Festus Keyamo Threatens To Resign If Buhari’s Job Scheme Is Hijacked By Politicians

Date: 30-04-2020 8:01 am (4 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 30-04-2020 08:01 AM (4 years ago)

The Minister of State, Labour and Employment, Festus Keyamo (SAN) has threatened to resign his appointment if the 774,000 jobs approved by President Muhammadu Buhari under the special public works programme of National Directorate of Employment (NDE) for unskilled labour in rural areas is hijacked by politicians.

The pilot scheme programme was to be implemented in five local government areas in eight states, identified as Adamawa, Borno, Ebonyi, Edo, Ekiti, Jigawa, Katsina and Kwara.

Speaking at the inauguration of the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Extended Special Public Works across the 774 local governments of the Federation in Abuja, Keyamo said the programme was designed to mitigate the effect of unemployment in rural area through short term engagement of 1,000 unemployed persons per local government for a period of three months.

Beneficiaries, he noted, are engaged in drainage digging and clearance, irrigation canals clearance, rural feeder road maintenance and maintenance of the Great Green Wall nurseries, as well as orchards.

He said, “This is not for PDP or APC, who will want a slot from my local government because I am a politician, but I assure you it will not happen.

“I will leave this job if they want to insist that it will happen. Mr President is targeting ordinary Nigerians who are neither PDP or APC or just anything. They just want to get jobs, they just want to feed their family.

“This is not a time for us to empower our followers as politicians. We are going to dig deep, it is one of the recommendations you are going to make, that is why you are here.”

The former activist further explained that the programme which is a dry season transient job project targets the rehabilitation/maintenance of public and social infrastructure with the participants largely drawn from the pool of unskilled rural persons.

“Recommend to us a model to adopt, we will meet Mr President for approval: the various interest groups, traditional rulers, NURTW representative of the people and so on; those who have direct contact with the people at the grassroots.

“Let us make it clear today that, we are not going to bow down to the pressure of any politician to come and hijack this programme. It will be well modelled, well-executed and it will reach ordinary Nigerians,” he said.

Posted: at 30-04-2020 08:01 AM (4 years ago) | Hero
- SweetDaddy1 at 30-04-2020 10:12 AM (4 years ago)
Why don't you give the jobs to your children for the 3 months, so they can clear the gutters and pay them the money. When you people hijacked the jobs in central bank, judiciary, NNPC, civil service, political appointments and parliaments you did not threaten to resign. All the scam schemes of Change and Another Level has only made Nigeria A FAILED STATE. Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 30-04-2020 10:12 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- EMMYBOSS at 30-04-2020 10:43 AM (4 years ago)
So na to dig and clear gutter and canals be the job?  Chai! God go deliver poor masses from una hand.
Posted: at 30-04-2020 10:43 AM (4 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. "I Did It. I Killed Her" -Man Who Strangles Wife In Hospital Bed Over Medical Bills Confesses

2. "Don’t Look At My Legs. I Can Handle A Woman" - Physically Challenged Nigerian Man Brags

3. Nigerian Man, Desmond Oogwu Celebrates As He Survives Motor Accident, Shares Accident Scene

4. Man, Abdu Hamidu Arrested For Allegedly Sexually Assaulting His Niece In Adamawa

5. Dunamis Testifier, Vera Anyim Reportedly Arrested And Detained by Police

6. Presidency Confirms When President Tinubu Will Return From His 'Unannounced' Trip

7. Disturbing Video of Singer, Skales Covered With Bl00d Raises Concerns on Social Media

8. Jnr Pope: Adanma Luke Blasts TC Okafor For Using The Boat Mishap He Survived For Content

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

4. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

5. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

10. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years