2011 elections still under threat – INEC says Jega

Date: 12-10-2010 3:17 pm (14 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 12-10-2010 03:17 PM (14 years ago)
The Independent National Electoral Commission on Monday said that despite the consensus on the need to shift the dates of the 2011 general elections from January to April, the exercise was still under serious threat.

It attributed the threat to the delay by the National Assembly in amending the 2010 Electoral Act which would provide the direction for the electoral body and politicians aspiring for elective offices.

INEC Chairman, Prof. Attahiru Jega, made this known while receiving a delegation from the European Union Mission in Nigeria, led by Mr. David McRae.

The Electoral Act, if amended, will alter the elections timeline.

INEC had at a meeting with party leaders sought for the postponement of the elections scheduled for January to April. It had fixed party primaries for between September 11 and October 30.

The registration of voters was to begin on November 1 and end on November 14.

Jega told the EU delegation that any delay beyond November in the amendment to the Act would substantially erode the progress so far made by the commission in its preparations for the registration of voters and the elections proper.

He said, “A quick amendment to the 2010 Electoral Act is among the challenges currently confronting the commission’s determination to carry out its registration implementation plan and ensure credible elections in 2011 and beyond.

“Delay in the amendment of the Electoral Act will affect the implementation of the master plan. INEC needs a clear legal framework to proceed with the implementation of the plan.”

The First Reading of the amendment to the Electoral Act 2010 is, however, expected to take place at the House of Representatives on Tuesday (today) as the members reconvene from their two-month annual vacation.

The Senate resumed last Tuesday.

Reiterating the commission’s readiness to make the elections credible, Jega said, “We are getting conflicting signals. And if there are any delays in the National Assembly, it will affect us. The faster they are able to complete the amendment process, the better for us.

“If we have to get extension around November or December, then, we will be back to square one. We do not want any extension that would affect the May 29th handover date.”

Jega, who noted that the challenges before the commission were enormous, described the delivery of a fresh voter register as a “National Emergency.”

The INEC chairman said although the Federal Government had implemented about 80 per cent of the recommendations contained in the Justice Muhammed Uwais-led panel report on electoral reforms, there were still challenges inherent in Nigeria’s electoral process.

He admitted that the procurement of the Direct Data Capture Machines had suffered some setbacks, but said the commission was on top of the situation.

“The acquisition of the DDC machines has reached an advanced stage. We have had some setbacks, but we have made tremendous progress. The training of the trainers will commence next week,” he said.

Jega added that INEC had signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the National Youth Service Corps on the use of its members as ad hoc staff for the voter registration.

“Very soon, we will commence the training of the trainers next week. We are calling on our donor bodies, particularly the European Union for support both technically and financially,” he said.

The INEC boss highlighted some of the defects in the last voter register to include poor picture quality, inaccurate entries, outright lack of pictures, multiple entries and underage registration.

Jega also said that INEC had made contingency arrangements to ensure the success of the elections and the voters register.

He said, “We have a Plan B, which we are keeping close to our chests. We are committed to the success of the voter registration and elections on the new timeline.

“The background was that when we appeared before the National Assembly we gave a confidential timeline;

“So, technically, we are waiting for the amendments before we announce the new timetable and once we get that extension, there is no doubt that things will be much more relaxed.”

Earlier, the leader of the delegation, Mr. Macrae, told Jega that they were at the commission to acquaint themselves with the level of preparation for the 2011 elections.

Macrae, who is also the EU Ambassador to Nigeria, said, “Our main interest is to have interest from you regarding a new timetable for the elections and the level of your preparations. We are also here to show our support to the commission.

“We want to also use this occasion to inform the EU exploratory mission, which will start tomorrow (today) the mission will later metamorphose into the EU support group to INEC. We are very aware of the challenges and the pressure to conduct free and fair elections.

“And we are ready to partner with the commission we are going to provide support and technical aid not only on the election day.”

There were, however, indications on Monday that INEC had already started work on a new timetable for the elections.

Investigations revealed that based on a tentative plan by the commission, party primaries would be held in December, while voter registration would take place in January 2011.

When contacted, the Chief Press Secretary to the INEC Chairman, Mr. Kayode Idowu, said that the timetable released in September, was unworkable.

“The commission has received reasonable assurances of a little more latitude of time. In any event, the old timetable is unworkable strictly as it is; and inevitably needs adjustment; and so a new timetable is likely,” Idowu said.

Posted: at 12-10-2010 03:17 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 12-10-2010 03:23 PM (14 years ago)
I hope the election holds........but a lot of things are combing to threaten this election sha.........I dey watch

Posted: at 12-10-2010 03:23 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- moniconyez at 12-10-2010 04:05 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 12-10-2010 03:23 PM
I hope the election holds........but a lot of things are combing to threaten this election sha.........I dey watch

OK
Posted: at 12-10-2010 04:05 PM (14 years ago) | Hero
- Teeteeylaryor at 12-10-2010 04:44 PM (14 years ago)
may God help us out.......

Posted: at 12-10-2010 04:44 PM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hero27 at 12-10-2010 05:18 PM (14 years ago)
BABA GOD PLS COME
Posted: at 12-10-2010 05:18 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Salahud at 12-10-2010 06:47 PM (14 years ago)
let jega return our money and give them chance 2 appoint whom ever d want.
javascript:void(0);
Posted: at 12-10-2010 06:47 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- sam_bethd2000 at 13-10-2010 12:29 PM (14 years ago)
oh! i think what we sud do now is to fight against all the formal military personels......we sud not allow them in agin in order to maintain peace and unity and also development....
Posted: at 13-10-2010 12:29 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Alex11 at 13-10-2010 02:42 PM (14 years ago)
This is one of the signs to show that the National Assembly is not interested in moving the nation forward despite the huge amount of money they are consuming there. They are there for their personal gains.
Posted: at 13-10-2010 02:42 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 13-10-2010 09:08 PM (14 years ago)
Quote from: Alex11 on 13-10-2010 02:42 PM
This is one of the signs to show that the National Assembly is not interested in moving the nation forward despite the huge amount of money they are consuming there. They are there for their personal gains.

every delayment is to their benefit , very selfish and useless peoples
Posted: at 13-10-2010 09:08 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- michelleudavid at 14-10-2010 06:57 PM (14 years ago)
I am interested in that election 2011 and I wish many of us will come out to pick the person you want to rule you. AMEN.   THINK ABOUT IT.
Posted: at 14-10-2010 06:57 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 14-10-2010 11:29 PM (14 years ago)
how i wish who you pick is given chance to rule , since its selections and not election
Posted: at 14-10-2010 11:29 PM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- Commonsense at 14-10-2010 11:33 PM (14 years ago)
wetin concern agbero with overload
Posted: at 14-10-2010 11:33 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 15-10-2010 01:04 AM (14 years ago)
if the agbero too are not animal , they should knows the capacity of the veichle , and the numbers of the passengers it supose to carry
Posted: at 15-10-2010 01:04 AM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- logten at 15-10-2010 04:31 AM (14 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 15-10-2010 01:04 AM
if the agbero too are not animal , they should knows the capacity of the veichle , and the numbers of the passengers it supose to carry

GUY U BE FOOL
Posted: at 15-10-2010 04:31 AM (14 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 15-10-2010 07:48 AM (14 years ago)
look at this idiot
Posted: at 15-10-2010 07:48 AM (14 years ago) | Grande Master
- ikb_ikb at 18-10-2010 01:48 PM (14 years ago)
I CAN  SEE YOUR CHIEF OF FAKE NEWS, HERE ON NAJIAPALS, TELL YOUR FOLLOW MEMBERS TO STOP SENDING FAKE NEWS HERE
Posted: at 18-10-2010 01:48 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming
- conkcept at 19-10-2010 04:41 PM (14 years ago)
lets pray for God's intervention
Posted: at 19-10-2010 04:41 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 20-10-2010 08:53 AM (14 years ago)
alright
Posted: at 20-10-2010 08:53 AM (14 years ago) | Grande Master