One-eyed university dropout, friend arrested for armed robbery

Date: 04-12-2010 2:47 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 4-12-2010 02:47 PM (13 years ago)

The Ogun State Police Command has arrested one Fatai Balogun, a 29-year-old barber and his friend, Tayo Olowu, in Ijebu-Ode for allegedly robbing three houses in the town two weeks ago. Balogun, a one-eyed barber, who claimed to have dropped out from the Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, as a 300-level accounting student because of lack of funds, was arrested with his accomplice on their way to Lagos after having successfully robbed their victims earlier in the day.

The two were arrested with a gun, which had been dismantled and concealed in a bag; cell phones; jewellery; and an undisclosed amount of money, believed to have been stolen.

Balogun and Olowu, who are now being detained at the state police command headquarters, Eleweran, Abeokuta, were said to have robbed three houses in Ijebu-Ode. The victims reported the incident to the police the same day.

The suspects were however, arrested when they attempted to flee the town with their loot in the evening of the same day as they were apprehended on Ijebu-Ode Road after they had boarded a vehicle to Lagos.

Balogun claimed to be an accounting student of OOU, but dropped out of the institution when he was at 300 Level in 2005 as, according to him, his parents could no longer support him.

He said, “I was attacked during the 2005 crisis between OOU students and Ago-Iwoye indigenes. The indigenes that killed my friends removed one of my eyes and inflicted machete cuts on my face. After spending so much money on my treatment, I couldn’t go back to school and that was why I decided to learn barbing.”

The suspect claimed to be working as a stylist with a salon in Ogba, Lagos, but was sacked as a result of customers‘ complaints about his bad eye.

“Whenever I was barbing, hair was always entering my bad eye and I used my hand to remove it or blow it away, but this is always offensive to the customers. So they always complained and that was why the owner of the place sent me away,” he said.

Interestingly, Balogun is from Agbole Olowu, Ijebu-Igbo, and lived with his parents in the town when the students/indigenes crisis erupted. He could not explain his claim that he was maimed during the clash by his own people.

Claiming that the robbery for which he would soon face prosecution was his first, the suspect attributed his entry into crime to frustration. He said he was able to get the gun that was used for the operation from a man he met at a pub in Ijebu-Igbo for N7,000.

Olowu, a resident of 5, Roundabout Karaka Street, Badagry, said he met Balogun at a local pub this year on February 14 when he was in Ijebu-Igbo to see his girlfriend during the Valentine’s Day.

He said, “I came to see my girlfriend in Ijebu-Igbo on Valentine’s Day. He requested a drink and I bought it for him. We got talking and he told me he was a student in Osu (OOU). He asked for my telephone number and I gave him, but I didn’t see him again before I went back to Badagry.

“He called me last week that I should come that he wanted to show me something; I thought it was a business deal. When I got to Ijebu Igbo, he took me somewhere and showed me the weapon (gun). He said we should go and ‘hustle’ that he was very ‘broke’ and I agreed because I was ‘broke’ too.”

The Police Public Relations Officer of the state police command, Mr. Olumuyiwa Adejobi, confirmed the arrest of the suspects.

Adejobi, an Assistant Superintendent Police, said the suspects were arrested by policemen from the Igbeba Divisional Police headquarters, Ijebu-Ode, adding that the suspects would soon appear in court.

Posted: at 4-12-2010 02:47 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lopez2424 at 4-12-2010 03:19 PM (13 years ago)
Face the music. next time don't robbed because you're broke!
Posted: at 4-12-2010 03:19 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ladyb4u at 4-12-2010 04:08 PM (13 years ago)
u have a hand work so y robbing Huh?
Posted: at 4-12-2010 04:08 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- shaoyang at 4-12-2010 04:14 PM (13 years ago)
What a pathetic story.
Posted: at 4-12-2010 04:14 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sixtyhoneyy at 4-12-2010 04:27 PM (13 years ago)
are you sure this guy's are not innocent?
Posted: at 4-12-2010 04:27 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Freesmile at 4-12-2010 06:19 PM (13 years ago)
ahhh! sorry my brother. But all this idiot politicians are BLIND TO OUR TEARS. But God dey sha.
Posted: at 4-12-2010 06:19 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- lanudja at 4-12-2010 07:45 PM (13 years ago)
@60 am nt sure they re innocent since they saw a gun wit them n also admitted 2 it. A last obtion for suvival is nt 2 go n robb. They dnt av any xcus 4 it. Let then face d law, so dat pple dat thinks when they re broke they wil go n carry gun wil learn frm it. Afta we av 2 much of them all ova d place.   
Posted: at 4-12-2010 07:45 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 4-12-2010 07:59 PM (13 years ago)
Correctn "after all" we have...
Posted: at 4-12-2010 07:59 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- Maxodus at 4-12-2010 09:38 PM (13 years ago)
I feel sorry for him. Just imagine what happened to him in school,but he shouldn't have taken to robbery.i hope he is tendered  justice with mercy
Posted: at 4-12-2010 09:38 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- chrisfab at 4-12-2010 10:47 PM (13 years ago)
Everybody knws dat if u caught an armed robber who has been stealing 4 10yr,he wil say dat it was his first
Posted: at 4-12-2010 10:47 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- shinapeters at 4-12-2010 10:48 PM (13 years ago)
pretty sad
Posted: at 4-12-2010 10:48 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- jigaxsol at 4-12-2010 11:51 PM (13 years ago)
Oboy dis is 4 real
Posted: at 4-12-2010 11:51 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sixtyhoneyy at 5-12-2010 12:08 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: lanudja on  4-12-2010 07:45 PM
@60 am nt sure they re innocent since they saw a gun wit them n also admitted 2 it. A last obtion for suvival is nt 2 go n robb. They dnt av any xcus 4 it. Let then face d law, so dat pple dat thinks when they re broke they wil go n carry gun wil learn frm it. Afta we av 2 much of them all ova d place.   
hmmmmm ok oooooo
Posted: at 5-12-2010 12:08 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 5-12-2010 08:40 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sixtyhoneyy on  4-12-2010 04:27 PM
are you sure this guy's are not innocent?

what inocent ? i hope non of them is your boy friend anyway
Posted: at 5-12-2010 08:40 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- princedafe at 5-12-2010 06:41 PM (13 years ago)
nawa
Posted: at 5-12-2010 06:41 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ashimole at 5-12-2010 08:46 PM (13 years ago)
what you ask for is wat you will get
Posted: at 5-12-2010 08:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- lopez2424 at 5-12-2010 09:21 PM (13 years ago)
4 sure!
Posted: at 5-12-2010 09:21 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- funkyog at 6-12-2010 10:28 AM (13 years ago)
too bad
Posted: at 6-12-2010 10:28 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 6-12-2010 10:56 AM (13 years ago)
3 bAD
Posted: at 6-12-2010 10:56 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- shaoyang at 6-12-2010 10:59 AM (13 years ago)
U lie so
Posted: at 6-12-2010 10:59 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac