PHOTO: Nigerian Students Arrested in Canada For Defrauding Victims $2m In Online Romance Scam

Date: 17-04-2020 3:11 pm (4 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 17-04-2020 03:11 PM (4 years ago)

One Nigerian student has been arrested and a Canada-wide warrant of arrest has been issued against four others after they allegedly conned victims out of millions of dollars in online romance scams.

The wanted suspects are Kelvin Awani, 24, Jonah Eigbuluese, 22, Joshua Ometie, 25 and Clinton Newton, 27. The four students, alongside Austin Newton, 28, are accused of defrauding victims of over $2 million in the past two years.

Police say the five men were living in Regina during the time. Austin Newton was arrested in January, but the other four suspects could be anywhere in Canada, police say.

The warrants were issued following an 18-month investigation by federal RCMP officers that involved a series of surveillance operations, numerous interviews and the investigation of over 50 Canadian bank accounts.

Austin, who faces numerous fraud-related charges, is scheduled to make his next appearance at Regina provincial court on April 21, 2020.

The Saskatchewan police were struck by the apparent authenticity of these online romances and by the time devoted by the suspects to the people they were victimizing.

Posted: at 17-04-2020 03:11 PM (4 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- nikiniki at 17-04-2020 04:25 PM (4 years ago)
Made in Canada new crop of Nigeria fraudsters. Canada, deal with it.
Posted: at 17-04-2020 04:25 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sheffy1981 at 17-04-2020 06:32 PM (4 years ago)
This is one of the reasons no developed country want Nigerians in their country. Most of you are just criminals like your leaders. You claimed Nigeria is not good but here you are in a better country and still stealing. Our people are mostly wrong people.
Posted: at 17-04-2020 06:32 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming
- smart61 at 17-04-2020 06:50 PM (4 years ago)
This is why I sometimes defend Buhari despite the fact that the Nigerian economy is not doing well. They accusers themselves are in most cases 5 times worse than Buhari. A real man does not go about stealing people,s hard earned money by tricks. They constantly tarnish the image of Nigeria almost in every corner of the world. The funny part of it is that most of these fraudsters die young because they are caused.
Posted: at 17-04-2020 06:50 PM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FloxyB at 17-04-2020 08:08 PM (4 years ago)
You guys says Naija no good and you go out to a so-called good country to go and steal from their citizens, why?
Posted: at 17-04-2020 08:08 PM (4 years ago) | Upcoming