My life is in danger

Date: 28-10-2010 10:32 am (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 28-10-2010 10:32 AM (13 years ago)
The former Minister of State, Federal Capital Territory(FCT,and governorship aspirant in Akwa Ibom State, John Akpanudoedehe, has cried out over alleged threat to his life by his political adversaries. The former minister, who is a governorship aspirant on the platform of the Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), stated this at a press conference in Lagos yesterday.

He called on President Goodluck Jonathan to protect him from political opponents, who were threatening his life because of his political ambition. The governorship hopeful said since he declared his intention to contest next year’s election, he had become a target of harassment and intimidation.

Akpanudoehehe said first he was arrested and detained for 11 days for allegedly having a hand in the murder of one Paul Inyang, a former zonal secretary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the South-south. He said on account of that, his international passport and phones were seized, while a thorough search was conducted on his country home.

However, the former minister said he was let off the hook and his seized property released when nothing incriminating was found against him. In his words: “Today, I am being hounded and treated like a common criminal despite my pedigree as a former senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and minister. I am being framed for a murder I know nothing about, all because I declared my intention to contest the governorship of my state. I believe no one is too big to face justice but I also know that no one should be punished for an offence he did not commit.”

Furthermore, he stated that he was not alone in the harassment by political opponents. According to him, all those who had declared their interest to contest next year’s governorship election started having problem immediately they made their ambition public. The former FCT minister alleged that the use of the police to harass and intimidate politicians outside the fold of the PDP ran contrary to the resolve of the president to ensue a credible election next year.

“President Goodluck Jonathan has consistently assured that his administration will organise a free, fair and credible election. But it is common knowledge that this can only be done if the Police and other security agents will play a neutral role, rather than, a partisan one,” he added.

Akpanudoehehe decried the level of insecurity in the state, saying in the recent past, 300 cases of kidnapping or assassination had been recorded in the state without the State Government doing anything to stem the tide. “ The people are the reason for the existence of any government. The biggest responsibility of any government is the security of lives and property.”

Posted: at 28-10-2010 10:32 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- goingwithyou at 28-10-2010 11:54 AM (13 years ago)
Uhmm .. not my pro
Posted: at 28-10-2010 11:54 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- goldcircle at 28-10-2010 02:17 PM (13 years ago)
wetin qoncern Bicycle and increase of puel frice
Posted: at 28-10-2010 02:17 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Chibarca at 28-10-2010 06:26 PM (13 years ago)
who cares?
Posted: at 28-10-2010 06:26 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- lopez2424 at 28-10-2010 09:12 PM (13 years ago)
What's my concern??
Posted: at 28-10-2010 09:12 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoneyy at 28-10-2010 10:38 PM (13 years ago)
why he for concern u befor?ur mate dey pray for church u dey busy take picture,
Posted: at 28-10-2010 10:38 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- goldcircle at 29-10-2010 11:27 AM (13 years ago)
My Feofle,
Ebery body Lipe dey por Danger por this quontry
Posted: at 29-10-2010 11:27 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- shaoyang at 29-10-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago)
U i don talk am, kawai!
Posted: at 29-10-2010 12:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Treasure2 at 29-10-2010 01:27 PM (13 years ago)
MAY GOD HELP THEM.
Posted: at 29-10-2010 01:27 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Toks-E at 29-10-2010 03:11 PM (13 years ago)
Nigerian Politics...never going there

Posted: at 29-10-2010 03:11 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- moniconyez at 29-10-2010 05:01 PM (13 years ago)
Shege
Posted: at 29-10-2010 05:01 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 29-10-2010 05:04 PM (13 years ago)
The security operatives better take this serious.....we dont want any more political assassination.........

Posted: at 29-10-2010 05:04 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- mykelly at 29-10-2010 05:12 PM (13 years ago)
eh-yah..sorry oh
Posted: at 29-10-2010 05:12 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xena15 at 29-10-2010 07:45 PM (13 years ago)
Na wa o!

Posted: at 29-10-2010 07:45 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sixtyhoneyy at 1-11-2010 12:23 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: shaoyang on 29-10-2010 12:34 PM
U i don talk am, kawai!
Posted: at 1-11-2010 12:23 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- saffronglory at 2-11-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago)
HELP PLS
Posted: at 2-11-2010 11:30 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- solid_solid at 3-11-2010 02:10 PM (13 years ago)
WHAT A SENSELESS POST
Posted: at 3-11-2010 02:10 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pepesy at 3-11-2010 02:22 PM (13 years ago)
May God help d innocent ones...
Posted: at 3-11-2010 02:22 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chinwebaby at 3-11-2010 02:59 PM (13 years ago)
Wetin concern agboro with overload and wetin concern vulture (udele) with barber.
Posted: at 3-11-2010 02:59 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kinkino at 19-11-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago)
kedu ihe gbasara udele na baba
Posted: at 19-11-2010 06:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac