Lagos Government Starts Enforcement Of Ban On Styrofoam

Date: 18-02-2024 6:28 am (1 year ago) | Author: Mister Jay Wonder
- at 18-02-2024 06:28 AM (1 year ago)

The Lagos State government said it would start full enforcement of the ban on usage and distribution of styrofoam food containers on Monday.

The Commissioner for Environment and Water Resources, Tokunbo Wahab, said this in a statement signed by Kunle Adeshina, Director, Public Affairs of the ministry, on Saturday in Lagos.

Wahab said enforcement officers from LAGESC/KAI, Environmental Health Officials and LAWMA, Police and the Ministry would go after all those with styrofoams in their shops, stores or outlets and confiscate them.

He stressed that styrofoam usage had caused enough damage to the health of residents and the state of the environment for so many years.

“The government is determined to encourage viable options for styrofoam containers across the metropolis,” Wahab said.

He reminded market leaders that cleanliness was next to godliness and as such they must ensure that clean environment remained a priority always.

The commissioner added that the state government was disturbed about unsanitary habits in most of the markets, hence the closure of some markets across the state recently.

“The government derives no pleasure in closing peoples’ businesses, but some markets are in a sorry state because of the nonchalant attitude of the markets’ executives,” he said.

He also said there were recent reports that government officials were attacked whenever they visited markets to ascertain the sanitary levels and enforce environmental laws in markets.

“I will like to appeal to all our traders to desist from selling on the railway lines and all the roads. Also, we must stop littering our markets with wastes.

“We must segregate our wastes in our respective markets; bag our wastes and ensure we patronise PSP operators,”
Wahab said.

He stated that in few weeks time, the state government would commission the Red Rail line, expected to operate from dusk till dawn.

He added that trading activities on the railway lines was very risky and could lead to loss of lives.

Posted: at 18-02-2024 06:28 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- kp45 at 18-02-2024 06:54 AM (1 year ago)
Some people now render jobless instead of ways to mange it.
Posted: at 18-02-2024 06:54 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- SWORDMAN at 18-02-2024 07:01 AM (1 year ago)
I keep wondering what kind of cells is in the brains of all these our law makers  who are products of a broken condom?? Instead of banning and confiscate people's  goods why not increase and be more efficient in terms of waste management!  Just take for example in Europe or America once they is a carnival or Fiesta immediately after they finish the waste department will start cleaning up the streets  until everywhere is sparkling clean.same can happen to our market and street. They will be no need to run people's business down.
Posted: at 18-02-2024 07:01 AM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- fineboy77 at 18-02-2024 09:36 AM (1 year ago)
I have visited our small neighbors like Benin, Togo, Mali, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Senegal, Ivory Coast,Ghana and in all of these our ''Small'' West African neighbors, you will see people employed to clean the streets every night. You will see waste bins on the roads and the streets for waste disposal. Nigeria is not a country, it is HELL.

Posted: at 18-02-2024 09:36 AM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- Dopybadass at 18-02-2024 10:23 AM (1 year ago)
Alright
Posted: at 18-02-2024 10:23 AM (1 year ago) | Hero
- Holopid at 18-02-2024 12:29 PM (1 year ago)
Posted: at 18-02-2024 12:29 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac
- gogoman at 18-02-2024 12:41 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 18-02-2024 09:36 AM
I have visited our small neighbors like Benin, Togo, Mali, Burkina Faso, Gambia, Senegal, Ivory Coast,Ghana and in all of these our ''Small'' West African neighbors, you will see people employed to clean the streets every night. You will see waste bins on the roads and the streets for waste disposal. Nigeria is not a country, it is HELL.

Don't blame the government!! blame people like u who will steal those bins or destroy it... at first we all saw bins around lagos state wey LASMAN dey put there!! no be people like u destroy it...  OBJ planted some trees from abule egba to ota when he was in power 2001, i saw some idiotic people stealing those trees, some use car tyre to perish it..  so if to say those idiots leave the trees alone till now how will the place look now? at least better with tree  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes so blame your evil people
Posted: at 18-02-2024 12:41 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- fineboy77 at 18-02-2024 12:58 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: gogoman on 18-02-2024 12:41 PM

Don't blame the government!! blame people like u who will steal those bins or destroy it... at first we all saw bins around lagos state wey LASMAN dey put there!! no be people like u destroy it...  OBJ planted some trees from abule egba to ota when he was in power 2001, i saw some idiotic people stealing those trees, some use car tyre to perish it..  so if to say those idiots leave the trees alone till now how will the place look now? at least better with tree  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes so blame your evil people
I will speak for myself....., I have never stolen those. You that have done that before running to Venezuela when you were declared wanted by the police, please tell your goons to return the ones they couldn't sell  Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 18-02-2024 12:58 PM (1 year ago) | Addicted Hero
- gogoman at 18-02-2024 01:45 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 18-02-2024 12:58 PM
I will speak for myself....., I have never stolen those. You that have done that before running to Venezuela when you were declared wanted by the police, please tell your goons to return the ones they couldn't sell  Grin Grin Grin

i miss Venezuela so much!!
Posted: at 18-02-2024 01:45 PM (1 year ago) | Grande Master
- smart61 at 18-02-2024 04:30 PM (1 year ago)
Quote from: fineboy77 on 18-02-2024 09:36 AM
..BLAME THE PEOPLE. TRADERS IN NIGERIA ARE EXTREMELY DIRTY. THEY LITER THE STREETS WITH I DONT CARE ALTITUDE. THEY HAVE BEEN WARNED SEVERAL TIMES. SOMETIMES I BELIEVE THAT BLACK PEOPLE ARE BORN TO SUFFER. BLACKS DONT LIKE THEMSELVES
Posted: at 18-02-2024 04:30 PM (1 year ago) | Gistmaniac