FIVE ISSUES THAT ARE MARRIAGE KILLERS IN AFRICA (Page 3)

Date: 26-07-2011 9:37 am (12 years ago) | Author: osmond eze
1 2 [3]
- donsino at 26-07-2011 10:38 PM (12 years ago)
Whatever...
Posted: at 26-07-2011 10:38 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- nice9ija at 26-07-2011 10:56 PM (12 years ago)
good job bro thx oooh,,, but you wan tell aboki wey the chop gboro evry morning and night to dey do this one?Huh? hahaha ajanni i no call ur name abeg
Posted: at 26-07-2011 10:56 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Annana at 26-07-2011 11:46 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: martha4228 on 26-07-2011 12:53 PM
My advice to young couples is simply this: Don't permit the possibility of divorce to enter your thinking. Even in moments of great conflict and discouragement, divorce is no solution. It merely substitutes a new set of miseries for the ones left behind.

Guard your relationship against erosion as though you were defending your very lives. Yes, you can make it together. Not only can you survive, but you can keep your love alive if you give it priority in your system of values.

AGREE. Most people are not aware of this.
Posted: at 26-07-2011 11:46 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Annana at 26-07-2011 11:47 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: eomo on 26-07-2011 12:43 PM
Marriages break very often now because people tend to marry 'who they think they love' and after few years they say "the spark is not there any more". You should not marry the one you love but love the one you marry. Look at the arranged marriages that took place in the times of our grand father, it last till death because they loved the one they married and also during that time divorce was not celebrated as it is today. Today people are so happy and they find it fashionable to say "that is my baby mama or that is my child's father".

AGREE.
Posted: at 26-07-2011 11:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- just2sexy at 26-07-2011 11:49 PM (12 years ago)
Unsatisfying Straff

Posted: at 26-07-2011 11:49 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- mchinwendu at 27-07-2011 12:16 AM (12 years ago)
quote author=hosbert link=topic=74031.msg2293915#msg2293915 date=1311669468]
Marriage in Africa is bedevilled with so many problems that have not only continued to threaten it as an institution but also,led to her breaking down irretrivably or strained and headed for the rocks.Among the problems are these five which I consider as most vicious and common killers of marriage

Parental Influence and Control
Most parents have refused or rather don't seem to understand that having married,their children cease to be under their control and somewhat overbearing influence.As a result,they still want to dictate and live the life of their married children for them like telling them how they have lived with their own mother or father and expecting them to emulate them.This often lead to either the man/woman saying:'in my house or place,we don't do like this or that'.This is the begining of crisis.

Invitation/Submission to Third Party
Some couple make the mistake of inviting and submitting to a third party when there is problem in their home.The truth of the matter is nobody knows or understands the problem at hand morethan the people involved.Bringing in a third to resolve dispute more often than not only aggravate the problem than solve it.The problem can actually be settled if the parties look inwards and tolerate eachother.

Unguided Utterances
One of the issues that contibutes to marital problems is unguided utterances from either the couple themselves
[or their family members.Some families owing to the fact that there are inequality in the society and some being more advantaged than the others,the privileged ones often look down on the less privileged.This is sometimes extended to marriages.Couples carry their family pride to their marriages to the detriment of the union.

Unnecessary Comparison
There is no reason or basis for comparison in marriage.Mr A or B are living in high brow areas or that they just bought the most expensive car or moved into a new apartment should not be a ground for you to breath down the neck of your hubby.Also,that Mr C is always taking his wife to the market or helping her out with chores don't mean that your husband must do same.Learn to take life in your strides.

Unhealthy Association
This is an information age and there is no doubt about this.However,information if not well managed could be disastrous.The agitation for gender equality is a problem.God never created male and female as equals.One is meant to love and lord over the other,while the other is to respect and obey.Unfortunately,it is not so any more.Different opinion group,advocacy group,agitation group,etc all play a role in the make or mar of marriages.Couples should be careful of indoctrination and be able to draw the necessary line neede to make their marriage work.

[/quote]

Thanks for the post
Posted: at 27-07-2011 12:16 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- priceless87 at 27-07-2011 10:09 AM (12 years ago)
Thanks for the research buh there's more to it
Posted: at 27-07-2011 10:09 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hosbert at 27-07-2011 11:49 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: priceless87 on 27-07-2011 10:09 AM
Thanks for the research buh there's more to it
Sure there are lots more to marital problems than the issues discussed in this Thread.I have not and do not intend to narrow down marital problems these ones listed.Just lending my voice by identifying some of the problems plaguing the marriage institution with the aim of adding value and restoring stability to marriage.thanks.
Posted: at 27-07-2011 11:49 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Angelita2 at 27-07-2011 02:07 PM (12 years ago)
tanx.
Posted: at 27-07-2011 02:07 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Crowny2 at 27-07-2011 04:10 PM (12 years ago)
Noted...  Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink
Posted: at 27-07-2011 04:10 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- GOLDENMEDAH at 27-07-2011 04:41 PM (12 years ago)
OK, THANKS FOR THE THREAD..
Posted: at 27-07-2011 04:41 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezecyyyy at 29-07-2011 03:39 PM (12 years ago)
No yaaaaaa we don hear
Posted: at 29-07-2011 03:39 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- kelechi86 at 30-07-2011 07:54 AM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 30-07-2011 07:54 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- hosbert at 1-08-2011 06:51 PM (12 years ago)
Marriage is a very complex puzzle that no one has been able to fix correctly.
Posted: at 1-08-2011 06:51 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- chicco77 at 26-08-2012 05:51 PM (11 years ago)
 Wink Wink
Posted: at 26-08-2012 05:51 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sestay at 2-09-2015 08:31 PM (8 years ago)
Good Job have stored it in my archive
Posted: at 2-09-2015 08:31 PM (8 years ago) | Upcoming
1 2 [3]

1. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

2. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

3. How Abusive Nigerian Man, Beat Wife To Death Months After Relocating To The UK

4. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

5. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

6. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

7. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

8. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

3. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

4. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

5. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

6. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

7. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

8. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

9. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

10. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria