London Money laundering Trial: Theresa Ibori Sentenced to 5 Years!

Date: 22-11-2010 10:43 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6
- at 22-11-2010 10:43 PM (13 years ago)

Theresa Ibori, the former First Lady of Delta State, is going to prison for between two- five years.

The London jury in her Southwark Crown Court trial returned their verdict today after she was found guilty on two counts of money laundering. James Ibori's United Kingdom lawyer, Mr. Bhadresh Gohil, who was on trial with Theresa, has been found guilty on all counts of money laundering. He has been remanded in police custody.

Mr. Gohil will be sentenced after the conclusion of another trial involving the laundering of proceeds of V-Mobile shares by James Ibori, Henry Imashekka, David Edevbie and former Akwa Ibom governor, Victor Attah. The trial will start on Monday.

In a previous trial, the court had also sent to prison Ibori's sister, Christine Ibori-Ibie; and  his mistress, Udoamaka Okoronkwo-Onuigbo.

The main culprit, James Ibori, awaits extradition to the UK to face three set of trials relating to money laundering and theft of delta state resources.

Posted: at 22-11-2010 10:43 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ufuospat at 23-11-2010 12:35 PM (13 years ago)
Suites them right for what they have done. Greed. They want all the money so that them and their family will not suffer while others wallow in poverty. MOney meant for a state development one man wants to siphon all to himself. the law has caught up with them and they are paying for the greed now.
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:35 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- walerian at 23-11-2010 12:41 PM (13 years ago)
a very luvly christmas and a happy new year in prison but wait for ur dear husband cos he's gonna join u soon lol
Posted: at 23-11-2010 12:41 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- donfanny at 23-11-2010 01:43 PM (13 years ago)
its da bomb for the family,oh shate man

Posted: at 23-11-2010 01:43 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- oyez at 23-11-2010 02:18 PM (13 years ago)
Hmm...how many UK n U.S citizens (criminals) have been jailed in Nigeria?

Well, it's not just "You reap what you sow"..it's now "You reap WHERE you sow"

Posted: at 23-11-2010 02:18 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- adewalefisayo at 23-11-2010 02:33 PM (13 years ago)
better dan Nija prison!
Posted: at 23-11-2010 02:33 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- tambeiort at 23-11-2010 02:34 PM (13 years ago)
more politicians will join her and her husband, if they dont change
Posted: at 23-11-2010 02:34 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- cyntebaby at 23-11-2010 02:37 PM (13 years ago)
 Undecided Na waoooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 23-11-2010 02:37 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bafyguy at 23-11-2010 02:43 PM (13 years ago)
serves them right
Posted: at 23-11-2010 02:43 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- uchpeace at 23-11-2010 03:02 PM (13 years ago)
 ???na waooooooooo i really wonder what is wrong with this man's (ibori)family, the family is a shame to Nigeria Sad.
Posted: at 23-11-2010 03:02 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- mykelly at 23-11-2010 03:29 PM (13 years ago)
what 9ijria can not do..far awy uk is helping them
Posted: at 23-11-2010 03:29 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kingprince at 23-11-2010 03:45 PM (13 years ago)
na china i dey now, i no dey for 9ja again, God go polish any man who de cause 9ja guys suffer for abroud, bcz na run we run go abroud but thank God for our man now, Goodluck. He is out to change our entire country for good
Posted: at 23-11-2010 03:45 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- lanudja at 23-11-2010 04:35 PM (13 years ago)
It will serve as a lesson to rest of them
Posted: at 23-11-2010 04:35 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- walerian at 23-11-2010 04:44 PM (13 years ago)
not a shame to nigeria but a shame to em family only
Posted: at 23-11-2010 04:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Abby at 23-11-2010 05:01 PM (13 years ago)
They didn't try o, they deserve to be punished i know... but did they do the money laundering in the UK, it they did ok... if they did not, why are they being sentenced there?
Posted: at 23-11-2010 05:01 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- kinkino at 23-11-2010 05:06 PM (13 years ago)
dats gud 4 her....let her reap wht she sowed
Posted: at 23-11-2010 05:06 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- IkeOguike at 23-11-2010 05:14 PM (13 years ago)
This is a good news and I hope it will serve as a deterrent to other would be criminals, criminally minded politicians and public servants in Nigeria who enrich themselves, family and concubines at the expense of Nigerians. SHAME ON YOU FOOLS! Ibori, you will soon join your spouse and sorry, there will be no conjucal visit. I strongly beleive that more Crooks who claim to be politicians and public servants such as Achikwe Udenwa, Orji Uzo Kalu, Professor Nwosu, Joshua Dariye, Obasanjo's daughter, Kerny Martins, Emmanuel Uduaghan and Chukwuma Soludo just to mention a few should join them in prison because they have contributed to the failure of Nigeria. Cecilia Ibru, report to kirikiri now and start serving your prison term. The days of faking illness and laying in prison bed is OVER. SHAMELESS CRIMINALS.
Posted: at 23-11-2010 05:14 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- IkeOguike at 23-11-2010 05:18 PM (13 years ago)
I meant to say Cecilia Ibru report to Kirikiri and start serving your prison term. The days of faking illness and laying in hospital bed are over. Nigerians are wiser than that now.
Posted: at 23-11-2010 05:18 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- adeyemi24 at 23-11-2010 05:58 PM (13 years ago)
well let's not laugh at the calamity of ppl rather let us prayed to God for His mercy
Posted: at 23-11-2010 05:58 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- funkyog at 23-11-2010 06:50 PM (13 years ago)
NICE ONE LOL
Posted: at 23-11-2010 06:50 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
[1] 2 3 4 ... 6

1. I Never Wanted Him to Play Chess - Record Breaker, Tunde Onakoya's Dad Breaks Silence (Video)

2. One Dead, Three Injured, N8.7m Recovered On Kaduna Road Crash

3. Court Strikes Out Suit Seeking Ro Remove Hannatu Musawa As Minister As She's A Serving NYSC Mem

4. "End This Hiding, Submit Yourself To The Law" - Ologbondiyan To Yahaya Bello

5. UPDATE: Security Operatives Launch Manhunt For 109 Fleeing Inmates Of Suleja Prison

6. APC Youths Besiege APC Secretariat, Demand Fresh Primary Election In Ondo

7. Police Inspector Sunday Baba Shot Dead By Gunmen In Rivers

8. "Davido Was The First Big Artiste Who Supported My Career" - Skitmaker, Sabinus

9. My Father Raised Me To Be A Modern Day Man – DJ Cuppy Praises Billionaire Father, Otedola

3. 'Brand Ambassador', Phyna Calls Out Pepsi For Supplying Her Expired Drinks

4. How Past Abia Govt Paid N107.2 Bn To Contractors For Non-existent Abia Airport & Other Projects

5. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

7. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

9. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

10. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper