Landlady’s Son Cuts Off Tenant’s Hand Over PHCN Bill

Date: 20-09-2010 1:32 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 20-09-2010 01:32 PM (13 years ago)
The police in Lagos have arrested the son of a landlady for amputating a tenant’s hand following a quarrel over the payment of  Power Holding Company of Nigeria, PHCN, bill.

•Adekoya Arowosegbe nursing his amputated wrist in hospital.

The suspect, Afiz, resides at 10, Olayinka Street, Aboru near Iyana Ipaja, Lagos, Nigeria. He lives with his mother who interited the house from her late father.
The victim, Adekoya Arowosegbe, 32, was rushed to a private hospital where the amputated hand is being treated.
Speaking on his hospital bed, Arowesegbe said, “on Thursday last week, while I was inside my house around 10.30 p.m., I noticed that the electricity supply was fluctuating and as I ran out, I saw Afiz trying to disconnect the cable because a tenant who owns a container in the house refused to pay PHCN bill.
“I begged him not to put us in darkness since I always pay my bills regularly. When the PHCN bills are brought, we often don’t see it, the landlady will just call us one by one and tell us that N3,000 is our bill and whether we like it or not, we must pay.
“When he insulted me, I left to enter my room. I never knew he was following me. I suddenly looked back and as he tried to attack me with a machete, I blocked it thinking it was a stick, but I got it wrong. In the process, my right hand was cut off with the sharp cutlass. What can I do now? He has rendered me useless. What can I now do with one hand to survive?”
One of the tenants who begged for anonymity said: “we had to run for our dear lives because he was holding a cutlass and ready to kill. His mother also gives us problem everyday and always threatens our lives.”
The victim’s pregnant wife, Mrs. Mayowa Arowosegbe, amidst tears, said, “please, I am begging good people of Nigeria and Lagos State to come to my husband’s aid so that he can use his right hand again. I am a mother of two children expecting another one with this pregnancy.”
The victim, Arowosegbe is receiving treatment at Mayfair Medical Centre, Okekoto, Agege, while the suspect is currently being detained at Oke-Odo police station.
—Oluwole Adeboye

Posted: at 20-09-2010 01:32 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- irule at 20-09-2010 01:56 PM (13 years ago)
enough of these endtime signs, imagine yaself with two hands yesterday and one hand today, too bad too bad

Posted: at 20-09-2010 01:56 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- nwangwa at 20-09-2010 08:15 PM (13 years ago)
we don't tire
Posted: at 20-09-2010 08:15 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- merit at 20-09-2010 08:30 PM (13 years ago)
wow am so supprise, all these landlord and landlady that feel because they have a house they treat their tenant like nobody. please you landlords and landladys remember that no condition is permanent and that ones CONDITION IS NOT HIS OR HER POSITION.
Posted: at 20-09-2010 08:30 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- pp1973pp at 20-09-2010 08:43 PM (13 years ago)
IS REALLY A PITY. I WONDER WHEN BRUTALITY WILL SEIZE IN LAGOS STATE. THIS IS PURE MAN-INHUMANITY-TO-MAN. I'M SORRY AND SAD ABOUT THIS STORY. MAY GOD HELP THE POOR TENANT AND HIS FAMILY. MAY PROVIDENCE COME TO JUDGMENT.
Posted: at 20-09-2010 08:43 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- pp1973pp at 20-09-2010 08:44 PM (13 years ago)
IS REALLY A PITY. I WONDER WHEN BRUTALITY WILL SEIZE IN LAGOS STATE. THIS IS PURE MAN-INHUMANITY-TO-MAN. I'M SORRY AND SAD ABOUT THIS STORY. MAY GOD HELP THE POOR TENANT AND HIS FAMILY. MAY PROVIDENCE COME TO JUDGMENT.
Posted: at 20-09-2010 08:44 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 20-09-2010 08:46 PM (13 years ago)
stupid and very wicked landlady,s son , let the authority put the house for sell and pays the tenants , that will serve them better , useless and wicked people
Posted: at 20-09-2010 08:46 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- nice9ija at 20-09-2010 09:17 PM (13 years ago)
some of this landlord people can be very wicked more especially all this' face me i face you' of thing very dangerous to leave in may god have Marcy!!!     
Posted: at 20-09-2010 09:17 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sixtyhoney at 20-09-2010 09:24 PM (13 years ago)
if i were the family of the boy i we make sure that i fight it to the extent that the house become's his own,let's see were wickedness we lead them to
Posted: at 20-09-2010 09:24 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 20-09-2010 10:13 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sixtyhoney on 20-09-2010 09:24 PM
if i were the family of the boy i we make sure that i fight it to the extent that the house become's his own,let's see were wickedness we lead them to

and since you are not , what steps must he take now Huh??
Posted: at 20-09-2010 10:13 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Emobaby at 20-09-2010 10:43 PM (13 years ago)
d boy must take dat house, because where will he start from with one hand. haha wickedness
Posted: at 20-09-2010 10:43 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- textex at 20-09-2010 11:00 PM (13 years ago)
he ust go taste the other side of life in JAIL
Posted: at 20-09-2010 11:00 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- blings_is_back at 21-09-2010 03:37 AM (13 years ago)
hmmm na waoo
Posted: at 21-09-2010 03:37 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- cherie27 at 21-09-2010 05:22 AM (13 years ago)
landladys most re full of shit no b say dem knw anytn or hw a house wz built.n pple who do dis crap re mostly d ones who inheritd it or re caretakers.
Posted: at 21-09-2010 05:22 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- wolap at 21-09-2010 07:55 AM (13 years ago)
i really pity the poor tenant, i hope the d p o at oke-odo will not collect egunje and release this animal back into the street. and the land lady should be careful bcos what goes round comes round
Posted: at 21-09-2010 07:55 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Teejay2 at 21-09-2010 08:07 AM (13 years ago)
na wao,heartless human being
Posted: at 21-09-2010 08:07 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- luckyokuomose at 21-09-2010 08:22 AM (13 years ago)
OOHH SORRY FOR WHAT THAT IDIOT DID TO YOU....THAT BOU MUST GO FOR THE PUNISHMENT A SINNER MOST NEVER GO UNPUNISH..
Posted: at 21-09-2010 08:22 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- help6210 at 21-09-2010 09:24 AM (13 years ago)
wicked poeple
Posted: at 21-09-2010 09:24 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- peaceben at 21-09-2010 09:30 AM (13 years ago)
na wa ooooooooooooooo.
Posted: at 21-09-2010 09:30 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Pepesy at 21-09-2010 09:51 AM (13 years ago)
this is really end time. may God help us
Posted: at 21-09-2010 09:51 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

2. Come Out And Confess Why You Kill Mohbad - Ghanaian Prophet Who Prophesied JP’s Death Calls Sam

3. My Mother, Enemy Of Progres!Man Reveals How His Mother Ended His Plans To Travel Out Of Nigeria

4. Korra Obidi’s Ex, Justin Dean Laments As His 4Yr Old Daughter Twerks Like Mother

5. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

6. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

7. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

8. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

9. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

10. Two Chinese Men, Company Docked By EFCC Over Illegal Mining Activities

11. Despite Devilish Conspiration, Air Peace To Begin Abuja-London Flights

12. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

13. I'm Yet To Be Contacted By NFF – Peseiro Breaks Silence On Super Eagles' Return

14. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

15. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

7. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

8. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor