Why is Abortion such a hot potato? (Page 5)

Date: 25-08-2011 3:40 am (12 years ago) | Author: Franklyn Adam
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8
- brendivas at 27-08-2011 07:23 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: danpatrick on 27-08-2011 06:03 AM
Quote from: smithengal on 26-08-2011 10:50 PM
Dear Gibson, you are a serious advocate. But look at it this way. Here is the World making a big deal about human rights. Is it simply about men's rights or human rights? If is human rights it includes women! If so, I submit that every human being has the right to own their own body. The argument against abortion seems to deny this basic premise of universal human right for the female gender. The woman has absolute right over her own body, including what grows or exists inside her body and whether to carry it to full gestation or not.

You are right to a limited extent. The woman being a God-made mother means that society has a right to expect her not to kill those children God has given her. If she doesn't want them then it is better not to have unprotected sex or better still abstain from it.

Human beings need love and the desire to be cuddled and appreciated. Where there is this love between man and woman, sex is always involved. I take the point that if you don't want unplanned pregnancy better not have unprotected sex.
Posted: at 27-08-2011 07:23 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- brendivas at 27-08-2011 07:27 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: gibsonpally on 26-08-2011 10:02 PM
Quote from: smithengal on 26-08-2011 09:48 PM
Quote from: gibsonpally on 26-08-2011 09:33 PM
Given this admission that life is a big mystery, that is what God has created, who are we to destroy?
Currently in medicine, we have advanced our technology and understanding to be able to care for and nourish very early premature infants, even into the second trimester. People easily agree they have rights but across town another, same gestational age infant is snatched from the mother's body in a horrific manner. Where should we draw the line? The only answer that can be medically supported is before conception. That is don't bring forth a life to be destroyed in a most horrific abortion procedure.

Eloquently put @ gibsonpally, but you would agree that women have a moral right to decide what to do with their bodies
the right to abortion is vital for gender equality -the right to abortion is vital for individual women to achieve their full potential such that banning abortion puts women at risk by forcing them to use illegal abortionists, thus the right to abortion should be part of a portfolio of pregnancy rights that enables women to make a truly free choice whether to end a pregnancy. This argument reminds us that even in the abortion debate, we should regard the woman as a person and not just as a container for the foetus. We should therefore give great consideration to her rights and needs as well as those of the unborn.

There are various types of abortions and most obvious type that can be likened to pure blue murder is a type called "partial birth abortion' procedure where the life being destroyed is completely viable if born at that instant. The procedures involves cutting the back of the head that was partially delivered and the brains were scrambled using stainless steel instruments, and evacuated with a suction. This is clearly murder. Does the baby have a 'choice'? This fully formed baby needs no respirator and could go home shortly after birth. There can be no moral justification for a mother to kill her own flesh and blood in this horrific and painful way.

I agree with you. Such late stage abortion is against the law in the UK. It is wicked blue murder and should not be allowed.
Posted: at 27-08-2011 07:27 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Allen-jones at 27-08-2011 01:10 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: jennypriceson on 26-08-2011 02:31 AM
Quote from: tundamartin on 26-08-2011 02:23 AM
Quote from: jennypriceson on 26-08-2011 02:00 AM
Quote from: livingday on 25-08-2011 03:43 AM
I say the defenceless child has most right follwed by that of the husband and the woman last

@ livingday, this position of yours is typical of man. Consider this contrary view: 1.Nearly all abortions take place in the first trimester, when a fetus cannot exist independent of the mother. As it is attached by the placenta and umbilical cord, its health is dependent on her health, and cannot be regarded as a separate entity as it cannot exist outside her womb. So, it has no independent existence as a human being to talk about 'rights'

@ jennypriceson, Since life begins at conception, abortion is akin to murder as it is the act of taking human life. Abortion is in direct defiance of the commonly accepted idea of the sanctity of human life

@ tundamartin, I refer to my comments above about the foetus not being human as it is entirely dependent on the woman's life. However consider this : The concept of personhood is different from the concept of human life. Human life occurs at conception, but fertilized eggs used for in vitro fertilization are also human lives and those not implanted are routinely thrown away. Is this murder, and if not, then how is abortion murder?

@jennypriceson,

On the basis of natural law written word of God, human life begins when the woman's egg is fertilised by a male sperm.
From that moment a unique life begins, independent of the life of the mother and father. The features that distinguish us from our parents - the colour of our eyes, the shape of our face - are all laid down in the genetic code that comes into existence then.
Each new life that begins at this point is not a potential human being but a human being with potential.On this basis I think abortion is an act of murder.
Posted: at 27-08-2011 01:10 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- wunzie at 27-08-2011 03:40 PM (12 years ago)
Dear Gibson, you are a serious advocate. But look at it this way. Here is the World making a big deal about human rights. Is it simply about men's rights or human rights? If is human rights it includes women! If so, I submit that every human being has the right to own their own body. The argument against abortion seems to deny this basic premise of universal human right for the female gender. The woman has absolute right over her own body, including what grows or exists inside her body and whether to carry it to full gestation or not.

Spot on!

Posted: at 27-08-2011 03:40 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- brendivas at 27-08-2011 03:47 PM (12 years ago)

To use a woman's body, against her free will and choice, as a receptacle for unwanted pregnancy has got to be seen as a kind of 'legalized rape' that must be as morally repugnant as 'foeticide' to those perpetrating it. If we want to make-belief that it is not a 'man's world' and aim at full emancipation of women then the woman must be allowed to own her God-given body.
Posted: at 27-08-2011 03:47 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- brendivas at 27-08-2011 04:12 PM (12 years ago)

You are right to a limited extent. The woman being a God-made mother means that society has a right to expect her not to kill those children God has given her. If she doesn't want them then it is better not to have unprotected sex or better still abstain from it.

My dear Danpatrick, your argument is a typical masculine overlordship against women. Do you agree that a woman has the right to decide what she can and can't do with her body? Does the foetus not grow or exist inside a woman's body? Thus, has she no right to decide whether the foetus remains in her body? If so, she has supremacy over her body and whatever exists therein.
The important US Supreme Court decision in Roe v Wade to some extent supported that view when it ruled that a woman's right to terminate her pregnancy came under the freedom of personal choice in family matters and was protected by the 14th Amendment of the US Constitution. Therefore it is unethical to ban abortion because doing so denies freedom of choice to women and forces 'the unwilling to bear the unwanted'.
Posted: at 27-08-2011 04:12 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Allen-jones at 27-08-2011 04:44 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: brendivas on 27-08-2011 04:12 PM

My dear Danpatrick, your argument is a typical masculine overlordship against women. Do you agree that a woman has the right to decide what she can and can't do with her body? Does the foetus not grow or exist inside a woman's body? Thus, has she no right to decide whether the foetus remains in her body? If so, she has supremacy over her body and whatever exists therein.
The important US Supreme Court decision in Roe v Wade to some extent supported that view when it ruled that a woman's right to terminate her pregnancy came under the freedom of personal choice in family matters and was protected by the 14th Amendment of the US Constitution. Therefore it is unethical to ban abortion because doing so denies freedom of choice to women and forces 'the unwilling to bear the unwanted'.

Did I hear somebody mention 'human rights'? I will tell you what human right is and not. Frequently man and woman live as if God did not exist, and even put themselves in God's place. They claim for themselves the Creator's right to interfere in the mystery of human life, test tube babies and the like, not to mention Dolly the croned sheep in Scotland. Man openly Rejects divine law and moral principles. Thus, direct and voluntary killing of an innocent human being is always gravely immoral. On this basis I declare that direct abortion, that is, abortion willed as an end or as a means, always constitutes a grave moral disorder, since it is the deliberate killing of an innocent human being. If we aspire for the 'the Common Good of humanity' then it must be understood that all human rights flow from one fundamental right: the right to life. The recognition of the basic rights of all individuals, including the unborn who have their own intrinsic value will be a step towards achievement of this 'common good' for humanity. Thus, the inalienable rights of the person must be recognised and respected by civil society and the political authority. These human rights depend neither on single individuals nor on parents; nor do they represent a concession made by the society and the state; they belong to human nature and are inherent in the persons by virtue of the creative act from which the person took his origin. Among such fundamental rights is every human being's right to life ... from the moment of conception until death.
Posted: at 27-08-2011 04:44 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bigbonecrusher at 27-08-2011 05:50 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Allen-jones on 27-08-2011 04:44 PM

Did I hear somebody mention 'human rights'? I will tell you what human right is and not. Frequently man and woman live as if God did not exist, and even put themselves in God's place. They claim for themselves the Creator's right to interfere in the mystery of human life, test tube babies and the like, not to mention Dolly the croned sheep in Scotland. Man openly Rejects divine law and moral principles. Thus, direct and voluntary killing of an innocent human being is always gravely immoral. On this basis I declare that direct abortion, that is, abortion willed as an end or as a means, always constitutes a grave moral disorder, since it is the deliberate killing of an innocent human being. If we aspire for the 'the Common Good of humanity' then it must be understood that all human rights flow from one fundamental right: the right to life. The recognition of the basic rights of all individuals, including the unborn who have their own intrinsic value will be a step towards achievement of this 'common good' for humanity. Thus, the inalienable rights of the person must be recognised and respected by civil society and the political authority. These human rights depend neither on single individuals nor on parents; nor do they represent a concession made by the society and the state; they belong to human nature and are inherent in the persons by virtue of the creative act from which the person took his origin. Among such fundamental rights is every human being's right to life ... from the moment of conception until death.

Well written and fully supported
Posted: at 27-08-2011 05:50 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- bigbonecrusher at 27-08-2011 05:54 PM (12 years ago)

Better to abstain than risk unwanted pregnancy. Simple as A B C. No sex no abortion, simple!
Posted: at 27-08-2011 05:54 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- tundamartin at 27-08-2011 05:58 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: bigbonecrusher on 26-08-2011 09:05 AM
Quote from: tundamartin on 26-08-2011 08:57 AM
Quote from: smithengal on 26-08-2011 08:11 AM
Quote from: bigbonecrusher on 26-08-2011 07:56 AM
Quote from: bigbonecrusher on 26-08-2011 07:54 AM
Quote from: bigbonecrusher on 26-08-2011 07:48 AM
Ladies, b4 u start patting yourselves on the back know that we are not talking some communist country but USA the leader of global democracy. For women who demand complete control of their body, control should include preventing the risk of unwanted pregnancy through the responsible use of contraception or, if that is not possible, through abstinence.

As an after thought, if you think the embryonic foetus has no independent right because it is helpless and silent, why bring a life into formation only to kill it when you can avoid it simply by not having unprotected sex. Rights come with responsibilites.

That is a typical man speaking! You men can afford to do it without being bothered about pregnancy but you want women not to do it if they don't want to get pregnant. No wonder it is still an unequal world, a man's world!

A woman is a nursery of life and must not play in the same field as men who's primary goal is to give forth life for the woman to nurse and nurture.

Precisely, bros!

Totally in support, brother.
Posted: at 27-08-2011 05:58 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- tundamartin at 27-08-2011 06:07 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: smithengal on 26-08-2011 09:24 PM
Quote from: gibsonpally on 26-08-2011 07:31 PM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 26-08-2011 07:14 PM
Quote from: gibsonpally on 26-08-2011 07:13 PM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 26-08-2011 06:59 PM
Quote from: gibsonpally on 26-08-2011 06:51 PM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 26-08-2011 06:39 PM
Quote from: livingday on 26-08-2011 05:24 PM
Quote from: FlyMamacita on 26-08-2011 09:56 AM
What a stupid woman!!!! Why did she marry?? She is talking/dreaming
abt her carreer, havin unprotected sex and now wanna go for abortion?

If am her husband, and she will do such crap i will divorce her ASAP!!  Angry Angry

And who said u cant have a carreer AND a baby,  Huh? Huh?

I think her chief concern was she travelled extensively which formed a substantial part of her perks and also that her rising profile in line for legal services director would be seriously affected. Besides this, has a woman first right over her body?

Yes a woman has first right over her body. BUT as a married woman, u dont decide somtin like dat
on ur own. The husband and his family rily wants the child, so they must find a solution to it.
Why do such thing (abortion)?? This is a married couple, they will hav children anyway.

I support your stand and Iam sure majority of people who hear this will too. But you see, this western education had led some highly educated women to think that marriage is a union of equal partners.

Ur right...but ppl wud betta forget abt stereotype and just do their own tin.
Of course we are equal, but we must still realise the differences between MAN and WOMAN.
And understand the meaning of mariage....bcos to me this woman is not yet matured.

I think she has let her new found corporate power and financial independence get to her head. Can you imagine killing your own husband's child? We are not talking about product of adultery, rape or incest but lawful marriage! But some people want to defend the right of the woman to decide how she uses her body; when she wants to have children etc. The word marriage is being turned on its head.

Yes, sad but true.

Very true but the human being himself is a very complex animal. Nothing about him is straightforward or perfect. We are only managing as best as we can in this big mystery called life.

Indeed, life is a big mystery!

Imagine the audacity of wishing to kill legitimate product of that legal and lawful union or marriage because it is an inconvenience!
Posted: at 27-08-2011 06:07 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- tundamartin at 27-08-2011 06:13 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: xena15 on 26-08-2011 09:25 AM
Quote from: bigbonecrusher on 25-08-2011 06:41 PM
Quote from: xena15 on 25-08-2011 04:19 PM
Quote from: Josseyjessy on 25-08-2011 04:03 PM
Quote from: xena15 on 25-08-2011 08:03 AM
Hot potato?
Na who fry am?

Have you forgotten? It was fried in your kitchen. Cheesy Cheesy
cnt remember d last time i enter my kitchen.
I dey pursue my career.
Check well,no be my kitchen...

Seriously xena17, I promote you to xena18. Have you considered a career in comedy? You will win award, girl.
na church i wan open

You are right bros, Xena18 is a serious contender for a role in comedy
Posted: at 27-08-2011 06:13 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- livingday at 27-08-2011 06:28 PM (12 years ago)
Highly intelligent and academic discussions going on here, keep them coming, pals.
Posted: at 27-08-2011 06:28 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- xena15 at 27-08-2011 06:28 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: tundamartin on 27-08-2011 06:13 PM
Quote from: xena15 on 26-08-2011 09:25 AM
Quote from: bigbonecrusher on 25-08-2011 06:41 PM
Quote from: xena15 on 25-08-2011 04:19 PM
Quote from: Josseyjessy on 25-08-2011 04:03 PM
Quote from: xena15 on 25-08-2011 08:03 AM
Hot potato?
Na who fry am?

Have you forgotten? It was fried in your kitchen. Cheesy Cheesy
cnt remember d last time i enter my kitchen.
I dey pursue my career.
Check well,no be my kitchen...

Seriously xena17, I promote you to xena18. Have you considered a career in comedy? You will win award, girl.
na church i wan open

You are right bros, Xena18 is a serious contender for a role in comedy
whoa!

Posted: at 27-08-2011 06:28 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sophiebaby at 27-08-2011 06:35 PM (12 years ago)
Poster tell Aggie/Agnes dat I sophiebaby said she should go to hell with herself and her career. Why she no kuku wait for three yrs or more bfor she marry or even lash sef...mtcheeew

Posted: at 27-08-2011 06:35 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- xena15 at 27-08-2011 06:42 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 27-08-2011 06:35 PM
Poster tell Aggie/Agnes dat I sophiebaby said she should go to hell with herself and her career. Why she no kuku wait for three yrs or more bfor she marry or even lash sef...mtcheeew
Gbogboski has spoken!

Posted: at 27-08-2011 06:42 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dirtykid at 27-08-2011 06:57 PM (12 years ago)
Where is the Hot Potatoes ??

Posted: at 27-08-2011 06:57 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- danpatrick at 28-08-2011 02:38 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: dirtykid on 27-08-2011 06:57 PM
Where is the Hot Potatoes ??

Inside xena18's kitchen oven
Posted: at 28-08-2011 02:38 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- danpatrick at 28-08-2011 02:40 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: sophiebaby on 27-08-2011 06:35 PM

I 'll pass ur message to Agnes myself and maybe rub her nose in it too.
Posted: at 28-08-2011 02:40 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Rosemerry at 28-08-2011 04:02 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: Allen-jones on 27-08-2011 01:10 PM
Quote from: jennypriceson on 26-08-2011 02:31 AM
Quote from: tundamartin on 26-08-2011 02:23 AM
Quote from: jennypriceson on 26-08-2011 02:00 AM
Quote from: livingday on 25-08-2011 03:43 AM
I say the defenceless child has most right follwed by that of the husband and the woman last

@ livingday, this position of yours is typical of man. Consider this contrary view: 1.Nearly all abortions take place in the first trimester, when a fetus cannot exist independent of the mother. As it is attached by the placenta and umbilical cord, its health is dependent on her health, and cannot be regarded as a separate entity as it cannot exist outside her womb. So, it has no independent existence as a human being to talk about 'rights'

@ jennypriceson, Since life begins at conception, abortion is akin to murder as it is the act of taking human life. Abortion is in direct defiance of the commonly accepted idea of the sanctity of human life

@ tundamartin, I refer to my comments above about the foetus not being human as it is entirely dependent on the woman's life. However consider this : The concept of personhood is different from the concept of human life. Human life occurs at conception, but fertilized eggs used for in vitro fertilization are also human lives and those not implanted are routinely thrown away. Is this murder, and if not, then how is abortion murder?

@jennypriceson,

On the basis of natural law written word of God, human life begins when the woman's egg is fertilised by a male sperm.
From that moment a unique life begins, independent of the life of the mother and father. The features that distinguish us from our parents - the colour of our eyes, the shape of our face - are all laid down in the genetic code that comes into existence then.
Each new life that begins at this point is not a potential human being but a human being with potential.On this basis I think abortion is an act of murder.

@ Allen-jones,

I think you have taken a thorougly religious stand but even the various faiths accept that if a foetus is seriously abnormal or that the child will be born seriously disabled that abortion would be permissible in this circumstance. Is that not life they are aborting regardless of presumed handicap?

The other point in this debate is that of gender equality. No woman can call herself free until she can choose consciously whether she will or will not be a mother. Women need free access to abortion in order to achieve full political, social, and economic equality with me. Women need the right to abortion in order to have the same freedoms as men. Women need the right to abortion to have full rights over their own bodies (including the right to decide whether or not to carry a foetus to birth) - without these rights they do not have the same moral status as men
Posted: at 28-08-2011 04:02 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8

1. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

2. Veteran Actress, Shan George In Desperate Plea As Fraudsters Clear N3.6m From Her Bank Account

3. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

4. Fred Adujua Arrested Amid Allegations From House Of Reps Member & Former Senator Nwaboshi

5. Lagos Police Command Dismisses Two Inspectors Amid Allegations Of Romantic Relationship

6. "Prioritize Wives Over Mothers Or Stay Single" - Ifu Ennada Issues Stark Warning To Men

7. Ex-FCMB Manager, Nwachukwu Placidus Sentenced To 121 Yrs For Embezzling Customer's Funds

8. Journalist Hit By Stray Bullet Inside Kano Government House, Raises Concerns On Press Freedom

9. Nigerian Man Offers $2000 Reward For Arrest Of Fraudster Who Stole N42m From Him

10. Village Head, Kabiru Mohammed Killed As Suspected Assassins Ravage Marke Community In Kaduna

11. Suspect Says Human Head Is Sold For ₦45,000 In Lagos As Police Parade Ten Organ Harvesters

12. "Overeating Caused My Excess Weight" — Nigerian Physician And Politician, Doyin Okupe

13. Charly Boy Shares Insights On Activism, Marriage, And Gender Roles In Candid Interview

14. Nigerian Journalist Turned AI Tech Expert, Oludayo Ojerinde Creates AI Solutions For Businesses

15. Cybercrime Convict, Odinakachi Prince Onyeoziri Sentenced To 7 Years Imprisonment & Fined ₦3M

1. Stop Lagos-Calabar Highway Project - Obi Tells Tinubu As Demolition of Landmark Centre Begins

2. FRESH: Nollywood Lovers, IK Ogbonna & Ini Edo Reportedly Engaged

3. "Stop Inciting Igbos Against Tinubu Govt" – Umahi Slams Peter Obi

4. MAY 1st; Peter Obi Celebrates Nigerian Workers, Sends Message

5. “Wizkid Undergoing Mental Illness, No Longer Together With Jada – Isaac Fayose Reveals

6. Peter Obi Reacts To The Deaths Of 35 Nigerians In Horrific Kogi, Enugu Road Clashes

7. Watch As Lions Have S3x On Top Of Safari Truck Full Of People

8. How A Nigerian Woman Loses Her Marketing Job For Failing to Meet N300m Monthly Target

9. Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu Appoints Wasiu Ayinde's Daughter, Basirat As SSA To Gov On Tourism

10. Kenya Gets First Female Air Force Commander, Major General Fatuma Gaiti Ahmed