Talk To The Hands (The Silent Treatment)............ (Page 2)

Date: 25-03-2011 12:27 pm (13 years ago) | Author: Obiajunwa
1 [2] 3 4
- bittersweet at 25-03-2011 01:05 PM (13 years ago)

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:05 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 25-03-2011 01:06 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 25-03-2011 01:01 PM
Quote from: divineproject on 25-03-2011 12:57 PM
Quote from: bittersweet on 25-03-2011 12:31 PM
Silence is the most perfect expression of scorn.

but this is really a relationship killer, or dont you think so?

It is!And when it comes from a woman, guys should be alerted that the relationship may hit the rocks sooner then they think!

That means women can get more attention by using the silent treatment than by shouting and crying?

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:06 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- dirtykid at 25-03-2011 01:06 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: xter on 25-03-2011 12:38 PM
Dis self titled silent treatment is best and mostly used by men(if u get ur facts and findings right)

How many men will feel jittery bcos of a certain woman's silence?

Believe me ma'am, it works for men far more than d women

True Word Bro !!

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:06 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- yukicares4u at 25-03-2011 01:08 PM (13 years ago)
hahaha...i guex its just a rude way of avoiding/stopping arguments from escalating.... Wink
Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:08 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bittersweet at 25-03-2011 01:09 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 25-03-2011 01:06 PM

It is!And when it comes from a woman, guys should be alerted that the relationship may hit the rocks sooner then they think!

That means women can get more attention by using the silent treatment than by shouting and crying?

In reality they don't, because most of guys don't realize the gravity of the situation when the woman gives them
that treatment! And when they do, it's usually too late!

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:09 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- dirtykid at 25-03-2011 01:12 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 25-03-2011 12:46 PM
Quote from: dirtykid on 25-03-2011 12:30 PM
hmmm for me, i don't see that as anything, is better to keep silent when when i'm little upset than hearing from the other side, someone shouting or talking something, even if is meaningful but at that point is meaningless to me as long as i'm in a wrong mood, I can only listen well once my mood is deactivated.

So i don't see silent as any threat.

Dorti Pikin, I mean if you are having a little problem with your baby for instance and she decides not to get in touch or make any move to make things fine, would that get to you?

Ooops, is that the kinda Silent you mean ? I got it the other way round,

Well in that case, i will take it a sign, it means she is tired of all the romance shyts we're having, everyone got his/her way of handling some personal matters. if such happened and i tried to keep in touch and she decline by been silent, I will also go silent about the matter and forget her, there's one thing, let me address it this way, is bad side of men, Most Men got this, if they will be honest, Once a man lost interest in a woman due to one thing or the other, is very very difficult to make that man come back again to the normal him in that relationship, even if he still maintain to be with the girl, He's not there anymore, he's some where outside the girl's world.

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:12 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 25-03-2011 01:15 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 25-03-2011 01:06 PM

apparentely /somehow yes

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:15 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- bittersweet at 25-03-2011 01:15 PM (13 years ago)
The silent treatment DOES NOT work. It will worsen the argument and create a hostile environment for the household and everyone in it. If u love your partner and have a commitment to the marriage/relationship, there should be nothing that stops u from communicating with your partner. The saying goes, when you've stopped talking, you've stopped trying!

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:15 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- chiglamour4u at 25-03-2011 01:16 PM (13 years ago)
is better u tell me wats wrong dan keeping silent its really a relationship killer. let me ask y will a guy or girl keep silent went their relationship is nt going well u found out there is a problem yet u can't say it out is it dat dt person is afraid or wat. am asking cos i fv experience this
Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:16 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 25-03-2011 01:17 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid on 25-03-2011 01:12 PM
Quote from: divineproject on 25-03-2011 12:46 PM
Quote from: dirtykid on 25-03-2011 12:30 PM
hmmm for me, i don't see that as anything, is better to keep silent when when i'm little upset than hearing from the other side, someone shouting or talking something, even if is meaningful but at that point is meaningless to me as long as i'm in a wrong mood, I can only listen well once my mood is deactivated.

So i don't see silent as any threat.

Dorti Pikin, I mean if you are having a little problem with your baby for instance and she decides not to get in touch or make any move to make things fine, would that get to you?

Ooops, is that the kinda Silent you mean ? I got it the other way round,

Well in that case, i will take it a sign, it means she is tired of all the romance shyts we're having, everyone got his/her way of handling some personal matters. if such happened and i tried to keep in touch and she decline by been silent, I will also go silent about the matter and forget her, there's one thing, let me address it this way, is bad side of men, Most Men got this, if they will be honest, Once a man lost interest in a woman due to one thing or the other, is very very difficult to make that man come back again to the normal him in that relationship, even if he still maintain to be with the girl, He's not there anymore, he's some where outside the girl's world.

What about when it is the man that is keeping silent now, what message is he passing across?

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:17 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- blessedme at 25-03-2011 01:19 PM (13 years ago)
DP...wat kinda silence are u talking about here
is it d malice kinda or when a little arguement transpire between them...one person suddenly becomes cold or wat?Huh?
cos from comments here i dont really know d one u are talking about
Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:19 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 25-03-2011 01:21 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 25-03-2011 01:15 PM
The silent treatment DOES NOT work. It will worsen the argument and create a hostile environment for the household and everyone in it. If u love your partner and have a commitment to the marriage/relationship, there should be nothing that stops u from communicating with your partner. The saying goes, when you've stopped talking, you've stopped trying!

BS, what does the person at the receiving end do, especially when the relationship hasnt been sealed

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:21 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- truenaija2 at 25-03-2011 01:24 PM (13 years ago)
well i dont talk when i am angry or when u r screaming untop of your voice cos i will say a lot of things that i dont mean, and the problem wont b solved i dont want to be a talkative so i talk only when i know its going to be heard and effective, my friend taught me that and its a very good thing to do,cos quarreling untop of your voice just causes aggression and someone can just carry something and stab you or hit you and i dont want to die now , so i talk in a cool atmosphere or when i know my partner is listenin
Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:24 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 25-03-2011 01:26 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: blessedme on 25-03-2011 01:19 PM
DP...wat kinda silence are u talking about here
is it d malice kinda or when a little arguement transpire between them...one person suddenly becomes cold or wat?Huh?
cos from comments here i dont really know d one u are talking about

Ble, there may or may not be an argument before he/she stops communicating.  Take for instance, the other party is in another area and the only way to communicate is through phone, you have tried to call, your call isnt being picked, you sent text, no reply and yet the person wont get across to you especially when you arent even aware of any problem btw the two of you.......

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:26 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- bittersweet at 25-03-2011 01:27 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: divineproject on 25-03-2011 01:21 PM

BS, what does the person at the receiving end do, especially when the relationship hasnt been sealed

In the absence of communication ... sooner or later they will drift apart!

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:27 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- trolling at 25-03-2011 01:31 PM (13 years ago)
How can u "women" be silent when you dont know when and how to open yr mouth
Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:31 PM (13 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divineproject at 25-03-2011 01:32 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: bittersweet on 25-03-2011 01:27 PM
Quote from: divineproject on 25-03-2011 01:21 PM

I see

In the absence of communication ... sooner or later they will drift apart!

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:32 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- sophiebaby at 25-03-2011 01:33 PM (13 years ago)
My Say To Dp's Question is this

The silent treatment is an extremely malignant pattern of behavior meant to convey anger, hurt, and rage. The recipients of this are often unclear about why they are being singled out for this. Often times, the reason are petty. This is malignant because it creates tension, guilt and even paranoia within the relationship.

Many times the person who uses stonewalling learned it during childhood. Its learned within a family system that did the same thing. Often, its a power play, designed to get others to "apologize" for the supposed offense. In the power play, there is a struggle within the mind of the individual using stonewalling, to see who can hold out the longest. This is ridiculous and damaging to relationships.

let them be. If you want, you can make one more attempt to communicate but, assuming the person still refuses, leave him/her to his/her own turmoil. Don't make this your problem.

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:33 PM (13 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- divineproject at 25-03-2011 01:35 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: trolling on 25-03-2011 01:31 PM
How can u "women" be silent when you dont know when and how to open yr mouth

I guess that would make it more effective becos a lot of men think women cant do without talking........Trolling, talk to the hand jor.......... Tongue Tongue

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:35 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
- divineproject at 25-03-2011 01:37 PM (13 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 25-03-2011 01:33 PM
My Say To Dp's Question is this

The silent treatment is an extremely malignant pattern of behavior meant to convey anger, hurt, and rage. The recipients of this are often unclear about why they are being singled out for this. Often times, the reason are petty. This is malignant because it creates tension, guilt and even paranoia within the relationship.

Many times the person who uses stonewalling learned it during childhood. Its learned within a family system that did the same thing. Often, its a power play, designed to get others to "apologize" for the supposed offense. In the power play, there is a struggle within the mind of the individual using stonewalling, to see who can hold out the longest. This is ridiculous and damaging to relationships.

let them be. If you want, you can make one more attempt to communicate but, assuming the person still refuses, leave him/her to his/her own turmoil. Don't make this your problem.

Thank you Sophie..............but this means that each time this happens, a relationship is about to hit the rock..........so sad

Posted: at 25-03-2011 01:37 PM (13 years ago) | Hero
1 [2] 3 4