Renowned Nigerian rapper and actor, Ikechukwu Onunaku, recently shed light on his experience working with record label boss D’banj during his time at MoHits Records.
In a candid conversation on media personality Daddy Freeze’s Instagram live show, Ikechukwu shared details of his interactions with D’banj.
Ikechukwu disclosed that despite being booked for performances and receiving payment for his services, D’banj would only give him a fraction of the earnings, typically around N50,000. This amount was significantly lower than what Ikechukwu felt he deserved, considering the value of the gigs, which often ranged between N1 million and N2 million.
The rapper-turned-actor further revealed that his compensation eventually increased to N150,000 after a review was initiated by D’banj’s mother. This adjustment suggests that there was a recognition of the disparity between Ikechukwu's contributions and the compensation he received.
Ikechukwu's revelation sheds light on the challenges faced by artists within the music industry, particularly concerning fair compensation and transparency in financial dealings with record label executives. His willingness to speak out about his experiences highlights the importance of addressing issues of exploitation and unfair treatment within the entertainment sector.
“When we used to go on the road, dem go pay Banga money, Banga go do like say e dey do me favour, him go give me N50k, back then I used to book like N1.5m, N1m, N2m. He increased it one time after we don fight, he increase am say ‘e talk to mummy, we go increase am to N150k,” he stated.
On decision making, Ikechukwu continued,
“Mummy is Dbanj’s mum, she was part of the record label spiritually. Ask Don Jazzy, dem no dey make decisions without momsi giving the okay for a very long time.”
Watch the video below …