Ibrahim Magu Recommended To Be Sacked By Presidential Probing Panel

Date: 21-08-2020 9:52 pm (3 years ago) | Author: Olusanya Akinrinola
- at 21-08-2020 09:52 PM (3 years ago)

The presidential panel probing Ibrahim Magu, suspended acting chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), may have recommended his sack, TheCable reports.

In its interim report submitted on Wednesday, the panel headed, by Ayo Salami, retired president of the court of appeal, also recommended that Magu should be prosecuted over allegations of corruption and abuse of office.

Magu is also accused of violating the code of conduct law by allegedly failing to declare all his assets when he assumed office in 2015.

It understands that the panel also recommended the appointment of a new chairman for the anti-graft agency “without further delay”.

In a letter dated July 3, 2020, President Muhammadu Buhari had directed the panel to submit its “interim reports to me from time to time”.

Mohammed Umar, former director of operations at the EFCC, has been in charge of the commission in acting capacity since July 6 when Magu was whisked before the panel by a combined team of Department of State Services (DSS) and officers from the Force Criminal Investigation Department (FCID) of the police in Abuja.

He was detained area 10 of the FCT police command for nine days before being granted bail.

The travails of Magu, a commissioner of police, followed a memo by Abubakar Malami, attorney-general of the federation, who accused him of “grave malfeasance”.

He was alleged to have mishandled the recovered loot and sold seized assets to his associates.

Magu was also alleged to have purchased a property in Dubai, United Arab Emirates using a pastor as a conduit.

He has since denied all the allegations which he described as “nonsense”, once saying: “what I am going through is a case of dog eats dog”.

The former acting chairman of EFCC has also accused the panel of not giving him fair hearing.

Through Wahab Shittu, his counsel, Magu has written several letters to the panel, demanding to be served a copy of the charges against him in order to prepare for defence.

Posted: at 21-08-2020 09:52 PM (3 years ago) | Hero
- Fedchara at 21-08-2020 10:10 PM (3 years ago)
I dont understand this FG, Looking for an excuse to sack and get rid on an appointee who is in acting capacity and the president has power to sack in the first place, must it be like this. Look, this is what you get when you dont show 100% loyalty and play along and even your own hands are not clean, this same magu has been turning blind eye to some aso rock and appointees alleged corruption, now hand don touch am, it is poetic justice. As for the FG and presidency, they are not serious but jokers, on one hand presidency sends magus name as nomination for EFCC chairmanship confirmation, on another hand the same govt appointee sends message not to confirm. Appointee now says Magu is suspended and unfit and recommends 3 choices to his successors, wetin magu want to talk, him no hear of the 500m MTB bribe? him no hear of the billions to aso rock clinic but no syringes and paracetamol? but him turn blind eye dey do good boy dey focus on opposition.
Posted: at 21-08-2020 10:10 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming
- dopygenius at 22-08-2020 05:36 AM (3 years ago)
Quote from: Fedchara on 21-08-2020 10:10 PM
I dont understand this FG, Looking for an excuse to sack and get rid on an appointee who is in acting capacity and the president has power to sack in the first place, must it be like this. Look, this is what you get when you dont show 100% loyalty and play along and even your own hands are not clean, this same magu has been turning blind eye to some aso rock and appointees alleged corruption, now hand don touch am, it is poetic justice. As for the FG and presidency, they are not serious but jokers, on one hand presidency sends magus name as nomination for EFCC chairmanship confirmation, on another hand the same govt appointee sends message not to confirm. Appointee now says Magu is suspended and unfit and recommends 3 choices to his successors, wetin magu want to talk, him no hear of the 500m MTB bribe? him no hear of the billions to aso rock clinic but no syringes and paracetamol? but him turn blind eye dey do good boy dey focus on opposition.
You are a big fool
Your brain needs to be updated
When you smoke weed
You should quit typin online
Cos everything you just said here now is nonsense...
Bastard and a born by mistake
They should have used u to please the deities in ur low life village....may Thunder fire ur intestines there bingo Sad
Posted: at 22-08-2020 05:36 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dopygenius at 22-08-2020 05:43 AM (3 years ago)
"What am going through is a case of dog eats dog"
Oh yes you have said it all,when a dog eats dog means those probing you are also corrupt and and are all criminals,you feel you can chop alone abi
May thunder mixed with ogun scattered the remaining part of ur godforsaken already Judged life there ...I don't know what's taking long for this criminal to sent to jail,we keep hearing probe but we don't hear the aftermath.. who's decieving who,only shits like this happen in a failed country like zoogeria... rubbish..only one man will have the mind to steal billions of naira
Posted: at 22-08-2020 05:43 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac