Kabba riot: 7 now dead

Date: 05-02-2011 3:02 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Aliuniyi lawal
- at 5-02-2011 03:02 PM (13 years ago)
NO fewer than seven persons have been killed in Lokoja in the protest that greeted the location of the Federal University brought to Kogi State.

Three of the casualties died on Friday in Aiye-toro-Gbede in Ijumu Local Government Area of the state. However, the state chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Honourable Hassan Salawu, has said the crisis was politically motivated.

The other four casualties were recorded in Kabba.

Also, about 50 vehicles were destroyed by rampaging youths and many people injured in the crisis.

Youths from Kabba had embarked on a peaceful demonstration on Wednesday to protest the siting of the federal university in Lokoja by the state governor, Alhaji Ibrahim Idris, but by Thursday, the crisis had assumed a dangerous dimension, leaving many people, including some policemen, injured.

On Friday, the crisis spread to Aiyetoro-Gbede and Mopa Moro in Ijumu and Mopa Moro Local Government Areas respectively, resulting in the destruction of properties.

State chairman of Peoples Democratic Party, Honourable Hassan Sala-wu, disclosed that about 50 vehicles were destroyed and many people injured in the Friday crisis instigated by politicians who wanted to disrupt the senatorial primary scheduled for the day.

Salawu also informed Sunday Tribune that no election was held in the senatorial district on Friday. He declared the election purportedly held in Kabba as null and void, calling on the national secretariat to order for a fresh primary in the zone.

The state police spokesman, Mr Ajayi Okasanmi said he could not ascertain the casualty until Monday, but assured that calm had returned to the troubled spots.

Posted: at 5-02-2011 03:02 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lORDIBRAHIM at 5-02-2011 05:37 PM (13 years ago)
THIS NA MY STATE YOU THE TALK OOO
SHAI NOT KOGI
OH, YAH, ALLAHU MA DON'T LET THIS HAPPEN TO MY STATE PLEASE
THANK YOU LORD
Posted: at 5-02-2011 05:37 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- peterachor at 5-02-2011 07:59 PM (13 years ago)
God ponish satan my state is a cool state and I no say the only problem is political thoughry God must open there eyes in jesus name ooh.
Posted: at 5-02-2011 07:59 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- TOCHI4LOVE at 5-02-2011 08:44 PM (13 years ago)
 :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'( :'(
Posted: at 5-02-2011 08:44 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- FIKMORO at 5-02-2011 08:49 PM (13 years ago)
Ayie toro one of the peaceful community what happen to your pride. Huh?
Posted: at 5-02-2011 08:49 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- dirtykid at 5-02-2011 08:57 PM (13 years ago)
This game of Politics is turning something else in Nigeria, taken too many innocent lives... hmmmm na waooo !!

Posted: at 5-02-2011 08:57 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- peterachor at 5-02-2011 09:57 PM (13 years ago)
yes oohhhh
Posted: at 5-02-2011 09:57 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- emydaddy at 5-02-2011 11:04 PM (13 years ago)
I KNOW KOGI STATE AS A PEACEFUL STATE, BUT ALWAYS HOT DURING ELECTION.
Posted: at 5-02-2011 11:04 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- Mma4life at 6-02-2011 04:25 AM (13 years ago)
Heeyaaaaa God go save una. Na only ppl wey dere hands dey 4 dis killings go surffer am in Jesus name.... Inogo touch d innocient ones.
Posted: at 6-02-2011 04:25 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- truthisbitter at 6-02-2011 07:58 AM (13 years ago)
I AM FROM DELTA STATE A VERY HOT STATE....................I HAVE KNOWN KOGI STATE AS A VERY PEACEFUL STATE EVEN DURING ELECTIONS........THIS IS NOT FAIR......THE UN-NECESSARY LOSS OF HUMAN LIVES IN PARTS OF THE COUNTRY IS NOT GOOD.
Posted: at 6-02-2011 07:58 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 6-02-2011 08:22 AM (13 years ago)
what make delt very hot ? i have known delta to be very calmed and matured anyway , i lives in that area for a long time and still have some relatative there uptil date
Posted: at 6-02-2011 08:22 AM (13 years ago) | Grande Master
- JzeeWiz at 6-02-2011 08:26 AM (13 years ago)
Cant we have a peaceful STATE in this our Nigeria?
Posted: at 6-02-2011 08:26 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- JzeeWiz at 6-02-2011 08:34 AM (13 years ago)
Posted: at 6-02-2011 08:34 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- xena15 at 6-02-2011 10:12 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: JzeeWiz on  6-02-2011 08:34 AM

Posted: at 6-02-2011 10:12 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- purityjustice at 6-02-2011 10:41 AM (13 years ago)
i wonderoooo
Posted: at 6-02-2011 10:41 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ayedom at 6-02-2011 10:52 AM (13 years ago)
Ah! This one no be new tin na! Kogi na only election riot them sabi. E no peaceful reach that one at all. I wonder d kind pple dis election go produce. Kogites: rise up n uplift ur states from d pit of poverty, bad roads, poor education, social welfare n political slavery! The time is now, not another 4 yrs ooooooooooh! God bless my State!
Posted: at 6-02-2011 10:52 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- aliaaz at 6-02-2011 03:21 PM (13 years ago)
Na wah oh.

Posted: at 6-02-2011 03:21 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mallorca at 6-02-2011 04:09 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: emydaddy on  5-02-2011 11:04 PM
I KNOW KOGI STATE AS A PEACEFUL STATE, BUT ALWAYS HOT DURING ELECTION.
Exactly....Lokoja is most peaceful city in Nigeria....i have alot things over there

Posted: at 6-02-2011 04:09 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- salimabdul at 6-02-2011 04:09 PM (13 years ago)
NIGER STATE IS A PEACEFUL STATE AND A POWER STATE
Posted: at 6-02-2011 04:09 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Dikason32 at 6-02-2011 04:10 PM (13 years ago)
Kogi what's wrong?
Posted: at 6-02-2011 04:10 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie

1. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

2. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

3. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

4. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

5. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

6. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

7. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

8. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria