INEC ad hoc staff, youth killed in Jos

Date: 18-01-2011 11:51 am (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 18-01-2011 11:51 AM (13 years ago)
The ongoing voter registration in parts of Jos North Local Government Area of Plateau State capital was disrupted on Monday when some youths and members of the Special Task Force in the state clashed.

Two people died in the incident that occurred just as Governor Jonah Jang advised residents of the state to stand up and defend themselves against attacks.

Before Jang gave the advise, the apex pan Igbo socio- cultural organisation, Ohanaeze Ndigbo, had despatched a letter to the South-East Governors’ Forum, seeking urgent measures to stop the killing of Igbo traders in Jos.

It was learnt that the latest violence in Jos erupted when an STF team escorting some ad hoc staff of the Independent National Electoral Commission to St. Philip Academy in Nasarawa, Jos North LGA, were challenged by youths in the area.

The youths in the Christian-dominated LGA, who had in the past accused the STF of aiding attacks on them, were said to have felt that the task force team was escorting Hausa youths to their area.

They were said to have quickly mobilised and descended on the STF members and INEC ad hoc staff.

The Commissioner of Police, Plateau State Command, Mr. Abdulrahaman Akano, and the STF Commander, Brig. Gen Hassan Umaru, confirmed the incident

Akano said, “The youths started throwing stones at the soldiers on sighting them. They held one of the Hausa Fulani boys the soldiers were escorting. The rampaging youths killed the boy but a soldier opened fire in defense and in the process, one of the youths was killed.”

Umaru, who said he had appealed to the youths in the state to give peace a chance, added that the incident disrupted voter registration in the area.

He said, “They started throwing stones at my men just because they saw them escorting INEC ad hoc staff that are Hausa Muslims. This happened in spite of my appeal to all the youths in the state to give peace a chance.”

The state governor had, while receiving a delegation of Ndigbo ezes (traditional rulers) in the 19 Northern states and Abuja, said he had spoken with President Goodluck Jonathan on the lingering violence in Jos and its environs.

While assuring that drastic measures would soon be taken against the perpetrators of the clashes, he advised residents to defend themselves when attacked by anyone.

“When your enemy knows that you are prepared to defend yourself, he will definitely not come to attack you. There is this old saying that the best way to defend yourself is to attack. Even if we bring the whole of the Nigerian military to Jos, they will not be enough to defend the people,” he told the delegation led by the Ezes, who were led by their chairman, Eze Ibe Nwosu.

“My advice is that people should be prepared to defend themselves so that if your enemy knows that you are prepared; look me I look you kind, we will say to ourselves, old boy, why not relax,” the governor said.

Nwosu told Jang that despite the killing of their kinsmen, the Igbo would not be forced to abandon their places of abode and flee to the South-East.

He, however, warned that there was a limit to which the Igbo community could continue to exercise patience.

They had earlier visited the Gbong Gwom Jos, Da Gyang Buba, who recalled that the Nigerian civil war started just with little skirmishes.

Meanwhile, Ohanaeze Ndigbo has expressed concern over the killing of ‘innocent Igbo traders’ in Plateau State.

The organisation, in a letter to the South-East governors, sought an urgent measures, to stop the killings.

The letter was signed by its President-General, Ambassador Ralph Uwaechue measure and addressed to Anambra State Governor and Chairman of the South-East Governors Forum, Mr. Peter Obi.

It reads in part: “We have all heard with great concern of the brutal and intensified massacre of innocent Igbo traders in Plateau State, as the latest episode involving over 40 lives is but an escalation of earlier attacks and destruction of Igbo life and property.

“It is clearly timed to take serious measures to put an end to this recurrent, dastardly exercise. I will appreciate an early communication, possibly a meeting with Your Excellency in Awka, to strategise on what Ohanaeze and our governors could do.”

Uwaechue also disclosed that Ohanaeze had, in the same vein, written the Council of Traditional Rulers in Igbo land through the Traditional Ruler of Awka, Anambra State, Gibson Nwosu, calling for collaboration to stop killings in Jos.

Also on Monday, the Igbo Youth Movement, released the names of nine of the killed traders and warned that it could carry out a reprisal measure if the attacks on the Igbo continued in Jos.

“Igbo have lost several lives in Plateau since the crises erupted in 2008. But the last round of crisis is a clear indication that Igbo are now the targets for such brutal and inhuman killings,” the IYM President, Rev. Elliot Ukoh, said.

He, however, advised that measures be put in place “to check such killings because Igbo youths may not tolerate it if it happens again.”

Posted: at 18-01-2011 11:51 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mykelly at 18-01-2011 02:19 PM (13 years ago)
okay
Posted: at 18-01-2011 02:19 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- adams933 at 19-01-2011 10:01 AM (13 years ago)
that is if any of the troublemakers will here you guys. JOS I wonder, would there ever be peace, I pray for peace to be restored.
Posted: at 19-01-2011 10:01 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Pointzero at 19-01-2011 10:49 AM (13 years ago)
dis kind fight self, e don tire me oohh

Posted: at 19-01-2011 10:49 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- 19417 at 19-01-2011 11:02 AM (13 years ago)
[color=red] D....E....L....I....V....E....R....A....N....C....E [/color] by fire OH!!!!!!!!! LORD
Posted: at 19-01-2011 11:02 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- kooldemsy at 19-01-2011 01:11 PM (13 years ago)
JOS abi PLATEU State, we go soon delete una from Nigeria.
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:11 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming

1. Netizens Knock Tinubu’s Aide, Onanuga Over Comment On Yahaya Bello Arrest

2. Isaac Fayose Reacts To Trending Video Of A Crossdresser In A Police Station

3. VID: Tiktoker Nickie DaBarbie Accuses Singer, Skiibi Of Attempting To Use Her For Ritual

4. Is It Normal For A Man To Wash His Partner's Pant? - Actor Adeniyi Johnson Asks

5. Check Out These Nollywood Actors Who Ventured Into Music

6. Controversial Singer, Portable Celebrates Wife, Bewaji On Her Birthday, Shares Lovely Photos

7. Nigeria Correctional Service Refutes Claims That Bobrisky Was Moved From Ikoyi Prison To Kiriki

8. "I’m Ready To Help Burna Boy If He Is Respectful" –Brymo Throws Shade

9. I Wish They'll Bring Back Those Days When Men Will Go To War And Never Return - Woman Blows Hot

10. Tragedy As Kenyan Defence Chief, 9 Other Senior Officers Perish In Helicopter Crash

11. Lagos Govt Arrests 25 Suspected Miscreants, Including Lebanese Squatting Under Bridges

12. A Man Who Marries A Woman Who Twerks Online For A Living Is A Fool Says Solomon Buchi

13. Grandmother Arrested For Locking Up Her Grandchildren In A House In Lagos

14. IGP Withdraws Policemen Attached To Wanted Ex Kogi Gov. Yahaya Bello

15. Actress Etinosa Rants About Irresponsible Parents

16. Mother Who Admitted Smothering Her 2month Old Baby To Death With Pillow While High On Meth

17. How Bandits Storm Kaduna Community In Fresh Attack, Killed 23 Persons

18. Banner Calling Out "Home Wrecker" With Her Face & Work Place Display On Plastered By A Roadside

1. Body of Makeup Artiste, Abigail Frederick, Who D!ed in Boat Mishap With Jnr Pope Exhumed

2. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

3. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

4. U.S-Based Model's Accidental Post Of Her With Davido In A 'Cozy" Mood Sparks Rumors(Photos)

5. 18-Yr-Old Usman Umar To Be Arrested For Fatal Stabbing Of Friend, Usman Abubakar In Adamawa

6. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

7. "Why Zubby Michael Won’t Dare Mourn Junior Pope" - Actress Angela Okorie

8. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

9. Embarrassing Moment Lady Was Busted For Lying During Her Testimony in Church (Video)

10. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model