64m Nigerians Are Illiterate !!! (Page 2)

Date: 03-11-2010 1:40 pm (13 years ago) | Author: kelly
1 [2] 3 4
- uprising at 3-11-2010 11:10 PM (13 years ago)
and our leaders are not ashame of themselves still looting the money they are suppose to use in uplifting educational standard of the citizens
Posted: at 3-11-2010 11:10 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoneyy at 3-11-2010 11:26 PM (13 years ago)
hmmmmmmmmmmmmm
Posted: at 3-11-2010 11:26 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abby at 4-11-2010 12:17 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: edem4luz on  3-11-2010 01:40 PM
More than 64 million Nigerians, constituting 46 per cent of the country’s 140 million population, are illiterate and cannot contribute to socio-economic development of the country
They are illiterate does not mean they are useless.
IMO it is not a disgrace or a pity or whatever, it mean they are not westernised, simple. There is nothing wrong with this. Personally I'd rather there be more unwesternised people. Westernisation is all about capitalism (maybe not entirely but...), money money, money and more money.   Thats why who ever is the silly person that wrote this article  has labelled these people useless  Angry because they are not money making machines for the government and the rich (which we all are by the way...).  I'm sure most of them are trader fishermen, farmers etc hence they are contributing something and making a living for themselves. When they educate (westernise) these people there will be nothing left of our culture,  old knowledge so on... we'll all be money makers (sounds fancy but...), educate yourself and then work and pay tax for the rest of the best part of your life, thats the future...  I'm not for it.
Posted: at 4-11-2010 12:17 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- sixtyhoneyy at 4-11-2010 12:26 AM (13 years ago)
oh yeah
Posted: at 4-11-2010 12:26 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- yukicares4u at 4-11-2010 03:23 AM (13 years ago)
mmm...lemme sigh!
Posted: at 4-11-2010 03:23 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tenderlamb25 at 4-11-2010 07:30 AM (13 years ago)
what an illiterate journalist! pity!!! 
Posted: at 4-11-2010 07:30 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- chogzie at 4-11-2010 07:49 AM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 4-11-2010 07:49 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- MissyBarbie at 4-11-2010 08:55 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: black_samurai on  3-11-2010 06:08 PM
Only 46%? They'll need to recount!

Quote from: black_samurai on  3-11-2010 06:08 PM
Only 46%? They'll need to recount!

very funny

Posted: at 4-11-2010 08:55 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- hayweezy at 4-11-2010 09:00 AM (13 years ago)
 yes veri gud for our economy and our politian ..........veri soon only them and their  family will educated and d political post will b a cheiftancy title ....rotated within them .......BASTARDS  
Posted: at 4-11-2010 09:00 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Adikpe at 4-11-2010 09:15 AM (13 years ago)
Those who claim to be literate, what are they contributing
positively to the development of the country?
Posted: at 4-11-2010 09:15 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 4-11-2010 11:08 AM (13 years ago)
First for all, @ Poster you are wrong!
Nigeria's population is over 158million not 140m
And there is fact or evidence to show that 64million pple
are illiterates......how do you even define 'Illiteracy?'
Posted: at 4-11-2010 11:08 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eucharia at 4-11-2010 11:09 AM (13 years ago)
really
Posted: at 4-11-2010 11:09 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Michro at 4-11-2010 11:28 AM (13 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmmmm

Posted: at 4-11-2010 11:28 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Sheenor at 4-11-2010 01:16 PM (13 years ago)
wht! datz ****

Posted: at 4-11-2010 01:16 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- kenyawest at 4-11-2010 01:39 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: popo2009 on  4-11-2010 11:08 AM
First for all, @ Poster you are wrong!
Nigeria's population is over 158million not 140m
And there is fact or evidence to show that 64million pple
are illiterates......how do you even define 'Illiteracy?'
I actually see more problems here. 

There was an allocation of N7,000 to each facilitator for each of the  64 million illiterates to become literates?  What happened to that budget of 2009 and 2010?

Instead of being defensive as to whether Nigerians are literate or illiterate, follow the money!

Posted: at 4-11-2010 01:39 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- williams_utd at 4-11-2010 02:42 PM (13 years ago)
Big lie,i disagree.
Posted: at 4-11-2010 02:42 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- nattyrag at 4-11-2010 05:27 PM (13 years ago)
Street Knowledge is di best college....
Remember "PROPER EDUCATION IS NOT INNA HIGHER INSTITUTION"

If studying a white man history is what u calling education...
Man!!!!better run go think twice.

Educate thyself ur own way my ppl.

Posted: at 4-11-2010 05:27 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- vivysexy at 4-11-2010 06:52 PM (13 years ago)
d level of illiteracy n naija is alarmin!!!!!!
Posted: at 4-11-2010 06:52 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mhspecial at 4-11-2010 07:51 PM (13 years ago)
Dis no too much.the education sector need reform
Posted: at 4-11-2010 07:51 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ALLFORGOD at 4-11-2010 10:32 PM (13 years ago)
well i can not really differentiate the literate people we have in government from the illiterates on the street , if you have something and does not use it then you don't have it ; our government officials are functioning illiterates
Posted: at 4-11-2010 10:32 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
1 [2] 3 4