Don't Give a Kobo For Food & Fertilization Importation - President Buhari Warns CBN

Date: 11-09-2020 10:59 am (3 years ago) | Author: CLARA JANCITA
- at 11-09-2020 10:59 AM (3 years ago)

President Muhmmadu Buhari has  directed the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), not to provide Forex for importers of food items and fertilizer.

CBN Governor Godwin Emiefile, speaking at National Food Security Council (NFSC) meeting held in the Aso Rock Villa, Abuja, confirmed  the Presidential order to withhold funding from for food and fertiliser importation.

Buhari asks CBN to halt forex for fertiliser, food itemsAccording to a statement made by  Buhari’s Senior Special Assistant on Media and Publicity Mallam Garba Shehu, said;

“We have a lot of able-bodied young people willing to work and agriculture is the answer. We have a lot to do to support our farmers”

“From only three operating in the country, we have 33 fertilizer blending plants now working. We will not pay a kobo of our foreign reserves to import fertilizer. We will empower local producers.”

The President also directed that blenders of fertiliser should convey products directly to state governments so as to skip the cartel of transporters undermining the efforts to successfully deliver the products to users at reasonable costs.

He also advised private businesses bent on food importation to source their foreign exchange independently, saying “use your money to compete with our farmers instead of using foreign reserves to bring in compromised food items to divest the efforts of our farmers.

The meeting, was chaired by the President with other key members of the Council in attendance, was briefed on the food security situation prevailing in the country.

Notably, the Vice Chairman of the council and Governor of Kebbi, Atiku Bagudu, the Chief of Staff to the President, Prof. Ibrahim Gambari and a Governor from each of the six geo-political zones – Jigawa, Plateau, Taraba, Ebonyi, Lagos and Kebbi, made presentations.

Muhammadu Buhari
@MBuhari

I am restating it that nobody importing food or fertilizer should be given foreign exchange from the Central Bank. We will not pay a kobo of our foreign reserves to import food or fertilizer. We will instead empower local farmers and producers.

Posted: at 11-09-2020 10:59 AM (3 years ago) | Hero
- dopygenius at 11-09-2020 11:05 AM (3 years ago)
You are a disgrace to the entire Nation
Even your own people are against you
Your doom will be a jubilation to the entire country just know that tyrrant old cargo....Rubbish!!
Brainless dead old primitive aboki president
Posted: at 11-09-2020 11:05 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Wazubia at 12-09-2020 06:34 AM (3 years ago)
Posted: at 12-09-2020 06:34 AM (3 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elixabethAA at 14-09-2020 11:41 PM (3 years ago)
fellow Nigerians, this our president mean well for our country.. this decision na the right talk to the right situation,......na only idiots go insult me.
Posted: at 14-09-2020 11:41 PM (3 years ago) | Upcoming