In a candid interview with Potpourri, Nollywood actress Mojisola Adebanjo has acknowledged that her beauty and sex appeal have significantly influenced her success in landing various movie roles.
Adebanjo shared that her physical appearance, including her facial expressions and dress sense, often play a crucial role in casting decisions. “Yes, I believe my sex appeal and beauty have contributed to securing movie roles,” she stated. “I frequently receive compliments about my attractiveness, particularly regarding how I present myself. For example, in 2021, I landed a role based on a specific look showcased in a photo that resonated with the casting team.”
Despite this, Adebanjo emphasized that her versatility is her most valuable asset as an actress. “Versatility is essential for adapting to a wide range of roles and genres,” she explained. “It allows me to connect with diverse audiences and brings depth to my characters. You can see this in my performances in ‘Farida’s Secret’ and the YouTube series ‘Oga Osas.’”
The actress, affectionately known as Jisola among her peers, also noted the impact of streaming platforms on the Nollywood industry. “Platforms like Netflix have broadened the reach of Nollywood films, offering us a global audience,” she remarked. “This exposure enhances the visibility of our films and fosters cross-cultural exchanges.”
As she continues to evolve in her career, Adebanjo emphasizes the importance of a strong work ethic and resilience in achieving success in the competitive film industry.