:34 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- ceejay58 at 16-08-2010 01:04 AM (13 years ago)
okz poster.....  noted.
Posted: at 16-08-2010 01:04 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 17-08-2010 08:59 AM (13 years ago)
OK, NOTED.
Posted: at 17-08-2010 08:59 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- beckysan at 20-03-2012 03:34 PM (12 years ago)
nice one
Posted: at 20-03-2012 03:34 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- wandepope at 20-03-2012 10:04 PM (12 years ago)
This is so true
Posted: at 20-03-2012 10:04 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Unikpearl at 22-03-2012 06:13 PM (12 years ago)
Yeah,9c points
Posted: at 22-03-2012 06:13 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 22-03-2012 09:24 PM (12 years ago)

Posted: at 22-03-2012 09:24 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- egherne at 22-03-2012 09:31 PM (12 years ago)
Hmmm,guess this is for upcoming parents...
Posted: at 22-03-2012 09:31 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Solidstonez at 25-04-2012 09:58 AM (11 years ago)
very nice

Posted: at 25-04-2012 09:58 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- okaset912 at 3-02-2014 11:37 PM (10 years ago)
Posted: at 3-02-2014 11:37 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- Jeninflower at 4-02-2014 04:43 PM (10 years ago)
Gud one
Posted: at 4-02-2014 04:43 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

2. American Idol Star, Mandisa Lynn Hundley Found Dead At Her Nashville Home

3. Man Catches His Wife In Bed With Another Man, Stabs Her To Death With Knife In Imo

4. Man Detained For Trying To Sneak Into London-Bound Airplane

5. 45-Year-Old Man, Samson Adedokun Defiles His 16-Year-Old Daughter Inside Their Home In Lagos

6. IMF Urges Nigeria To Remove Fuel Subsidies: Here's Why

7. Five-Year-Old Boy Dies After Falling From Fence While Playing With His Friends In Lagos

8. Tragic As Suspected Fulani Militia Kill Plateau State Uni Student, Dading James Jordan

9. Eight Nigerians Arrested For Assaulting Police During Drug Raid In Northern Cape, S/Africa

10. Fatal Collision Claims Two Lives, Leaves Three Injured On Ijebu-Ode-Ore-Benin Expressway

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

4. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

5. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

6. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

7. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State

8. Actor, Yul Edochie Mocks Comedia, AY Makun Over His Failed Marriage

9. PDP NEC Meeting: Tensions Rise Within Wike’s Camp As Gov. Makinde Dumps G-5 Governors

10. Alleged Naira Abuse: Singer, Davido Reacts To Cubana Chief Priest’s Bail