Eleweomo’s deputy, Auxiliary, alleges threat to life

Date: 05-01-2011 12:22 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 5-01-2011 12:22 PM (13 years ago)
THE deputy of Alhaji Lateef Salako, Eleweomo, the slain factional leader of the Oyo State branch of the National Union of Road Transport Workers (NURTW),  Alhaji Mukaila Lamidi, also known as Auxilliary, on Tuesday, alleged that his life was being threatened by anonymous persons.

Alhaji Lamidi said he had been receiving death threats through anonymous text messages and calls from unknown people, whom, he claimed, threatened to kill and “send him to where his deceased boss went in due course.”

According to him, those calls and text messages told him he was being closely monitored, just as they did to his boss before he was finally killed last Thursday.

Some of the text messages read “with the dead (sic) of your Oga (boss), you are the nest (sic) target. We will make sure will (sic) cut your head. We know since your oga was killed last week, we no (sic) you have not been sleeping at your house. Wherever you are, we will get you.”

He, therefore, called on the state Commissioner of Police, Alhaji Baba Adisa Bolanta, to take the threat seriously and ensure that his life was not cut short.

The unionist, who also alleged that the anonymous callers were being sponsored by some politicians within and outside the state, urged the state government to, as a matter of urgency, ensure that the state was rid of people who were not lovers of peace.

Also, Auxiliary denied media reports linking him with the reported attack on a petrol station belonging to the rival chairman of NURTW, Alhaji AbdulLateef Akinsola, also known as Tokyo.

“I was at my house on Sunday, the day of the said attack, still mourning the death of my boss, Eleweomo.

“I was surprised to read in the newspapers that I had a hand in the reported attack on a petrol station.

“It is a ploy to paint me in bad light, so that they can justify their murderous intent against me,” Auxiliary, who spoke in Yoruba language, said.

He, however, thanked the police for the ongoing investigation into the gruesome murder of his boss, adding that God Almighty would visit His wrath on the killers of the slain NURTW boss.

Posted: at 5-01-2011 12:22 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac