Breaking News: Fire Guts National Assembly Building

Date: 14-01-2012 10:55 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Millenium
[1] 2 3 4 5
- at 14-01-2012 10:55 PM (12 years ago)
Save for the timely intervention of officers and men of the fire fighting service of the National Assembly a fire outbreak at the main building of the assembly complex this afternoon would have resulted into a very major catastrophe. An eye witness told Businessday that the fire started at the office of the Secretary to the Clerk National Assembly (CNA) on the third floor of the main building by about 1.00pm.

The heavy smoke bellowing from the office attracted the attention of one of the sergeant-at-arms who quickly raised alarm and contacted men of the fire fighting services, which office was just a stone throw away. The fire fighters promptly rushed to the scene of the outbreak and struggled to put it out before serious damage could be done.

Although the major cause of the fire outbreak could not be immediately ascertained, it was suspected that the incident resulted from electrical cause. One of the fire fighters who participated in putting out the fire narrated to Businessday how the incident took place.

“The fire started at about 1pm. We were in our office just there (pointing to their office nearby) when one of these sergeant-at-arms rushed to our office and shouting that there was fire.” “When we got there the whole place was covered with smoke we could not find our way through easily. Apart from that, there was nobody to bring the keys and open the offices for us to move in.

“We were just there struggling to see how we can enter until one of us just forced one door open before we could enter. If not that it is a place we are very familiar with we, we could have found it difficult to locate the actual place. But we were able to locate the office. They said it is the office of the secretary to the CNA. By the time we got there the whole office was smoking heavily but we were able to tackle it before the fire could spread into other offices,” he said.

When Businessday visited the scene of the incident at 5.00pm the Chief Security of the National Assembly, Col. Emeka Okere (rtd) and some of his staff were on hand to ensure that nobody was allowed entry into the building. Men of the fire fighting services were also there sweeping out the flood of water used in quelling the fire.

Also, the fire fighting lorry used putting out the fire with registration number, NASS, FL 278 Mgt was stationed in front of the main building. The air around the entire vicinity of the main building was oozing out the smell of burnt debris. Gaining entry into the National Assembly on its own was a very difficult task as security in and around the assembly complex was very very tight.

The entire eagle square leading into the National Assembly was cordoned off by the combined security agencies, including the army, police, Directorate of State Security (DSS), Civil defence, men of the directorate of traffic service (VIO), road safety etc. The Eagle Square was being prepared for a special parade that would be inspected by President Goodluck Jonathan as part of the events to mark this year’s Armed Forces remembrance day.

Posted: at 14-01-2012 10:55 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Obitexa at 15-01-2012 12:21 AM (12 years ago)
Nawaa o...make e no happen abeg
Posted: at 15-01-2012 12:21 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Ngpoll at 15-01-2012 12:30 AM (12 years ago)
Hello ,

Please take time out of your day and checkout our app on facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ngpoll/215618355192895

Ngpoll is all about research on government policy. We need your imput and like Us to spread the word.

Thank you and Stay blessed
Posted: at 15-01-2012 12:30 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- deboalabi262 at 15-01-2012 12:36 AM (12 years ago)
Another act of sabotage.....

Posted: at 15-01-2012 12:36 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sandysweetlux at 15-01-2012 01:22 AM (12 years ago)
Somebody just passed corruption entrance examination, 25 billion naira is to be budgeted for that office renovation, make fire consume all of una, which it was the main building were dey had senators and rep members.thievs.
Posted: at 15-01-2012 01:22 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Celestial1 at 15-01-2012 02:11 AM (12 years ago)
So where is the money going to come from for repairs? Satan working overtime on Nigeria.
Posted: at 15-01-2012 02:11 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Amy9ja at 15-01-2012 02:24 AM (12 years ago)
Hahahahhahaah ,na there way ,na today ? e don they happen? carry go  badluck janathan.na fire go fire all your family from A to z.
e non go better for all your family.
Posted: at 15-01-2012 02:24 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Ojimslaw at 15-01-2012 03:38 AM (12 years ago)
Y are u insulting GEJ? Ignorance sells high in Nigeria. What can corse and swear do to him,?Noting.surely he must remain d number 1 citizen of dis country weda u corse him or not, he has been placed above u and ur family as long as 9ja is concern ,so stop foolling urselves and continue in his leadership,lyk my broda said here,who GOD DON BLESS MAKE NO 1 CORSE:REMEMBER IS STILL GEJ.GOD BLESS U GEJ.CONTINUE D GOOD WRK,WE ARE BEHIND U.
Posted: at 15-01-2012 03:38 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- Ecto at 15-01-2012 06:10 AM (12 years ago)
Sign of divine anger to come on all so called oil cabre in Abuja, portharcourt, Lagos, Kano, kaduna and other parts of Nigeria!
Posted: at 15-01-2012 06:10 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- collinsdre at 15-01-2012 06:17 AM (12 years ago)
Oh no! GEJ do something before this strike  takes another dimension we can't afford to continue like .....
Posted: at 15-01-2012 06:17 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- indisputable at 15-01-2012 06:43 AM (12 years ago)
True talk oooo, whom God has blessed no man can cause. @Amy9ja: This is not abt GEJ, dnt allow ignorance/d fuel subsidy thing eat thru a good sense of reasoning
Posted: at 15-01-2012 06:43 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- indisputable at 15-01-2012 06:45 AM (12 years ago)
Thank God the fire was put out before a major damage could occur...
Posted: at 15-01-2012 06:45 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- collinsdre at 15-01-2012 07:20 AM (12 years ago)
Thank God
Posted: at 15-01-2012 07:20 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 15-01-2012 07:46 AM (12 years ago)
but why this not happen when they were fully seated now ?
Posted: at 15-01-2012 07:46 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 15-01-2012 07:46 AM (12 years ago)
Quote from: collinsdre on 15-01-2012 07:20 AM
Thank God
[/quote

that -----?
Posted: at 15-01-2012 07:46 AM (12 years ago) | Grande Master
- dickman2 at 15-01-2012 08:10 AM (12 years ago)
the fire for burn them all..
Posted: at 15-01-2012 08:10 AM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Residues at 15-01-2012 08:20 AM (12 years ago)
God help ds country. Ds 1 wey fire jst dey gut evritin: fire gut kano, gut jos, gut N' Ass, gut clerk office. Obob i hop say na d bad ppl side e dey gut. Ds 1 nw go add 4 budget o', US$4bn... Shocked
Posted: at 15-01-2012 08:20 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- saintdav76 at 15-01-2012 08:23 AM (12 years ago)
dem don start?
Posted: at 15-01-2012 08:23 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kattie77 at 15-01-2012 08:24 AM (12 years ago)
it would have been really nice if d fire had started during those sittings in which they discuss and embezzel money...useless people
Posted: at 15-01-2012 08:24 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- divyne at 15-01-2012 08:40 AM (12 years ago)
Why all the curses and abuses, cant you people see that something is terribly wrong here?why is it  that during the tenure of GEJ that all these are happening? Cant you see that there are enemies in the house? But they will never succeed cos Gods hand is upon President Goodluck Jonathan ok Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes NO WEAPON FASHIONED AGAINST A CHILD OF GOD SHALL PROSPER, AND ANY TONGUE THAT RISES UP IN JUDGEMENT SHALL BE CONDEMMED, SO BE WARNED PEOPLE Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 15-01-2012 08:40 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
[1] 2 3 4 5

1. Late Mohbad’s Toxicology Result Ready As Pathologist Begins Evaluation

2. Ex-runs Girl Lands Herself In Trouble After Finding Out Her Former Client Is Her Brother-in-Law

3. We Find Love in Unexpected Places – Bimbo Ademoye Writes As She Shares Loved-up Photo With Timi

4. 'Avoid Panic Buying, Petrol Prices Not Changing' — NNPC To Nigerians

5. Interior Minister, Tunji-Ojo To Relocate Suleja Correctional Centres To Avoid Inmate Escape

6. Actress, Stella Udeze Reveals Why Actresses Have Unhappy Relationships

7. 74Yr Old Woman Robs Bank At Gunpoint After Losing Her Life Savings To Online Scammers

4. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

5. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

6. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

7. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

10. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider