State/Country Of Origin: Where you grew up or where your parents were born? (Page 9)

Date: 23-05-2011 9:43 am (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
1 ... 6 7 8 [9] 10
- moniconyez at 28-05-2011 03:45 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 26-05-2011 03:47 PM
Quote from: livingday on 26-05-2011 11:07 AM
Quote from: flymiss2009 on 26-05-2011 02:51 AM
I can never understand why Nigerians like to make everything so complicated. This is a simple English and understanding. Where you are from is where you were born simple. If you were born in Nigeria and your parents are from America, you will say that you are an American just because your parents are from there? Is that where your birth certificate will be found? .Where your hospital or backyard that you were born is where you are from. Your parents may or may not be from the same place. Damn! Roll Eyes

It is true of USA and Europe but in Nigeria nothing is as straight forward. Besides, some states discriminate against non-state indigenes on the basis of where your father was born and not where you were born. Call it black on black discrimination in Nigeria.
i knows quite numbers of eastern and wesern boys that enjoys the scholarship from northern sates ,i have records of sme of the at bayero university, in early 80,s just before the comming of the KHAKI BOYS and still most of those ungreateful beneficiary will be the very one to open up their dirty mouth and abuse the northerners on a flimsy excuses

SO ABOKI WHAT  BRINGS THIS KIND OF STATEMENT HERE HUH?
Posted: at 28-05-2011 03:45 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- kebella at 28-05-2011 03:48 PM (12 years ago)
aboki na get sense nah so his comments no make sense Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 28-05-2011 03:48 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- 50scent at 28-05-2011 04:46 PM (12 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 28-05-2011 04:46 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- kebella at 28-05-2011 04:48 PM (12 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 28-05-2011 04:48 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- livingday at 29-05-2011 01:37 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: AriyaToday on 28-05-2011 11:49 AM
I was born in Lagos but my Dad is Edo State. Right from my Nursery School Days, My Parents always write Edo State as my State of Origin. I grew up with the notion that Edo State is my State. When I grew older, I came across my Birth Certificate one day and found out that I was born In Lagos. Many of my friends were also born in Lagos but 98% of them claimed the States of their Fathers as their State of Origin. I have never claimed anything from the Lagos State Government though I was born in the State. I feel some laws should be implemented in Nigeria. Once you're born in State with a Birth Certificate to prove it, you should be able to claim that state as yours in any documentation. You should also be able to contest for political posts in that State. Obama became the President of the United States of America because he was born in Hawaii. His dad was from Kenya. Being born in Europe is another matter entirely. Most Europeans will still ask you where you're from originally even if you were born in Britain, France or Germany. However, you'll be allowed to aspire for Political Posts if you're born in any European Country. We need to change our mentality in Nigeria Angry Angry Angry

www.twitter.com/ariyatoday

Correct talk.
Posted: at 29-05-2011 01:37 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- purpleheart4 at 29-05-2011 11:52 AM (12 years ago)
this does not really make a difference in where i grew up or where you are from, this make me think of all (EVIL MINDED POLITICIANS), like BILL GATES, questioning where a man was born; listen people, this is GOD'S world  and we have THE RIGHT to go and live any part of this world or claim residence any where also, ONE QUESTION FOR ALL, Where ABRAHAM , DAVID ETC ETC , AND ALL  the host of men, even in our day , fighting for identity and to be identify, in that i am from here or there , they are all DEAD; DOES IT MAKE A DIFFERENCE?  does it really?
Posted: at 29-05-2011 11:52 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kenolis at 30-05-2011 02:22 AM (12 years ago)
am coming back
Posted: at 30-05-2011 02:22 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- moniconyez at 30-05-2011 09:32 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: purpleheart4 on 29-05-2011 11:52 AM
this does not really make a difference in where i grew up or where you are from, this make me think of all (EVIL MINDED POLITICIANS), like BILL GATES, questioning where a man was born; listen people, this is GOD'S world  and we have THE RIGHT to go and live any part of this world or claim residence any where also, ONE QUESTION FOR ALL, Where ABRAHAM , DAVID ETC ETC , AND ALL  the host of men, even in our day , fighting for identity and to be identify, in that i am from here or there , they are all DEAD; DOES IT MAKE A DIFFERENCE?  does it really?

YOU STILL HAVEN'T TOLD US WHERE YOU FROM
Posted: at 30-05-2011 09:32 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- frayobkk at 30-05-2011 10:23 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: AriyaToday on 28-05-2011 11:49 AM
I was born in Lagos but my Dad is Edo State. Right from my Nursery School Days, My Parents always write Edo State as my State of Origin. I grew up with the notion that Edo State is my State. When I grew older, I came across my Birth Certificate one day and found out that I was born In Lagos. Many of my friends were also born in Lagos but 98% of them claimed the States of their Fathers as their State of Origin. I have never claimed anything from the Lagos State Government though I was born in the State. I feel some laws should be implemented in Nigeria. Once you're born in State with a Birth Certificate to prove it, you should be able to claim that state as yours in any documentation. You should also be able to contest for political posts in that State. Obama became the President of the United States of America because he was born in Hawaii. His dad was from Kenya. Being born in Europe is another matter entirely. Most Europeans will still ask you where you're from originally even if you were born in Britain, France or Germany. However, you'll be allowed to aspire for Political Posts if you're born in any European Country. We need to change our mentality in Nigeria Angry Angry Angry

www.twitter.com/ariyatoday

You said it all that for that brilant comment of yours i hope goverment dey hear am
make the change those laws that concerns this

Posted: at 30-05-2011 10:23 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lmo1984 at 30-05-2011 10:50 AM (12 years ago)
I seconded Simele. chikena
Posted: at 30-05-2011 10:50 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- lmo1984 at 30-05-2011 11:33 AM (12 years ago)
I seconded Simele, chikena.
Posted: at 30-05-2011 11:33 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- emeka2020 at 30-05-2011 12:50 PM (12 years ago)
as an igbo man  where your parent come from is your origin
Posted: at 30-05-2011 12:50 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- adeslove at 30-05-2011 01:00 PM (12 years ago)
am born in kogi state but my father house wil not be forget in iwo in osun state 
Posted: at 30-05-2011 01:00 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kaluidima at 30-05-2011 02:44 PM (12 years ago)
The confusion about place of origin and place of birth is, I believe, is synonimous to Nigeria. Our fathers' place of birth and origin should not necessarily be our place of birth and origin if we were not born in the same place as our fathers. In the United States where a father was born does not necessarily count as the children's birth place. For example if a father was born in New York, and the children were born in New Jersey, Boston, Philadelphia or Nashville, each child will claim where he or she was born. As against Nigeria where the birth of a child is not entered into a data base, the United States makes provision for that. A child birth record remains permanent without any falsification. In Nigeria, the lack of data base makes room for people to claim multiple birth dates and places. And more importantly, there is the believe that everything must be tied to the father.
Even on Nigerian travel passport, even when a child was born outside Nigeria, the state of origin reads Adamawa or Lagos depending where the father was born. This is wrong. Children should be allowed to claim where they were born.
Posted: at 30-05-2011 02:44 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- kenolis at 30-05-2011 07:18 PM (12 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 30-05-2011 07:18 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- uwa190 at 30-05-2011 09:18 PM (12 years ago)
its simply where your parents are from originally
Posted: at 30-05-2011 09:18 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kenolis at 31-05-2011 03:27 AM (12 years ago)
abi?
Posted: at 31-05-2011 03:27 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Akanky at 31-05-2011 02:23 PM (12 years ago)
If ur parents are from the eastern part of the country and u were born in the north, does that make u a northerner? i believe where ur parents comes from determines ur origin and not where u wrere born.
Posted: at 31-05-2011 02:23 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- moniconyez at 31-05-2011 03:44 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: kaluidima on 30-05-2011 02:44 PM
The confusion about place of origin and place of birth is, I believe, is synonimous to Nigeria. Our fathers' place of birth and origin should not necessarily be our place of birth and origin if we were not born in the same place as our fathers. In the United States where a father was born does not necessarily count as the children's birth place. For example if a father was born in New York, and the children were born in New Jersey, Boston, Philadelphia or Nashville, each child will claim where he or she was born. As against Nigeria where the birth of a child is not entered into a data base, the United States makes provision for that. A child birth record remains permanent without any falsification. In Nigeria, the lack of data base makes room for people to claim multiple birth dates and places. And more importantly, there is the believe that everything must be tied to the father.
Even on Nigerian travel passport, even when a child was born outside Nigeria, the state of origin reads Adamawa or Lagos depending where the father was born. This is wrong. Children should be allowed to claim where they were born.

MANY PEOPLE DON LOST FOR OVERSEA, IMAGINE WETIN PERSON DEY YARN? IF THEM BORN U FOR YAKEE NA CITIZEN U BE, NO BE NATIVE.................OK?
Posted: at 31-05-2011 03:44 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- kenolis at 31-05-2011 09:40 PM (12 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin...this one na literate abi na wetin?
Posted: at 31-05-2011 09:40 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
1 ... 6 7 8 [9] 10

1. 86 Makeshift Apartments Where Tenants Pay N250,000 Annually Uncovered Beneath Lagos Bridge

2. Netizens Dig Up Tunde Ednut’s Throwback Performance At Children's Party Amidst Wizkid & Davido

3. VIDEO; Nigerian Boy Stirs Reactions After Flaunting His Older White Lover

4. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

5. Veteran Actress, Sola Sobowale Recounts Difficult Life She Lives Abroad

6. VID: Xxssive Reveals That Wizkid Might Have Been Paid to Start Fight With Davido

7. He Is Undoubtedly The 001 Of The Nigerian Music Industry – Senator Dino Melaye Gives Davido Nod

8. Former Big Brother Naija Star, Chomzy Welcomes Baby Boy With Husband

9. "Follow Due Process In Prosecuting Yahaya Bello" – Actor Segun Arinze Tells EFCC

10. EFCC Slammed With N10m Damages For Declaring Pastor, Wife Wanted Without Court Order

11. Barcelona Set To Tackle Financial Woes By Clearing Out Eight Players (Full List)

12. Edo Governor Obaseki Reveals Why He Approved N70,000 Minimum Wage

13. 'No Minimum Wage By End Of May, No Peace' – Labour Threatens Nigerian Govt

14. Phyna’s Alleged Ex Boyfriend Threatens To Expose Her To World If She Talks About Davido

15. "Why We Choose Collaboration Over Beef" – Fireboy On Why He's Working With Rema

16. Chelsea v Tottenham: English Premier League Match,Team News,Goal Scorers and Stats

1. Nigerian Tenant Discovers Landlord With Wife & Daughter, Sparks Outrage Online (Video)

2. Benin Kingdom Suspends Five Functionaries For ‘Unauthorised’ Visit To Ooni Of Ife

3. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

4. Lady Who Worked As A Maid In Saudi Arabia Narrates Her Harrowing Ordeal As Boss Impregnates Her

5. Investigation Launched Into Mysterious Death Of VGC Chairman, Gihan Mbelu In Lagos

6. I Will Reconcile Atiku And Wike If I Emerge PDP National Chairman – Suswam

7. No More Big 3 In Afrobeat, I'm On Same Level With Wizkid, Davido And Burnaboy - Rema Reveals

8. VIDEO: Singer, Davido Becomes First to Own The $500,000 2024 Rolls Royce Spectre

9. Drama As Actress, Toyin Abraham Ajeyemi Clashes With Area Boys On Movie Set (Video)

10. Wunmi Ajiboye Reunites With Estranged Husband, Segun Ogungbe, Days After Dragging Him (Video)