We Can't Arrest Gumi Because of His Role in Tackling Insecurity - Chief of Defence, Irabor

Date: 15-10-2021 11:46 am (2 years ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 15-10-2021 11:46 AM (2 years ago)

General Lucky Irabor, Nigeria’s Chief of Defence Staff, has said that controversial Islamic scholar known for negotiating with bandits, Ahmad Gumi is playing his part to tackle the insecurity ravaging the country and would not be stopped by the military.

General Irabor, speaking at a ministerial briefing organised by the presidential communications team at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, said that while Mr Gumi does not work for the military, the military will not prevent anyone from contributing to the country’s security.

Gumi, a self-appointed mediator between bandits and the government, has been at the forefront of articulating the position of bandits wreaking havoc across the North.

The influential Islamic cleric recently stated that one-third of Nigeria’s budget for battling insecurity should be spent on bandits through techniques other than fighting, such as enlightenment and listening to their problems.

During a recent speaking engagement at the Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, Mr Gumi stated that the humane side of bandits could be optimised by by showing them understanding and respect.

He said he has been able to undertake several visits and negotiations with the brigands simply by showing empathy to their yearnings.

The advocacy of Mr Gumi for bandits drew flaks from the presidency weeks past.

President Muhammadu Buhari’s spokesman Femi Adesina slammed him as “bandits-lover”.

Many Nigerians have also called for Mr Gumi’s interrogation.

Posted: at 15-10-2021 11:46 AM (2 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- constigoldo at 15-10-2021 11:56 AM (2 years ago)
What role is that?  The role of supporting bandits?  I dey shame your shame.
Posted: at 15-10-2021 11:56 AM (2 years ago) | Hero
- donnick101 at 15-10-2021 12:20 PM (2 years ago)
Foolish people
Posted: at 15-10-2021 12:20 PM (2 years ago) | Newbie
- Jiiitk4 at 15-10-2021 12:30 PM (2 years ago)
Listen to yourself. Idiot. Having denied your Igbo root you have sold your soul to the North to be used against your own people. Asked where you are from you will quickly and foolishly say...I am not Igbo. ( I no be Igbo)  . Proven that you are originally Igbo but rejecting your root because of national appointment Amadioha ( Our God of thunder will strike your entire family dead)  . Keep sending army to South East to slaughter our people while your family awaits vengeance from God and NDIGBO.
Posted: at 15-10-2021 12:30 PM (2 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Felixcam at 16-10-2021 06:41 AM (2 years ago)
This is to inform you all that you can now buy Dangote cement directly from the factory at a promo price of  2000 and transportation 300 rice 19,000 transportation 300 call 08034825434 for booking and supply we deliver nation wide to only serious buyers ..Note its payment before delivery.  Call +2348034825434
Posted: at 16-10-2021 06:41 AM (2 years ago) | Newbie