Bank Customers Share Their Ordeal After Accepting Old Naira Notes From Banks

Date: 11-03-2023 6:14 pm (1 year ago) | Author: kacy lee
- at 11-03-2023 06:14 PM (1 year ago)

Some Nigerian bank customers have talked about their experiences after collecting the old naira notes.

They say they regret collecting the old denominated N500 and N1,000 notes from commercial banks, after the Supreme Court judgment validating it as legal tender till Dec. 31.

They told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) in separate interviews that it had been challenging spending the two denominated notes as Nigerians were not accepting the money for their daily transactions.

They also said it was surprising that two days after the judgment, bank started paying between N5,000 and N10,000 per customer, compared with N3,000 and N5,000 that were dispensed from their Automated Teller Machines (ATMs) during cash swap period.

Mr Matthew Aburime, a student of Lagos State Polytechnic, Ikorodu, who expressed disappointment, said he had been unable to spend the money he collected from a bank.

“I came from Ikorodu to Ajao Estate to spend some time with my grandmother, unfortunately for me, when it was time for me to go back to my base, there was no liquid cash to be given to me.

“Someone, then, told me that a nearby bank was paying old notes. Since it was from a commercial bank, I felt they would pay based on the instruction of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN).

“Then, I went and queued, eventually, I was able to withdraw N10,000 from the bank.

“As we speak, the money is still with me, I’ve not been able to spend it; the first rejection was from commercial bus driver.

Aburime urged President Muhammadu Buhari or the Central Bank Governor to make pronouncement on whether to accept it or not.

“Their being quite is making people lose more money,” he said.

Accoring to him, their quietness, has also given some people the power to cheat and commit heinous act like the excess charges from the PoS agents.

Mr Daniel Okpulonu, a trader, also shared same regret.

“When I realised that these old notes that I was receiving from my bank was not legal tender was when a bank official announced that people who had received the old notes should not bother bringing it back to deposit, as it would not be acceptable.

“As we speak, I am still going about with the money, looking out for where I can spend it. All to no avail.

“This is not good enough, government should come out and tell us what they want from us, Nigerians have suffered enough since the inception of this policy,”
he said.

Mr Brian Achilefu, a Clergyman, blamed the situation on the inability of many banks to dispense the old notes after the Supreme Court judgement.

According to him, it is not a good sign when institutions begin to disrespect the authority of the Supreme Court.

“The CBN should obey the court ruling and do as it ordered, so that people and everything can go back to normal,” he said.

However, Mrs Abimbola Alli, a trader at Jakande Estate Market, Okeafa, told NAN she only accepts new notes.

According to her, she took the few old notes that she accepted from her customers to the bank, but she was turned back.

“Is that the situation that you want for me again? Never will I collect old notes again.

“Other traders are not collecting old notes in this market; I was the only one accepting it.

“When I could not deposit it in my bank and Okada riders also refused to accept it, I decided not to accept it anymore,”
she said.

The Supreme Court on March 3 ordered that the old Naira notes should be allowed in circulation along with the new notes until Dec. 31.

Posted: at 11-03-2023 06:14 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 11-03-2023 06:38 PM (1 year ago)
Posted: at 11-03-2023 06:38 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- Allsense at 12-03-2023 03:54 AM (1 year ago)
Now this is getting too much and soon if there is a mass protest regarding this issue it might lead to riot that even the fed govt might not be able to handle easily.
Posted: at 12-03-2023 03:54 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Female Flight Attendants 'Run Over By Train' While Trying To Get On Platform

2. Adekunle Gold Cries On Stage As He Receives Message From His Wife And Daughter During Concert

3. Family Demands Release Of Miyetti Allah President, Accuses Army Of Human Rights Abuse

4. Kastina Police Arrest Suspected Terrorism Financier Aminu Hassan

5. US Offers $10m Reward For Wanted Chinese Hacker

6. Rapper, Jay-Z's 'Illegitimate Son' Slams Rapper For Denying 'Getting His Mom Pregnant At 16'

7. Parents Arrested After Neglecting Their 2Yrs Old Daughter In Closet Overnight With Space Heater

8. Singer, Cobhams Asuquo Reacts To Governor Okpebholo's Struggle To Read Budget Figure

9. 'Zlatan Donated N3m to Help Cover My N12m Surgery Bill' - TikToker, Salo Reveals In A Video

10. Godswill Akpabio’s Aide Goofs As He ‘Congratulates’ Akwa Ibom Gov Over The Demise Of His Wife

11. South Korea’s Ex-Defense Minister Attempts Suicide After Failed Martial Law

12. Nigerian Lady Takes A Dig At Women Who Discard Their Maiden Names, As She Shows Regina Daniels

13. Lagos Health Workers Commence Warning Strike

14. Nigeria’s Adeyemi-Bero Appointed OPEC Board Of Governors’ Chair

15. Young Man, Habaku Barnabas Slumps & Dies While Working On His Farm In Abuja

16. UPDAATE: FG Begins Payment Of Delayed November Salaries

1. I Was A Bus Conductor For 8 Years – Actor, Ibrahim Chatta Reveals

2. Sophia Momodu Spotted Living The Luxe Life Aboard A Private Jet

3. 55-Yr-Old Man, Gbenga Odunaya Arrested For Allegedly Assaulting Wife Over Property Documents

4. How RCCG Free Buses Gulped N63m Fuel In Seven Weeks – Leke Adeboye

5. No Evidence Of COVID Variant XEC In Nigeria, Federal Government Confirms

6. Former Nigerian Refugee Celebrates As She Becomes A Licensed Medical Doctor (Photos)

7. Super Eagle's Winger, Ademola Lookman’s Late Header Helps Atalanta Beat AC Milan To Top Serie A

8. Anambra Police Arrest Man, Nwokpoku Emma in Armed Robbery & Kidnapping, Recover Stolen Vehicle

9. Newly-Wed Couple, 16 Others Injured In Third Mainland Bridge Accident (Photos)

10. President Tinubu Approves Salary Hike For Military Personnel