Curfew set in Nigerian city of Jos after clashes (Page 5)

Date: 28-11-2008 8:52 pm (15 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7
- SAmyrocko at 1-12-2008 01:05 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: makanzy on  1-12-2008 11:21 AM
personally I believe the time has come to split this God forsaking country. In this day and age when we should be seeking for greater things in life, we are stuck dealing with this crap from these uneducated fools. At this point it is obvious that the hausa muslim do not like anybody who is not one of them, so I do not understand why they keep wanting one Nigeria
They are using one Nigeria to confuse the people from other part of Nigeria.. Right from time Hausa's have long heard discrimination in them. It has been in them for long and they don't want to let an Ibo man to rule Nigeria cos they are afraid that the person might just go there and creat another conutry.

Posted: at 1-12-2008 01:05 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- efeluke at 1-12-2008 01:15 PM (15 years ago)
Oh God Almighty let those Northerner perpetuating this evil never go on punished, as they delight in sucking Innocent’s blood in the name of religion, they will surely reap the rewards of this evil be committed.

Oh Southerner, the Lord God, the creator Haven and Earth is our strength, for he will delivered us from the hands of our enemies (The Northerner), who has turned themselves as the Goliath of Old, uses little excuses and opportunities to fight us. The David who will destroy them with just a stone is on the way.
Posted: at 1-12-2008 01:15 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- 0077 at 1-12-2008 02:31 PM (15 years ago)
I thought, Nigeria is above this already. But the  the thought disolved in my mouth after had this.

What Nigerian Religious Leaders, teaching their members?
Is there any reward for amount of people you kill before leaving the world?
Is human lives not valuable any more?
Is there no option to conflict?
Is peace became an abomination in our society?

I think, there is an option to conflict. Which is peace...
I hereby recomend the life of Martin Luther King Jnr, for Nigerians to learn from and his six principle of non-violence.
We should all have at back of mind that, if you make peace and I make peace, there will peace in Nigeria.

Posted: at 1-12-2008 02:31 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- gladysolu at 1-12-2008 02:53 PM (15 years ago)
 http://[img]http://[color=red]:-*-*Evil things is happening in Nigeria now, every body want to make it in a few minutes, some kill to make money, some do all kind of thing to become a millionaire. Nigeria need powerful prayer warrior so that God almighty we have mercy on them. Say Amen  :'( :'( ;D :o ::) :)[/b][/b][/color][/img]
Posted: at 1-12-2008 02:53 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- folux_4real at 1-12-2008 07:38 PM (15 years ago)
Huum!, i saw people crying uncontrolable, oh God have mercy on us and let ur peace be on us. We ned govt. to stand on our aids so that all such bad thing wan't happen or be reduced.God will be with thepeople affected.
Posted: at 1-12-2008 07:38 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- sadiyyus at 1-12-2008 09:24 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: iduobanyi on  1-12-2008 12:42 PM
Killing of innocent people is anti- God in all religions including Islam. Islam is however the hated religion that gets the 'guilty' verdict each time. Members of two opposing political parties are killing oneanother in a "do or die" electoral arrangement established by a Christain Political President - OBJ. No one is calling OBJ because he is not a Muslim! 'Terrorism' has been in Westerners' dictionary before Islam. When terrorism reigned in Northern Island by IRA, and in Germany against Jews, the culprits were not called "Christain Terrorists". Now if a Muslim man slaps his son or wife, he is called 'Islamic Terrorist'.  Manufacturers, sellers and distributors of weapons are the fundamental cause of terrorism, and not Islam. Islamic books including Qur'an are now on internet and translated to english and other languages. Everyone can read and understand it without necessarily believing in it. No one should be hoodwinked that Islam supports criminality in any form. Self defense is a universal doctrine embedded in all religions. This should be separated from outright criminality. The way to handle evil acts is to condemn the evil activists and treat them as common criminals without refrence to their religion. In this way, the criminals are not likely to get support from anyone, as decent people don't like to be associated with criminals. Religion has been used to deceive, cheat, and steal. In the case of Nigeria, practitioners of Islam and Christainity were found guilty of freighting Nigeria's money abroad and have contributed to the poverty that has reduced Nigerians to hustlers without limit. All people involved in Jos mayhem are children of evil and should be treated as common criminals. I don't care what religion they profess or pretend to practice. Who so ever takes a life has lost right to live!
Posted: at 1-12-2008 09:24 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- bish at 1-12-2008 09:31 PM (15 years ago)
ADULTS BEHAVE LIKE ANIMALS ONLY IN NAIJA. IT GRIEVES ME TO SEE THAT WHILE CIVILIZED COUNTRY THINK OF EXPLORATION TO OTHER PLANETS, WE THINK OF BLOODS TO SPILL.300 DEATHS FOR ELECTION RESULTS THAT HAS NOT BEEN REALEASED IS ABSOLUTE NONSENSE.WELL MAY THOSE THAT LOST THIER LIVES IN THE MAYHEM REST IN PEACE AND THE KILLERS ROT IN HELL.
Posted: at 1-12-2008 09:31 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- RAPHAELAKANGBE at 1-12-2008 09:51 PM (15 years ago)
Let' not relent in praying, it is part of the signs of the END-TIME!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 1-12-2008 09:51 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- lonelysnow at 1-12-2008 09:56 PM (15 years ago)
400 people died not four
Posted: at 1-12-2008 09:56 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- javard at 1-12-2008 10:20 PM (15 years ago)
I don't pretend to understand nd racism is among the religions in nigeria as it's far beyond me,i think it's sad that religion causes so many problem in this world of ours,out of eternaly we are here for just a blip,let's enjoy our stay!!!
Posted: at 1-12-2008 10:20 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- debel4real at 1-12-2008 10:31 PM (15 years ago)
     Hey guess !!!
Less 4get about religions crisis.
What really cause this is Politics !!! and if politics continue with this habit, we don't have anything to say rather "God forbid Party". Take care
Posted: at 1-12-2008 10:31 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- bethsy at 1-12-2008 10:34 PM (15 years ago)
 Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed Embarrassed so sad
Posted: at 1-12-2008 10:34 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- bauer75 at 2-12-2008 03:21 AM (15 years ago)
how do i start, where do i start from, whom do i blame? God, government , political supportes, political leaders, poor innocent masses, muslim followers, christian followers, muslim leaders, and christian leaders? if i were to judge only God needs to be excepted bcos He created us and all what we are fighting for and gives us free will to manage ourselves and resourses given to us but we refused. what else do u want HIM TO DO!

WE HAVE LEADERSHIP PROBLEMS BCOS THEY ARE SELF CENTRED.

THERE WAS A TIME A MAN SAID WE ARE WASTED GENERATION BUT MANY DID NOT BELIEVE BUT ITS HAPPENING NOW.

ONE FORMER HEAD OF STATES SAID ALL LEADERS NEEDS TO BE ELIMINATED INCLUDING HIMSELF SOME THINK HE WAS MAD BUT THE MAN WAS RIGHT.

ITS A TRUE THAT SOCIETY CAN NEVER BE PERFECT BUT CAN BE CONTROLLED TO SOME EXTEND IF THERE ARE GOOD PEOPLE MANAGING ITS AFFAIRS.

ALL THE LIVING FORMER AND PRESENT LEADERS NEED TO BE ELIMINATED IF NAIJA WANT TO MAKE HEADWAY.

MUSLIM, TRADITIONAL AND CHRISTIAN LEADERS ARE ROGUES BCOS THESE INNOCENT PEOPLE LOST THEIR LIVES AS A RESULT OF CHOOSING LEADERS.

POOR INNOCENT MASSES FIGHT THE OPPRESSOR CALLED LEADERS SO THAT YOUR CHILDREN CAN HAVE A BETTER TOMMORROW.

FIGHT LEADERS TO HAVE A NEW NIGERIA. REMEMBER ITS BETTER TO DIE FOR SOMETHING RATHER THAN TO DIE FOR NOTHING.
Posted: at 2-12-2008 03:21 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- blessedchidon at 2-12-2008 05:28 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: gladysolu on  1-12-2008 02:53 PM
Amen..... but u shuld be one of them
Posted: at 2-12-2008 05:28 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- bayo4u at 2-12-2008 09:40 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: debel4real on  1-12-2008 10:31 PM
     Hey guess !!!
Less 4get about religions crisis.
What really cause this is Politics !!! and if politics continue with this habit, we don't have anything to say rather "God forbid Party". Take care
u obviously dont live in jos.  which politics??!!
Posted: at 2-12-2008 09:40 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- bayo4u at 2-12-2008 10:59 AM (15 years ago)
i found this article on guardian site.. note that the people used where from niger and chad.. can u all get point that the crisis was not political but some sectors just wanting to cause trouble.

PRESIDENT Umaru Musa Yar'Adua yesterday called a halt to the move by the Governor of Plateau State, Jonah Jang, to swear in chairmen and councillors whose elections on Thursday sparked off the violence that has left the city in ruins.
The President has also directed defence and security chiefs to ensure that there are no spill over of reprisal attacks arising from the Jos crisis to any other state in the country.
Yar'Adua's action is coming on the heels of a revelation by Jang that Nigerian law enforcement agencies have apprehended some mercenaries hired from Republic of Niger and Chad for the disturbances.
Jang said this when he granted an audience to the Director-General of the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), Air Vice Marshall Mohammed Audu Bida (rtd) at his Du residence in Jos South Local Council.
Meanwhile, the National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Vincent Ogbulafor and the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole, have condemned the riot, urging religious leaders in the state to exercise restraint.
Also, the Nigeria Inter-Religious Council (NIREC) has summoned an extra-ordinary meeting of the council to address all the issues arising from the communal disturbances.
Meanwhile, first civilian governor of the state, Chief Solomon Lar has described the crisis as very unfortunate, adding that the two religions should exist harmoniously.
NIREC Executive Secretary, Ishaq Oloyede, in a statement made available to The Guardian yesterday, said the meeting would hold in Abuja tomorrow at noon.
Relatedly, the President of the Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN) and the Catholic Archbishop of Abuja, Archbishop John Onaiyekan, yesterday described as unfortunate last Friday's mayhem in Jos and called on government at all levels to intensify efforts to re-establish peace and tranquility in the state.
In a statement in Abuja, the cleric noted that it was the primary responsibility of government to ensure security of lives and property of citizens, especially through vigilance, firm and impartial enforcement of law and order, justice and good governance.
In addition to that, clerics and officials of the Nigerian Baptist Convention (NBC) condemned the mayhem, saying that if government and other stakeholders had acted fast enough the ugly situation would have been prevented.
Addressing journalists in Kaduna, NBC National President, Dr. Reuben Chuga and General Secretary, Rev. Solomon Ishola, decried the situation, appealing for peace and restraint from all residents of the state.
However, the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) yesterday asserted that only true and unbiased investigations would unravel the facts behind the crisis.
In a statement, the publicity secretary of the party, Emma Eneukwu, described the loss of lives and properties in the aftermath of the polls in the state as sad and very regrettable.
The ANPP spokesman noted that the situation would have been avoidable if those charged with the responsibility of handling the elections had done that creditably.
Also, as part of the pre-emptive attempt at staving off any possible reprisal attack in response to the disturbance in the northern state, the police authorities in Kano yesterday rolled out armoured tanks in an apparent show of force.
Meanwhile, a source told The Guardian last night that Yar'Adua felt the planned swearing - in of elected council chairmen and councillors in such a volatile environment was highly insensitive.
The President, the source, added was therefore "highly incensed that the governor could contemplate inaugurating the council heads in the face of the current development when tension was still high and people still counting their huge losses."
Yar'Adua, who spoke with Jang in a telephone conversation last night expressed disappointment at the planned move, saying that "such a move could inflame further passion if not stopped."
According to the source, "on learning that the governor was planning to inaugurate the new councils on Monday (yesterday), the President phoned him on Sunday evening to express his displeasure at such a move which could inflame further passion. He told the governor to shelve the idea.
"The President, at the weekend, also directed the Secretary to the Government of the Federation under whose purview the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) is, to ensure that efforts are made to provide relief materials for the displaced people."
To ensure that there are no reprisal attacks in other states, the President was said to have already enlisted the support of security chiefs, prominent religious, traditional rulers as well as political leaders across the country.
But Jang, at another forum yesterday, denied the reports that people were killed in a mosque during the disturbances.
The governor asserted that it was the mercenaries who killed both Moslems and Christians because as foreigners, he alleged, they could not differentiate between the adherents of the two religions.
He expressed his displeasure over what he called the nefarious activities of those who hired the mercenaries to kill and destroy property of fellow countrymen.
According to him, those who precipitated that crisis had other motives apart from political since the mayhem erupted after a free and fair election.
He commended NEMA and security agencies for their rapid response to the crisis and in keeping the situation under control.
Also receiving the Director-General of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC), Brig.-Gen. Yusuf Bomoi, at his residence, the governor condoled with the families of the three corps members who lost their lives in the crisis.
He said the state government would give their remains a befitting burial.
In a statement by Ogbulafor's Media Assistant, Chijoke Adindu, the party condemned the violence and commended Yar'Adua and Jang for their timely intervention and moves towards restoring peace and order in the state.
On his part, Bankole, in a statement by his assistant on communications, Kayode Odunaro, appealed to religious leaders in the state to exercise restraint.
Speaking during an inspection tour that took him round scenes of the mayhem in Jos, the Speaker said they were in leadership position by divine grace and should exhibit leadership trait by not joining their followers in perpetrating violence. He added not much could be achieved in a violent and crisis situation of the past few days.
Oloyede, however, said the NIREC was already in consultation with all the stakeholders in the crisis, urging them to observe absolute restraint.
He said all the stakeholders in the issue should allow for a thorough investigation and avoid acts capable of rushing into any conclusion before investigations are concluded.
Also, the Benue State chapter of the Conference of Nigerian Political Parties (CNPP) has called on the President to declare a state of emergency in Plateau State to serve as a deterrent to governors with plans to rig elections and cause mayhem in the country.
In an interview with The Guardian in Makurdi yesterday, Benue State chairman of the conference, Mr. Baba Agan, expressed regrets that an elder statesman like Governor Jang could support the massive rigging of local council polls in the state.
The CNPP said that the blame for the Jos religious crisis should be placed squarely at the doorstep of the Plateau State government for failing to observe the basic tenets of election conduct.
Yesterday, Kano appeared very calm as residents went about their normal businesses without any untoward development. For instance, major markets in the commercial city were full of activities as buyers and sellers from within and outside the city were seen conducting their businesses.
However, the police not wanting to be caught unawares, mounted serious security checks at all entries to the city.
In addition, police armed personnel carriers (APC) were seen strategically positioned at the frontage of some key public institutions like the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) and major roundabouts in the city of Kano.
Also, a senator representing Plateau North in the Senate, Dr. Gyang Dantong, has recommended the carving out of four local councils from the present Jos North as a way out of the political logjam that always characterises any council election in the area as a result of its amorphous nature.
While addressing a media briefing yesterday at the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) Press Centre in Jos, Dantong was quick to doubt if that would help the situation because, according to him, the crisis in the area has always been pre-planned and just waiting for an opportunity to trigger it.
But making reference to the violence that hit Jos, the National Chairman of Citizens Popular Party (CPP), Mr. Maxi Okwu, has said that the crisis was caused by the inability of the government to provide welfare and security to the people.
Okwu told The Guardian that there was violence, hunger, insecurity in every part of the country because the federal and state governments had failed to provide the people with security and welfare, which he said, were the basic responsibilities of the government.
Posted: at 2-12-2008 10:59 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- ebunolasunbo at 2-12-2008 11:09 AM (15 years ago)
what i discover is that;no lurv,feeling and finally no unity in this country called NI-GE-RIA.killing it wasn't a news anymoe.we re in this very Nigeria wen sum people are doing ritual by using real humanbeing just for them to have money,.i pray that ALMIGHTY GOD(ALLAH)we save us.TO ALL NIGERIAN''word of advice:we need to have human feeling''
Posted: at 2-12-2008 11:09 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- buklot14 at 2-12-2008 12:49 PM (15 years ago)
this is geting serious why do we like killing each other on religious but i believe we are serving the same God but those that are not serving the same God with us they are the one causing problem people of jos keep on praying but i pray God Almighty we guide everyone of us we not die young, people  of God pray always .
Posted: at 2-12-2008 12:49 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Adikpe at 2-12-2008 01:53 PM (15 years ago)
I am resident of Jos, and I must tell you all that the situation as of Friday/Saturday was terrible, even when the election result was not yet announced then, so even till now, nobody can tell the cause of the crisis. But thanks to God and the intervention of the military men.

Presently, normality has been restored and businesses are beginning to return to as usual.

To all of you in outside Jos, just thank God for those of us that are alive, pray for the departed souls and pray for everlasting PEACE in the city in particular and the state in general.

Thanks.
Posted: at 2-12-2008 01:53 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ikongbeh2 at 2-12-2008 02:16 PM (15 years ago)
It was a sad news. I want we Nigerians to know that it is only peace that can bring the desired progress and development. One Love, Christians and Musilms
Posted: at 2-12-2008 02:16 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7