Ajegunle Flood: Emergency Agency On Alert

Date: 08-10-2010 9:20 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4
- at 8-10-2010 09:20 PM (13 years ago)

Following the massive flooding in Ajegunle area of Ikorodu, Lagos State, South West of  Nigeria, the Lagos State Government has placed on alert emergency agencies to respond to  any disaster in the area.
The Ogun River has overflown its banks after the Ogun-Oshun River Basin Development  Authority released water from the Oyan Dam into the river.
About nine communities in Ajegunle abutting the Ogun River have been massively flooded as  houses and public places have been taken over by water.
Canoes and boats are now means of transporting people living in the area from one place  to another, yet, the residents said they were not ready to evacuate the area and that  they could cope with the incident.
There are palpable fears that the flood might be disastrous and lead to untold  outbreak  of epidemics.
To ensure that no life is lost, the state government has drafted the officials of the  Lagos State Ambulance Services, LASAMBUS and the Lagos State Emergency Management Agency,  LASEMA to the area to keep 24-hour surveillance in order to nip any disaster in the bud.
General Manager, LASEMA, Dr. Femi Oke-Osanyintolu told P.M.NEWS that Lagos was on top of  the situation and that it was prepared to nip in the bud any unforeseen disaster.
According to him, the communities had refused to move, saying they could cope with the  current problem they were facing, adding that if the people refused to move, they could  not be forced to do so.
“We have gone there to create awareness about epidemics that may break out as a result of  the presence of water in the area.   Our people are not displaced but we are watching  critically. My men are visiting the scene and are taking measures to ensure that that  there is safety if the water level is high.   If the people are displaced, we have a  relief camp to take them to.  The camp can accommodate between 500 to 1,000 people,” he  said.
Oke-Osanyintolu added that “right now, we are watching; we have talked to their leaders.    We are monitoring and carrying out campaign about the possibility of an outbreak of  cholera.
“When the people are saying that they don’t want to move, what do you do?  When it gets  to a stage to be associated with mortality and morbidity, we will take action.”  Commissioner for the Environment, Dr. Muiz Banire had also implored residents to be  vigilant and report any threat for quick response, adding that the situation was being  closely monitored, while all emergency service providers have been put on the alert.The  Ogun-Osun River Basin Development Authority had in a letter  to the Lagos State  Government signed by the Deputy Director, Operations and Maintenance, Engr. Akin Soyemi,  solicited the assistance of the state government in creating awareness and sensitising  members of the public in Lagos State, especially those along the banks of the Ogun River  that as a result of increase in rainfall in recent weeks, the reservoir level at Oyan Dam  has been increasing steadily and that there was the need to release part of the water  into Ogun River.

Posted: at 8-10-2010 09:20 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- MissNaija at 8-10-2010 10:28 PM (13 years ago)
= ( poor people!.. i will keep them in my prayerzz!!i know my GOD will provide them!!
Posted: at 8-10-2010 10:28 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bitte at 8-10-2010 11:37 PM (13 years ago)
na wa oo,lagos state government should do something.
Posted: at 8-10-2010 11:37 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 8-10-2010 11:58 PM (13 years ago)
GOD shower your mercy on these peoples ooo
Posted: at 8-10-2010 11:58 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- Ekhan1 at 9-10-2010 12:55 AM (13 years ago)
lives of people being involved here and someone is saying that if they dont want to evacuate, what can we do. this is outrightly ridiculous.
it wasnt as if the govt was not informed before the release of water from the dam, they should have take extreme precautionary actions to this effect and not waiting for a last minute outbreak to take action.
they are the govt.
should have found a way of forcefully evacuating these pple to safety
also channel the water to the atlantic
this is not just right. now virtually evryone who lives in ikorodu and works outside the LG will have to contend with heavy traffic in addition to what was being experienced before.
God help us all.
Posted: at 9-10-2010 12:55 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- talkandsave at 9-10-2010 04:16 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Ekhan1 on  9-10-2010 12:55 AM
lives of people being involved here and someone is saying that if they dont want to evacuate, what can we do. this is outrightly ridiculous.
it wasnt as if the govt was not informed before the release of water from the dam, they should have take extreme precautionary actions to this effect and not waiting for a last minute outbreak to take action.
they are the govt.
should have found a way of forcefully evacuating these pple to safety
also channel the water to the atlantic
this is not just right. now virtually evryone who lives in ikorodu and works outside the LG will have to contend with heavy traffic in addition to what was being experienced before.
God help us all.

You really cannot force adults to evacuate.  You could take measures to ensure that children's life are not at risk.  I find it very hard to belief that the camp the government has can only accommodate 500 to 1000 people.  What other plans has the government made to accommodate the massive exodus that may take place?  Are food provided for the people that are stranded at the camp?  You need to look at the Ajegunle people's perspective, if the government has not prepared anything for them, why should they evacuate?  Who protects their property when they are evacuated?

Posted: at 9-10-2010 04:16 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 9-10-2010 08:36 AM (13 years ago)
a hey days for the bad ones like you , jobless area boy , thief
Posted: at 9-10-2010 08:36 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- mydicksweet at 9-10-2010 08:47 AM (13 years ago)
Whats really happening? flooding all over the world i guess it's end time sha Lord have mercy on us all
Posted: at 9-10-2010 08:47 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- esoo at 9-10-2010 09:45 AM (13 years ago)
are the drillnage blocked? they should opend up the gutters jo
Posted: at 9-10-2010 09:45 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DarkCoco at 9-10-2010 10:19 AM (13 years ago)
when Pastor EA adeboye was saying dis every1 thought it was a joke, i guess no one listened to what he was sayin now it coming thru....GOD forgive Nigeria for we have sined

Posted: at 9-10-2010 10:19 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- princedafe at 9-10-2010 11:12 AM (13 years ago)
Wat is fashola doing
Posted: at 9-10-2010 11:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- choiceis at 9-10-2010 03:04 PM (13 years ago)
whatever happen to self-help?  Can't the community band together and start helping themselves, abi na only when somebody wan build house/buy land or celebrate something when community levy go come?

Instead of spending endless hours at churches, why not make it compulsory for community awareness meeting every sunday and plan for emergency procedures, training and evacuation methods?

Government can't do everything....
Posted: at 9-10-2010 03:04 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bafyguy at 9-10-2010 04:28 PM (13 years ago)
E go better
Posted: at 9-10-2010 04:28 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bismack at 9-10-2010 04:30 PM (13 years ago)
Sorry
Posted: at 9-10-2010 04:30 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoney at 9-10-2010 05:08 PM (13 years ago)
father pls come and my nation nigeria
Posted: at 9-10-2010 05:08 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- batos_locos at 9-10-2010 06:58 PM (13 years ago)
Oh my goodness, the whole people in this picture looks like they don’t have a destination, all where just running helter skelter  . There is no how you can convince people in Diaspora to come home with this ugly pictures right there, is just a pity for 9ja Lord have mercy
Posted: at 9-10-2010 06:58 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoney at 9-10-2010 07:01 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: batos_locos on  9-10-2010 06:58 PM
Oh my goodness, the whole people in this picture looks like they don’t have a destination, all where just running helter skelter  . There is no how you can convince people in Diaspora to come home with this ugly pictures right there, is just a pity for 9ja Lord have mercy
amen
Posted: at 9-10-2010 07:01 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 9-10-2010 07:10 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: DarkCoco on  9-10-2010 10:19 AM
when Pastor EA adeboye was saying dis every1 thought it was a joke, i guess no one listened to what he was sayin now it coming thru....GOD forgive Nigeria for we have sined

what did he said ? did he ever said there will be food there in lagos ?
Posted: at 9-10-2010 07:10 PM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- talkandsave at 9-10-2010 07:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: choiceis on  9-10-2010 03:04 PM
whatever happen to self-help?  Can't the community band together and start helping themselves, abi na only when somebody wan build house/buy land or celebrate something when community levy go come?

Instead of spending endless hours at churches, why not make it compulsory for community awareness meeting every sunday and plan for emergency procedures, training and evacuation methods?

Government can't do everything....
Community awareness is necessary so you suggestions are welcomed.  The government is for the people, so the government is also the people banding together to help one another.  They have been elected to assist in putting infrastructure in place for those that cannot help themselves and ensuring that there is security for the community.

Posted: at 9-10-2010 07:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- talkandsave at 9-10-2010 07:46 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on  9-10-2010 08:36 AM
a hey days for the bad ones like you , jobless area boy , thief
marine spirit demon
Posted: at 9-10-2010 07:46 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4