How Fashola pushed me into drug trafficking

Date: 17-06-2011 8:00 am (12 years ago) | Author: Peter Izu
- at 17-06-2011 08:00 AM (12 years ago)
A Lagos based trader, Quam Animashaun, 26, arrested in Lagos for trafficking in drugs has explained that his journey into drug trafficking started the day, Lagos State government demolished his shop at Idumota market.
The suspect was recently caught at the Murtala Mohammed International Airport (MMIA) Lagos with 1.550kg by operatives of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) on his way to New Delhi, Indian.
Describing the shop as the only means of his livelihood, the father of one, said’ I was forced into drug trafficking by the government. They forced me into it when my shop at Idumota was demolished. I used to sell clothes at Idumota market and I was a successful trader by all assessment. Things took a different turn when my shop was demolished and I was never compensated. At least, I deserved to be relocated to another shop or given some money. I am married with a daughter and my family must survive’.
Arguing that drug trafficking was his last option to sustain his family, he said ‘’As a hardworking man, I have tried to sustain my family but it was not easy. I was promised the sum of 2,000 dollars to smuggle the drug to Indian. My mission was to just to hand over the drug to a member of the syndicates in Indian and collect 2,000 dollars with which I intended to buy Indian fabrics, but I was apprehended at the Lagos airport. I blame the state for my woes.’’
NDLEA Spokesman Mr. Mitchel Ofoyeju said the suspect was nabbed during the outward screening of passengers on Ethiopian Airline to New Delhi, Indian.
Ofoyeju noted that the drug was intelligently concealed on the sides of his travel luggage. Describing how the suspect was arrested, the image maker said the drug was detected by officers at the luggage checking desk at the departure wing of the airport on routine checks.
He said "It took the careful search by the officers to detect the drugs. There was no information on the suspect. When they suspected that the bag contained narcotics, they had to cut the sides of the bag to recover the parcels of cocaine weighing 1.550kg."
The suspect who is currently being interrogated by narcotic officers hails from Lagos State. He resides at Ikorodu while his wife and daughter live at Ojodu Berger in Lagos.
However, Chairman of the agency, Ahmadu Giade noted that the agency would continue to protect legitimate business men and women.
"We are prepared to protect the economy from the hands of drug traffickers that launder illicit drug proceeds into legitimate businesses. The implication is that even when he sells below the cost price, he would still be at advantage while law abiding business people bear the brunt". He said that the suspect would be charged to court soon, in accordance with the NDLEA Act

Posted: at 17-06-2011 08:00 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 17-06-2011 09:04 AM (12 years ago)
if he is a sucessful trader as he claimed , trading in the drugs is not the only option for him ? atlest its only the store that was demolished and not his entire property , he should have moved to another area or relocate, anyway , i wish him the very best of luck
Posted: at 17-06-2011 09:04 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- Unikly at 17-06-2011 10:03 AM (12 years ago)
Seriously Drug Trafficking Is Not An Option...I Think The Guy Was Just Looking For How To Get Rich Quick.
Posted: at 17-06-2011 10:03 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Jeonleon at 17-06-2011 10:08 AM (12 years ago)
Mr. Animashaun, dats not an excuse.......seemed lyk u were just tryna maintain ur status as a rich trader instead of starting afresh.....
Anyways, gudluck 2 u!
Posted: at 17-06-2011 10:08 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sophiebaby at 17-06-2011 11:31 AM (12 years ago)
chai

Posted: at 17-06-2011 11:31 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- frayobkk at 17-06-2011 04:23 PM (12 years ago)
After all that story will that make him not guilty ? no ...jail is calling u man

Posted: at 17-06-2011 04:23 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- uzjosh at 17-06-2011 04:36 PM (12 years ago)
Man must survive nah.... Tongue
Posted: at 17-06-2011 04:36 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 17-06-2011 08:59 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 17-06-2011 08:59 PM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- mallorca at 25-09-2011 02:08 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 17-06-2011 09:04 AM
if he is a sucessful trader as he claimed , trading in the drugs is not the only option for him ? atlest its only the store that was demolished and not his entire property , he should have moved to another area or relocate, anyway , i wish him the very best of luck

Posted: at 25-09-2011 02:08 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- ekpelove at 25-09-2011 04:12 AM (12 years ago)

NA WOOOOO  OOOO!!!   Sorry for the shop, but u should
have rented a space else-where. You see na... illegal
quick money no good ooo.... dat  thing don land many people
for trouble.
Posted: at 25-09-2011 04:12 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- HOPEA23 at 25-09-2011 05:56 AM (12 years ago)
fake excuse

Posted: at 25-09-2011 05:56 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- aso4life1 at 3-02-2012 03:10 AM (12 years ago)
Na wa o

Posted: at 3-02-2012 03:10 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sins at 29-02-2012 12:33 PM (12 years ago)
☺/
/▌
/ \                           ok sir Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 29-02-2012 12:33 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- yungkinzli at 29-02-2012 09:44 PM (12 years ago)
Dis is non sense,Nobody can eva force u 2 do tinz out of ya own free will..... so its not an excuse
Posted: at 29-02-2012 09:44 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Kennyg428 at 2-03-2012 10:32 AM (12 years ago)
Ignorance of law isnt an excuse,& cn neva b..He was a successful trader,he couldnt afford money 4 just a shop,& im sure dat his goods were not demolished wit d building...Senseless cow,a disgrace 2 my tribe..Find anoda excuse coz dis wnt work out 4 u...

Posted: at 2-03-2012 10:32 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- danny6 at 17-05-2012 04:15 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 17-05-2012 04:15 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 30-05-2012 09:20 AM (11 years ago)
Rubbish

Posted: at 30-05-2012 09:20 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 27-08-2012 06:08 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 27-08-2012 06:08 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero