Yoruba Movies Are Not Popular – Powerful Uche Jumbo (Page 2)

Date: 28-02-2011 12:42 am (13 years ago) | Author: Amara
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9
- abbeyy74 at 28-02-2011 10:23 AM (13 years ago)
dis uche of a girl is so funny,well am not surprise becos mainlly looking@ her sef tell the kind of crazy person wey she go bi sef.i just wonder what she is fighting 4 now,yoruba movies and the english movies are two differnt industry,the english movies are just sucking people indirectly of their money by making their film up to part 4 or even 5 sef and teaches no sense @ all,i mean it most of the time not encouraging 4 children becos of the way the ladies dresses exposing their bodies and no more regard 4 open sex on T.V. also in the case of AKIN and POPO its true they are funny but den what sense do they sometimes teaches the children if i may ask?it is true that most of the yoruba film sometimes are too fertish but that is the truth of what is happening in nigeria unless if we are just deciving ourself,and after all sebi the so called english movies also portrate the life style of those young igbo guys who goes in2 monetry ritual all becos they so much love money 2 the extend of using their mother sef 2 make money.and dis uche that is talking sef was in one yoruba moving coming out very soon.all i can just see in her is nothing but jealoueness and pride becos the yoruba industry is now spoilling their business big time.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 10:23 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ugochuks at 28-02-2011 10:40 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abbeyy74 on 28-02-2011 10:23 AM
dis uche of a girl is so funny,well am not surprise becos mainlly looking@ her sef tell the kind of crazy person wey she go bi sef.i just wonder what she is fighting 4 now,yoruba movies and the english movies are two differnt industry,the english movies are just sucking people indirectly of their money by making their film up to part 4 or even 5 sef and teaches no sense @ all,i mean it most of the time not encouraging 4 children becos of the way the ladies dresses exposing their bodies and no more regard 4 open sex on T.V. also in the case of AKIN and POPO its true they are funny but den what sense do they sometimes teaches the children if i may ask?it is true that most of the yoruba film sometimes are too fertish but that is the truth of what is happening in nigeria unless if we are just deciving ourself,and after all sebi the so called english movies also portrate the life style of those young igbo guys who goes in2 monetry ritual all becos they so much love money 2 the extend of using their mother sef 2 make money.and dis uche that is talking sef was in one yoruba moving coming out very soon.all i can just see in her is nothing but jealoueness and pride becos the yoruba industry is now spoilling their business big time.

HELLOOOO Huh? LIL GIMP what exactly re u talking abt? tryin to fix it up as in yoruba vs igbo thin? pls make sense or shut the phyuk up!!! let the movie industry settle the diff btweem then if theres any,dont bring the igbo vs yoruba thing here abeg,just passin by anyway!!!!

Posted: at 28-02-2011 10:40 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- moniconyez at 28-02-2011 10:55 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Larrykingomoj on 28-02-2011 03:57 AM
Let us know that if we want progress we should be talking of English movies that the outside world can understand and not Youroba language which stops in the West. The youroba movies are funny but if you dont understand Youroba language you cant enjoy it and it wont go beyond Nigeria which is not a credit but a local champion movie.

FULL STOP..................
Posted: at 28-02-2011 10:55 AM (13 years ago) | Hero
- pholake at 28-02-2011 10:59 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bigbella on 28-02-2011 10:13 AM
i dont believe this  Angry
@ poster - source please?
reason why i'm saying this is because i saw a trailer of a new yoruba movie last week and she featured in it and was speaking yoruba mixed with english, i was even impressed that many ibo actors now feature in yoruba movies.
long and short of the story - another bad gossip! Angry

I want to agree with u. We have many cross-over actors/actresses. There are many of the so called 'English-speaking' big acts who have featured in Yoruba movies: Ramsey Nuouh, Emeka Ike, Omotola Jolade, Kelvin Ikeduba, Lilian Bach, Tony Umez and so on. Infact, at a time, it was the in thing!
Posted: at 28-02-2011 10:59 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Henchmann at 28-02-2011 11:00 AM (13 years ago)
I just dey pass oh,

but come to think of it, Yoruba films are filled with images such as the one UA seeing now.
TUFIAQUA
[/color][/size]
Posted: at 28-02-2011 11:00 AM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- williams100 at 28-02-2011 11:24 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dogodajiabuja on 28-02-2011 06:57 AM
watching the OSCARS few hours ago, u see how actors respect each other.
THE KINGS SPEECH crew were mainly britons yet there were no discrimination!
nigerian...when shall we learn to live humble and examplary lives!. pride! pride! pride!!!!!!!!!!

HELP ME ASK THEM.IF WE DONT TRIBAL DISCRIMINATE,WE WILL SEGREGATE,DIFFERENCIATE AND SEPERATE.EVEN THE SO CALLED AMERICA WHICH HAVE THE WORLD LARGEST MOVIE INDUSTRY WELCOMES ALL SORT OF MOVIES ON ITS BOX OFFICE.OF COURSE,NIGERIA ALWAYS HAVE SOMETHING ALOT GOING ON FOR HER.HOPE THESE SO CALLED DICTATORS WILL NOT MAKE THE ENTIRE INDUSTRY SINK TO THE BRINK OF OBLIVION....
Posted: at 28-02-2011 11:24 AM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bigbella at 28-02-2011 11:45 AM (13 years ago)
Quote from: pholake on 28-02-2011 10:59 AM
Quote from: bigbella on 28-02-2011 10:13 AM
i dont believe this  Angry
@ poster - source please?
reason why i'm saying this is because i saw a trailer of a new yoruba movie last week and she featured in it and was speaking yoruba mixed with english, i was even impressed that many ibo actors now feature in yoruba movies.
long and short of the story - another bad gossip! Angry

I want to agree with u. We have many cross-over actors/actresses. There are many of the so called 'English-speaking' big acts who have featured in Yoruba movies: Ramsey Nuouh, Emeka Ike, Omotola Jolade, Kelvin Ikeduba, Lilian Bach, Tony Umez and so on. Infact, at a time, it was the in thing!

@pholake- very true !!!
Posted: at 28-02-2011 11:45 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- genyb2k at 28-02-2011 11:55 AM (13 years ago)
YORUBA MOVIES MAKE SENSE DAN ENGLISH FILM,ENGLISH FILM BASED THERE STORY ON LOVE MOSTLY.BUT YORUBA ALWAYS HAV DIFFERENT LINE,AND TALKING ABT YORUBA MUST WE ALWAYZ SPEAK BORROWED LANGUAGE,WHY ARE WE NOT PROUD OF OUR OWN LANGUAGE.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 11:55 AM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- Eucharia at 28-02-2011 12:12 PM (13 years ago)
Let us know that if we want progress we should be talking of English movies that the outside world can understand and not Youroba language which stops in the West. The youroba movies are funny but if you dont understand Youroba language you cant enjoy it and it wont go beyond Nigeria which is not a credit but a local champion movie.

you are very correct, 100%
Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:12 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- pholake at 28-02-2011 12:15 PM (13 years ago)

Have u not been watching Indian movies especially those of the 80s? Were they speaking English? What of core Chinese films that gained popularity some years back? I think all Yoruba films producers need do is to improve on the subtitle among other production/technical issues and their films can go places too.....
Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:15 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Eucharia at 28-02-2011 12:25 PM (13 years ago)
yoruba movies did not go beyound Nigeria but English movies is all over the world, so yoruba actors and actress should stop making unecessary noise becos there is no way they can compare youruba movies to English movies.there is a big difference, English movies is the best not Yoruba, local movies, apart from Yoruba people, is only few Nigerains that can watch yoruba movies, is not every body that is interested in watching their movies.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:25 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- abbeyy74 at 28-02-2011 12:28 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: ugochuks on 28-02-2011 10:40 AM
Quote from: abbeyy74 on 28-02-2011 10:23 AM

HELLOOOO Huh? LIL GIMP what exactly re u talking abt? tryin to fix it up as in yoruba vs igbo thin? pls make sense or shut the fcuk up!!! let the movie industry settle the diff btweem then if theres any,dont bring the igbo vs yoruba thing here abeg,just passin by anyway!!!!
so why just passing by u have 2 finish what u just stated so becos i was talking generally and u are so rude 2 come out and yarn nonsense from ur mouth becos u have no home training,well if the monetry fetish part is what is giving u head ache den i will advice u change from ur bad ways before ita too late 4 u.pls apology 2 all other reasonable and respectful igbos in the house apart from this ugochuks guy,i only commented according 2 the topic of the issue that says Yoruba movies are too fertish and not popular becos i see noting to be fighting over or compiting about in the movie industry since we are representing one nigeria in the world Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:28 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- pholake at 28-02-2011 12:35 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Eucharia on 28-02-2011 12:25 PM
yoruba movies did not go beyound Nigeria but English movies is all over the world, so yoruba actors and actress should stop making unecessary noise becos there is no way they can compare youruba movies to English movies.there is a big difference, English movies is the best not Yoruba, local movies, apart from Yoruba people, is only few Nigerains that can watch yoruba movies, is not every body that is interested in watching their movies.

What of hausa and igbo films? I believe for her to be comparing English with only Yoruba movies, then Yoruba movies have gained some form of prominence.........and they can go places too if they decide to adjust a few things..........By large, they need not tear their house (Nollywood) apart.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:35 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Karmen at 28-02-2011 12:42 PM (13 years ago)
So....I'm not Yoruba but I do love their movies when their subtitled...Can't we all just get along...must we infuse tribalism in our way of life....Anyways just wanted to tell y'all to watch out for "Return of Jenifa"...lool...Can't wait!!! Wink

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdIS6BynWw8" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">The official Trailer for The Return of Jenifa by celebregion.com</a>
Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:42 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- DEYE at 28-02-2011 12:44 PM (13 years ago)
Dem say yorub a drama dey make sence, na wich kind local sencen dem dey make, abeg make dem pak deir locality go conner, 2 tok of wot Uche jumbo said, said wot hav 2 b said it nt mater of tribalism nollywood is nt 4 igbos alone, nollywood represent d whole Nigeria, i dont no y d local chamopions shud b raisin deir sholders, 2 me dere's no standered of comperism, so lets nt b trabalistic lets realistic.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:44 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- bigdoyin86 at 28-02-2011 12:55 PM (13 years ago)
uche jumbo if u dnt have better things to say then u shut up ur mouth. some yoruba movies are far better than the rubbish english nollywood movies. i wonder y the discrimination.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 12:55 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- livingday at 28-02-2011 01:16 PM (13 years ago)
From economic point of view I think the yoruba films stand to make more money if they have english version. Most yoruba actors and actresses can speak fluent english. They should also look beyond their local market towards international market by making both yoruba and english versions. It's not easy watching interesting movie and be reading subtitles. It's quite a stress!
Posted: at 28-02-2011 01:16 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- marly at 28-02-2011 01:55 PM (13 years ago)
Na wetin una dey act way una no wan let person hear word again, English vs Yoruba
Posted: at 28-02-2011 01:55 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- lanudja at 28-02-2011 02:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: pholake on 28-02-2011 12:15 PM

Have u not been watching Indian movies especially those of the 80s? Were they speaking English? What of core Chinese films that gained popularity some years back? I think all Yoruba films producers need do is to improve on the subtitle among other production/technical issues and their films can go places too.....
U re very correct... Thre's nothing wrong wit yoruba movies as long as it is bn interpreted. Re we English pple? even thou its a general language. Till 2moro most countries still speak their dialects in their films e.g Indian... So, we shldnt prove too over civilized.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:05 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- eomo at 28-02-2011 02:07 PM (13 years ago)
This na the issue for Nigeria oh. Development go come when the people don ready to stay and live together as one. Make we no fight ourselves oh. Even Bible talk say nothing go fit stop people wey unite make them no achieve wetin them think
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:07 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
1 [2] 3 4 5 ... 9