WHO KILLED DELE GIWA?

Date: 19-10-2010 7:11 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 19-10-2010 07:11 PM (13 years ago)
EXACTLY a year from today, it will be 25 years since ace journalist and founding editor-in-chief of Newswatch  Dele Giwa was killed with a parcel bomb. Assistant Editor (News) OLUKOREDE YISHAU examines efforts to identify and punish the mastermind(s) of the murder

IT all happened on Talabi Street, off Adeniyi Jones Avenue, Ikeja. A Sunday it was, when Christians were busy worshipping God in churches. House 25 where the unprecedented tragedy occured has now given way to a hospital, where doctors  save lives. Here 24 years ago, the founding editor-in-chief of Newswatch magazine, Sunmonu Oladele Giwa, better known as Dele Giwa was killed  in his prime.  He was just 39.

That Sunday morning, the merchants of death gave the deadly parcel to his then 19-year-old son, Billy, who received it on his behalf. The assailants had vanished into thin air when he attempted to open the parcel and a blast occurred ‘’tearing open’’ his lower region. His colleague, Kayode Soyinka who was with him,Newswatch’s London Bureau Chief then suffered perforated eardrums. Giwa died at the First Foundation Hospital, Ikeja, Lagos, where he was rushed to after the explosion.

Before opening the parcel of death, he was said to have remarked: ‘This must be from the president.’ The military president at that time was Gen. Ibrahim Babangida, who is angling  to run for  president. This decision  has, for the past few months, brought to the fore the controversy surrounding the death of Giwa.

Advertorials, cartoons, interviews and other editorial materials have taken sizeable space in the media, querying Babangida’s right to run. Many of these materials linked the death of Giwa to Babangida. But the former military president has repeatedly denied culpability.

Interestingly, the death of Chief Gani Fawehinmi, who was Giwa’s lawyer and the arrowhead of the campaign to hold Babangida liable for the death of the first class journalist has seen his son, Mohammed taking up the gauntlet.

Fawehinmi once got an order to sue two security chiefs-- Col. Halilu Akilu and Lt. Col. A.K. Togun-- who  were the director of Military Intelligence and the deputy director, State Security Service under the Babangida military regime. But both officers were exonerated for lack of evidence. He took the case up to the Supreme Court and still lost for lack of evidence. He also tried the Oputa panel. All to no avail.

Today, a book is billed for presentation on the Giwa death saga. Dele Giwa’s Murder: The Answered Question is written by journalist-cum-lawyer, Mr. Richard Akinnola.

Another book on the matter is  in the works. It is written by  Maj. Debo Basorun (rtd.), who was the military press secretary to Babangida. In a newspaper interview last June, Basorun said he was being hounded because of the book and the facts it contains on who killed Giwa.

In his words: “I was privy to some of the terrible things ... when we were in the army… My problem is 2011. Babangida wants to become president again. I am not saying I am the only person, but I am one of those who know that he is connected to the death of Dele Giwa. That is why they have been trying to kill me.

“I was sent to do a dirty job in America in respect of Dele Giwa’s death. I was sent to cover up what they did. I refused to comply. When I came back, they threw me into jail. Newspapers reported it that time. I protested. The press was on my side then. I was shouting on the roof top that ‘These people want to kill me.’ They decided to send me to a unit in Makurdi, which was a Siberia then. I refused to go. Incidentally, the General Staff Headquarters, which was my unit (and Babangida’s unit too), issued an order that whoever wanted to leave the army should volunteer. It coincided with what was happening to me. So, I volunteered and resigned. I quoted their order in the resignation letter I sent them. But out of those who resigned then, I was the only person whose resignation letter  was rejected. I contacted some attorneys. Alao Aka-Basorun was my lawyer.”

Maj. Bashorun went on: “Babangida has assembled a think tank of south-westerners who have warned him of my tell-all book that is about to be launched. They warned him that if I am allowed to launch the book, the expose contained there will totally destroy his chances of even gaining a foothold any where in the South-West.”

But Babangida recently insisted he was being wrongly accused. He said: “For the umpteenth time, I wish to state that I did not murder Dele Giwa. In addition, no agent or agency of government was found guilty of this heinous act by the law courts. I am a man of great faith in God and I believe in the sanctity of life. My discipline as a military commander also does not condone the killing of defenceless innocent people.”

Giwa’s colleagues in Newswtach have also resigned to fate.  The Chief Executive Officer, Newswatch Communications, Mr. Ray Ekpu, said it had become a routine for him to talk about Giwa in the last 24 years. He said it brings sad memories. Ekpu said since security agents have failed to find his killers, God will surely do one day.

Next year, it will be 25 years since Giwa, who studied English and Communication Arts at the University of Brooklyn, where he bagged Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts degrees, left. But the legacies of this refined journalist, who had a stint with the prestigious New York Times before he was convinced to return home in 1976, can never be obliterated.

And the question continues: Who killed Dele Giwa? May be an answer will come soon. May be.

Posted: at 19-10-2010 07:11 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Renewed at 19-10-2010 08:25 PM (13 years ago)
Abeg if you see IBB, ask am for me...I go dey expect ur reply soon...

Posted: at 19-10-2010 08:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- prince316 at 19-10-2010 10:19 PM (13 years ago)
na BABA_____ I NO PUT THE REST OOOO
Posted: at 19-10-2010 10:19 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- aliaaz at 19-10-2010 11:43 PM (13 years ago)
Dis issue don tey for ground ohh abeg make u d killer come @ nw make we knw where we dey jare Tongue

Posted: at 19-10-2010 11:43 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mydicksweet at 20-10-2010 09:35 AM (13 years ago)
Abi o
Posted: at 20-10-2010 09:35 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Treasure2 at 20-10-2010 09:44 AM (13 years ago)
Ask BABA but no put GIDA ooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 20-10-2010 09:44 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Centjay at 20-10-2010 10:18 AM (13 years ago)
Leave all those guys you are mentioning alone. "I killed Dele Giwa".
Posted: at 20-10-2010 10:18 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- solid_solid at 20-10-2010 11:12 AM (13 years ago)
ask me again .......WHO KILL DELE GIWA?
Posted: at 20-10-2010 11:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mac-ency at 20-10-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago)
i know say God know, so why u dey ask me ask God the all knowing he will answer u................................................but i believe say God go tell u make u go ask BaBa cos even him no know dose that mean na only BaBa know?
Posted: at 20-10-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- LEONE at 21-10-2010 05:29 AM (13 years ago)
Who killed him?The late Fela said it is BABA.........But he warned pple not 2 comlete
the name.He said you are on your own if you add GIDA.
Posted: at 21-10-2010 05:29 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Renewed at 21-10-2010 08:15 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Centjay on 20-10-2010 10:18 AM

Bros, the family dey find u o....they wan thank u specially...

Posted: at 21-10-2010 08:15 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- samitex4usa2004 at 22-10-2010 01:36 PM (13 years ago)
Independence Bomb Blast [IBB]
"25" years since Giwa was killed in his residence, House "25"
This thing is begining to make sence anyway
no matter wat IBB can not escape wat is following him.
NO WAY
Posted: at 22-10-2010 01:36 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- mezkaz18 at 22-10-2010 02:45 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: samitex4usa2004 on 22-10-2010 01:36 PM
Independence Bomb Blast [IBB]
"25" years since Giwa was killed in his residence, House "25"
This thing is begining to make sence anyway
no matter wat IBB can not escape wat is following him.
NO WAY
  Na me killam
Posted: at 22-10-2010 02:45 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Teeteeylaryor at 22-10-2010 03:04 PM (13 years ago)
the man wey don die since this year.....na now u dey ask who kill am.......
ask google, if he fit answer you

who kill funsho williams

Posted: at 22-10-2010 03:04 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bodey4real at 22-10-2010 03:12 PM (13 years ago)
   may the lord punish who ever kill dele giwa may the lord let him or her have no rest of mind in life.
Posted: at 22-10-2010 03:12 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- moniconyez at 22-10-2010 03:36 PM (13 years ago)
This one way every body dey shorting the name of the killer like this. No body want to call his name in full abi, Ok no bi me talk am oooo.But Even small pikin wey dem born after GIWAs death know say na Mr B B Ba Ba Gi Ba B Gi D Ba Da  Kill am................
Posted: at 22-10-2010 03:36 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- moniconyez at 22-10-2010 03:39 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Centjay on 20-10-2010 10:18 AM

But they never born you then so you no fit bi u wey kill am...........
Posted: at 22-10-2010 03:39 PM (13 years ago) | Hero