Yoruba Movies Are Not Popular – Powerful Uche Jumbo (Page 3)

Date: 28-02-2011 12:42 am (13 years ago) | Author: Amara
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 ... 9
- oyinasma at 28-02-2011 02:07 PM (13 years ago)
Yoruba movie is more meaningful than English movies which makes no sense. why must we use a borrowed language to expressed our self unlike the Indians they use their language and are more popular so let us make use of our dialect and grow and not someone else language.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:07 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- lanudja at 28-02-2011 02:14 PM (13 years ago)
Whether English, Yoruba, Igbo or Hausa film. Its all one Nigeria...
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:14 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- mediaexcell at 28-02-2011 02:18 PM (13 years ago)
Well I never watch any Yoruba movie, didnt even know they were also part of nollywood..u guys should settle diffs. Respect is reciprocal.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:18 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 28-02-2011 02:31 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: meetashley on 28-02-2011 12:42 AM

Uche Jombo has finally broken the silent.  English and Yoruba Nollywood accord each other on who will respect who. . The eloquent English speaker spoke to THE REPORTER on the vexing issue, at the last BON award, after an ego flaunting incident had occurred between the Yoruba and English actors/actresses, who were at Ijebu- Ode and Abeokuta for the award ceremony.

“Organizers said I should speak on behalf of Nollywood.So I refused to speak at the thank-you dinner. I am too young to speak for this industry that is how I was brought up by the elders in the industry. I am not scared of speaking in public but I won’t allow myself to be pushed around. How could somebody just call me in the middle of an event to perform such a task I won’t allow such person to get to my tangent.”

You talked about the ego thing or the lack of respect that is between Yoruba speaking and English speaking acts. As long as I am concerned, the reverse is the case. This is because; I never watch their movies, since I don’t understand their language. The few I recognize, I greet them when I see them. But when most of them (Yoruba actors) see us (English Speaking actors) they always put up this attitude that says we must be the first to greet them. And so long as I am concerned, they do not respect us at all.” They think they are better than us. Our (English Nollywood) Industry is popular in other countries; theirs (Yoruba Nollywood) is popular only but in Nigeria, western part of Nigeria to speak out loud. Why are they so proud? I am not a hater but nobody should push me so hard; Said Uche.

"Why Should The Nigerian Movie Industry Be As An Environment Where People Rob Shoulders With Others? The Major Setback We Have In Nigeria Today Is, We Apply Irrational And Unnecessary Politics In Everything We Do. If Only Nigeria Would Do Without Senseless Politics For Just A Second, We Shall All Get Along Well; Culture, Religion And Ethnicity Regardless, We Are Nigerians"

CJ, 2011.

Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 28-02-2011 02:32 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: masses1971 on 28-02-2011 03:36 AM
I guess this is part of the cold rivalry between the Yoruba and Igbo in Lagos.However the fact remains that i have seen Americans watching English speaking Nigerian movies here in the states and not Yoruba movies which portray elements of immorality and fetishists.

"Why Should The Nigerian Movie Industry Be As An Environment Where People Rob Shoulders With Others? The Major Setback We Have In Nigeria Today Is, We Apply Irrational And Unnecessary Politics In Everything We Do. If Only Nigeria Would Do Without Senseless Politics For Just A Second, We Shall All Get Along Well; Culture, Religion And Ethnicity Regardless, We Are Nigerians"

CJ, 2011.

Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:32 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 28-02-2011 02:34 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: deboalabi262 on 28-02-2011 01:15 AM
Lol, So Nollywood has got 2 factions now -Yoruba and English Nollywood. What of Igbo and Hausa Nollywood  Huh? Huh? Huh?  Uche or what is your name again, eschew tribal and bitter sentiments in Nollywood.......

"Why Should The Nigerian Movie Industry Be An Environment Where People Rob Shoulders With Others? The Major Setback We Have In Nigeria Today Is, We Apply Irrational And Unnecessary Politics In Everything We Do. If Only Nigeria Would Do Without Senseless Politics For Just A Second, We Shall All Get Along Well; Culture, Religion And Ethnicity Regardless, We Are Nigerians"

CJ, 2011.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:34 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 28-02-2011 02:40 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: okwas on 28-02-2011 09:14 AM
what are they fighting for ,nawaooooo for them ooooooooooooooo

"My Brother Ask Them! Even At This Present Stage, Still back and forth, It's A Shame That We Are Yet To Realized That We Are A Multi-Cultural Society"...............

CJ, 2011.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:40 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 28-02-2011 02:41 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abbeylincoln1 on 28-02-2011 09:30 AM
She is not right but absolutely damn wrong, she is embittered, jealous, i seems not to know her problem, what kind of popularity was she talking about? popularity ko! stupidilarity ni!  let her go and act in her own native language as well if she is uncomfortable with yoruba film successes. yoruba actors start video and tv film production in Nigeria years back even when she was still a kid 'girl' and the yoruba actors should be given kudos, thumb-up for that wonderful feet. i cherished my culture and i won't in any way allow anybody where ever you may come from undermined my 'culture' because its a cherished heritage (ohun ani la naani). So miss jumbo or jombo go get a life. ok        

"Even At This Present Stage, Still back and forth, It's A Shame That We Are Yet To Realized That We Are A Multi-Cultural Society"

CJ, 2011.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:41 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 28-02-2011 02:42 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Ascondy on 28-02-2011 08:35 AM
Ok, he be like say naija actors and actress ego done d too much mostly the eng speaking one,,,,,,,,,,, i no dey watch naija movies again.

"Even At This Present Stage, Still back and forth, It's A Shame That We Are Yet To Realized That We Are A Multi-Cultural Society"

CJ, 2011.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:42 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DMG17 at 28-02-2011 02:44 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: williams100 on 28-02-2011 11:24 AM
Quote from: dogodajiabuja on 28-02-2011 06:57 AM
watching the OSCARS few hours ago, u see how actors respect each other.
THE KINGS SPEECH crew were mainly britons yet there were no discrimination!
nigerian...when shall we learn to live humble and examplary lives!. pride! pride! pride!!!!!!!!!!

HELP ME ASK THEM.IF WE DONT TRIBAL DISCRIMINATE,WE WILL SEGREGATE,DIFFERENCIATE AND SEPERATE.EVEN THE SO CALLED AMERICA WHICH HAVE THE WORLD LARGEST MOVIE INDUSTRY WELCOMES ALL SORT OF MOVIES ON ITS BOX OFFICE.OF COURSE,NIGERIA ALWAYS HAVE SOMETHING ALOT GOING ON FOR HER.HOPE THESE SO CALLED DICTATORS WILL NOT MAKE THE ENTIRE INDUSTRY SINK TO THE BRINK OF OBLIVION....

CJ, 2011.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:44 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DELAT at 28-02-2011 02:57 PM (13 years ago)
Yeah!Yoruba are soo proud of their language and that is good,why can't you be proud of your's too?I was in Ney York last summer,you know what people says about these yours soo called english movies?Too loud,fettish,and full of rituals.U know it.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:57 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DELAT at 28-02-2011 02:59 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: abbeylincoln1 on 28-02-2011 09:30 AM
She is not right but absolutely damn wrong, she is embittered, jealous, i seems not to know her problem, what kind of popularity was she talking about? popularity ko! stupidilarity ni!  let her go and act in her own native language as well if she is uncomfortable with yoruba film successes. yoruba actors start video and tv film production in Nigeria years back even when she was still a kid 'girl' and the yoruba actors should be given kudos, thumb-up for that wonderful feet. i cherished my culture and i won't in any way allow anybody where ever you may come from undermined my 'culture' because its a cherished heritage (ohun ani la naani). So miss jumbo or jombo go get a life. ok        
Posted: at 28-02-2011 02:59 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DMG17 at 28-02-2011 03:03 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: genyb2k on 28-02-2011 11:55 AM
YORUBA MOVIES MAKE SENSE DAN ENGLISH FILM,ENGLISH FILM BASED THERE STORY ON LOVE MOSTLY.BUT YORUBA ALWAYS HAV DIFFERENT LINE,AND TALKING ABT YORUBA MUST WE ALWAYZ SPEAK BORROWED LANGUAGE,WHY ARE WE NOT PROUD OF OUR OWN LANGUAGE.

"No Politics Sustains Without A Respected And Observed Constitution. No Society Exists Without Culture. The Yorubas And The Benins Are The Most Cultural People In Nigeria. They Define Their Culture In All Aspect Of Their Lives. This Is Their Custom And We Have To Respect That"

CJ, 2011.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 03:03 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DELAT at 28-02-2011 03:04 PM (13 years ago)
It is you people that want to be part of England.In Europe here,every country speaks their own language,so try yours too.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 03:04 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- DMG17 at 28-02-2011 03:05 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: lanudja on 28-02-2011 02:14 PM
Whether English, Yoruba, Igbo or Hausa film. Its all one Nigeria...

"No Politics Sustains Without A Respected And Observed Constitution. No Society Exists Without Culture. The Yorubas And The Benins Are The Most Cultural People In Nigeria. They Define Their Culture In All Aspect Of Their Lives. This Is Their Custom And We Have To Respect That"

CJ, 2011.

Posted: at 28-02-2011 03:05 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 28-02-2011 03:09 PM (13 years ago)
She is perfectly right
Posted: at 28-02-2011 03:09 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- popo2009 at 28-02-2011 03:11 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: Larrykingomoj on 28-02-2011 03:57 AM
Let us know that if we want progress we should be talking of English movies that the outside world can understand and not Youroba language which stops in the West. The youroba movies are funny but if you dont understand Youroba language you cant enjoy it and it wont go beyond Nigeria which is not a credit but a local champion movie.
You're right
Posted: at 28-02-2011 03:11 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- DELAT at 28-02-2011 03:21 PM (13 years ago)
It is beyond the border,they watch yoruba movies in Benin Republic,Togo and most of west Africa countries and even in state(,U.S )because it is subtittle in English.Benin Rep. and Togo are having their own Yoruba,they called them Anago.
Posted: at 28-02-2011 03:21 PM (13 years ago) | Upcoming
- KWINELI at 28-02-2011 03:35 PM (13 years ago)
She's stupid. Does she have movies made for her tribe? The normal Nigerian movie is for everyone, it's only Yorubas and Hausas that have their movies and is well known to them. If everyone can speak yoruba, i think it'll be more famous. 
Posted: at 28-02-2011 03:35 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
- adyus at 28-02-2011 03:37 PM (13 years ago)
for god sake nigerians,where as our pride gone...who cares if d americans or d europeans watch nigerian movies,so long as it satisfies d yoruba speakng nigerians den no qualms,d indians speak deir lang nd deir movies fly beyond their country even deir continent..........its 1stly 4 da satisfactn of nigerian b4 anybodyelse............. Tongue
Posted: at 28-02-2011 03:37 PM (13 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 [3] 4 5 6 ... 9