FBI wants 26-year old Nigerian scammer

Date: 19-01-2011 8:10 am (13 years ago) | Author: Lydia Anudja
[1] 2 3 4 ... 11
- at 19-01-2011 08:10 AM (13 years ago)
The Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) has demanded the extradition of a 26-year old Nigerian, Olaniyi Makinde, in connection with e-mail scams currently valued at about USD800,000.

A source at the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) said the FBI is particularly interested in Mr. Makinde, who is currently standing trial in Ondo State, because of the peculiarity of the scam method which involved remotely breaking into the accounts system of an online payroll company in California, Intuit Inc.

When contacted, the spokesperson of the EFCC, Femi Babafemi, declined to speak in details about the case but our source also said that the EFCC and the FBI have been working together on this case since last year adding that while the FBI would like to try Mr. Makinde in the US, the EFCC want him tried in Nigeria.

Amongs other charges in the 23-count charge brought against the 26-year old, the EFCC said that Mr. Makinde managed to manipulate the American online payroll system to deposit cash in his Intercontinental and Ecobank accounts in Nigeria.

“He installed malicious codes in several victims’ personal computers with which he fraudulently stole their bank information to steal $600, 000,” an official document obtained by NEXT said.

“Because of that boy, three FBI agents came to Nigeria in October. They wanted to see the person that could carry out this deal offshore,” our source at the EFCC said.

The accused, Mr. Makinde, who also goes by the aliases Olaniyi James and Andrea Bradley, recently graduated from the University of Ado Ekiti with a degree in Economics and is scheduled to take part in the compulsory National Youth Service scheme.

He however remains in the custody of Nigeria’s anti-graft agency which said that if convicted of the over 20 count charges brought against him, Mr. Makinde could serve as much as 60 years in jail.

Posted: at 19-01-2011 08:10 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- kessybee at 19-01-2011 08:31 AM (13 years ago)
“He installed malicious codes in several victims’ personal computers with which he fraudulently stole their bank information to steal $600, 000.  aah... the guy is a born criminal. 60yrs is dam too small for him... 100yrs should 'v bn ok for him
Posted: at 19-01-2011 08:31 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- stephenejiro at 19-01-2011 10:25 AM (13 years ago)
he real need to be jail oooooo for that age involving in crinimal art . God forbid ,
Posted: at 19-01-2011 10:25 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- tfortony at 19-01-2011 10:31 AM (13 years ago)
He is a criminal, he has committed a fraudulent offence, now that the FBI wants him as an expatriate
EFCC want him to face the consequence of his action, jailed for about 60yrs, while my friend here stupidly suggested 100yrs,
dont we think we should appluase him for the job well done, if we dont appreciate what we have, let does who knows the value
make the best use of it, afterall this country is not helping matter, if there is employement opportunity nobody will ever think of breaking into somebody vault, we shouldn't allow that innocent brained boy langiush in jail. even though he has committed a crime and the western world have seen the goodness him, why should we allow him to face jail term.
Posted: at 19-01-2011 10:31 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- lanudja at 19-01-2011 10:47 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: stephenejiro on 19-01-2011 10:25 AM
he real need to be jail oooooo for that age involving in crinimal art . God forbid ,
But i dnt think age has anything to do with crime.
Posted: at 19-01-2011 10:47 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 19-01-2011 10:50 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: tfortony on 19-01-2011 10:31 AM
He is a criminal, he has committed a fraudulent offence, now that the FBI wants him as an expatriate
EFCC want him to face the consequence of his action, jailed for about 60yrs, while my friend here stupidly suggested 100yrs,
dont we think we should appluase him for the job well done, if we dont appreciate what we have, let does who knows the value
make the best use of it, afterall this country is not helping matter, if there is employement opportunity nobody will ever think of breaking into somebody vault, we shouldn't allow that innocent brained boy langiush in jail. even though he has committed a crime and the western world have seen the goodness him, why should we allow him to face jail term.
So, u re saying Nigeria/EFCC shld applaud him for the crime?
Posted: at 19-01-2011 10:50 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- billy25 at 19-01-2011 11:18 AM (13 years ago)
6o yrs! for what? I think it's absolutely ridiculous to put him in prison that long just b'cos he scammed people off $600,000. EFCC how abt our 419 politicians that has various acct. abroad. This guy should be a source of cyber anti crime agent and not to b kept behind bars.
Posted: at 19-01-2011 11:18 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- jakimor at 19-01-2011 11:51 AM (13 years ago)
he is tit and an example to the west on what nigerians can do...
Posted: at 19-01-2011 11:51 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- yun104 at 19-01-2011 12:02 PM (13 years ago)
i like good brains
Posted: at 19-01-2011 12:02 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- uzjosh at 19-01-2011 12:27 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: kessybee on 19-01-2011 08:31 AM
“He installed malicious codes in several victims’ personal computers with which he fraudulently stole their bank information to steal $600, 000.  aah... the guy is a born criminal. 60yrs is dam too small for him... 100yrs should 'v bn ok for him
My dear sister........... If this Guy happen to be ur blood Brother........ woul'd u hav Sujested For The EFCC to Extend His Jail Terms to 100 yrs in Prison Huh?
Posted: at 19-01-2011 12:27 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- babs_the_man at 19-01-2011 01:15 PM (13 years ago)
I don't think this the right thing you guys should say...
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:15 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- simele at 19-01-2011 01:26 PM (13 years ago)
let them leave him alone is not the only person doing it
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:26 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- def1ined at 19-01-2011 01:28 PM (13 years ago)
Is jail really the best option? can't this brain be convinced to work for the overall good? Money is enough motivation but its not the only remuneration for intelligence pls letsz think twice.
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:28 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- sweetgift at 19-01-2011 01:33 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: lanudja on 19-01-2011 10:47 AM
Quote from: stephenejiro on 19-01-2011 10:25 AM
But i dnt think age has anything to do with crime.
True talk............u make sense jare!
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:33 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- princedafe at 19-01-2011 01:34 PM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- tianoroyalz at 19-01-2011 01:35 PM (13 years ago)
d guy shud b made part of d crime detention agency,aftall he waz jobless,n gat sumtyn upstairs wch is required 4rm people lyk him.plz letz not jail him
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:35 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- aymondw at 19-01-2011 01:41 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: uzjosh on 19-01-2011 12:27 PM
Quote from: kessybee on 19-01-2011 08:31 AM
My dear sister........... If this Guy happen to be ur blood Brother........ woul'd u hav Sujested For The EFCC to Extend His Jail Terms to 100 yrs in Prison Huh?

We'll never move forward in dis country. until, we stop supporting dis kind of evil people. Why must you support ppl who get joy from making other ppl cry? Bros, U r absolutely wrong asking dis kind of question.
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:41 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- hdeeman at 19-01-2011 01:42 PM (13 years ago)
i will say that you guy are fools, all of you saying that it is good to jail the guy, do you think that US is looking for him to jail him?
they know that for someone to do such thing, that he must be unique and very intelligent.
Bet me, if they take the boy to US, believe me, that guy will not spend more than two weeks in prison.they only want to make use of what he has.
you guys talk as if you don,t know USA, and their ways.
last year there was this Chinese boy who pasted on U tube how he  break APPLE security,US went to china to take him, and Chinese government noticed on time and refused, they gave the guy a lot of offer, the guy was only 14yrs.
forget US we know them very well. no bi today.
do you think nigerian do scam, what nija boyz does is small scam, all this site you see on net, like workathome, payperclikc , online job, so many, you can Google it.
those guys make milllions yearly, but US is not after them,
the most stupid thing Nigeria will do is to leave that guy for them without them dropping something reasonable.
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:42 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- DDavou at 19-01-2011 01:44 PM (13 years ago)
He is a celebrity in crime so i  think he needs to be punished for such a crime. Haba USD 600, 000 is too much money. still they still want to work with him so he can make them Bankrupt.
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:44 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Ascondy at 19-01-2011 01:46 PM (13 years ago)
nobdy holy pass jor!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 19-01-2011 01:46 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 ... 11

1. VIDEO: "You Are Driving A Ferrari Without A Hit Song" - Portable Blasts Zinoleesky

2. Punish My Abusers Within 48 Hours Or...- Student Bullied By Classmates Threatens Lead School

3. Tunde Onakoya Gets Royal Welcome As He Lands in Nigeria After Breaking Record in Chess Marathon

4. Supporters Of Embattled Ex Gov. Yahaya Bello Perform Rituals To Prevent His Arrest From EFCC

5. Actress, Peggy Ovire Reacts After Troll Said She Forced Husband Freddie Leonard To Marry Her

6. Under The Law, Once A Father Acknowledges A Child, No Third Party Can Contest It -Lawyer Slams

7. Police Parade 21 Criminal Suspects In Edo

8. Bullying: "Teach Children Love, Kindness And Empathy" – Queen Atang Urges Parents

9. Abeg Free Our Mommy of Lagos, We Need New TikTok Sounds - BBNaija's Vee Iye Speaks For Bobrisky

10. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

11. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

12. Netizens React As DeeOne Begs Phyna For Forgiveness Following His Battle With Strange Illness

13. Viral Asoebi Lady, Olivia Emmanuel Releases Over 20 Numbers of Men Sliding in Her DM

14. Multichoice Increases Prices in GOtv And Dstv Subscriptions in NIgeria

15. Federal Govt Suspends Dana Airline Indefinitely Over Safety Concerns

16. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu

8. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

9. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office