I Am Ready To Get Married Again – Musician Kenny Saint Brown/Best

Date: 06-04-2012 8:17 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
- at 6-04-2012 08:17 PM (12 years ago)
From heartbroken ‘Brown’ to ‘divinely inspired Best’, this award winning gospel singer, natural born chef and mother of three has been around the music industry for more than a decade, a feat she ascribes to divine calling and innate passion.

She has long been in the forefront of the urban gospel feel that has now found its way into mainstream, partnering with the likes of eccentric but hugely talented singer Terry G and the late rave making rapper Dagrin in bringing her message across to a larger audience.

In this revealing interview, the re-branded KSB, talks about her music, life, her novel approach to food business and, yes, romance. Enjoy!

Why the name change from ‘Brown’ to ‘Best’?
I’ve been separated from my ex for close to six years now, and I’ve never really filed for a divorce before that, but now I want to do that and the divorce proceedings are already on. I never thought I would have to drop the name ‘Brown’. But after Whitney died, you know there is a kinda similarity with her too, I just didn’t want to identify with that at all, if something is ‘ex’, it’s expired.

Did you feel you were in a similar situation with Whitney Houston and why?
I was in the situation she was, the only difference is that I didn’t do drugs myself. But the issue is he is the ‘ex’ now, the marriage has not even been in existence for about six years now. So if I want to start anew, then I have to drop the name, let it go. It’s a bold step. It’s not been an easy task switching to ‘Best’, I’ve been used to Kenny Saint Brown like for ever, but it would appear I’m still hanging on to the marriage, so let it go. Secondly, I wouldn’t call it a re-branding strictly, you know, coming from Kenny Saint Ogungbe, and then it became Kenny Saint Brown. I abbreviated to KSB about three years ago because of all the drama and blackmail that followed the whole ‘thing’. I just wanted to be a brand new person but still retain the popular KSB brand. I prayed about it and ‘Best’ was what it was.

With your credentials and academic background, why choose music?
I believe I was just called to do this, and my job is to inspire people. Also, my foundation was letting people know that this is a divine duty. Along the line, I’ve come to realize that my main calling is basically to help people out of their struggles, through songs, talks, through inspirational words because I also go through pain, frustration, hatred, blackmail and all the things that others also go through. That is why you can identify with what I’m saying in ‘Turn Around’ or ‘Live your Life’, my new song which features eLDee.

How would you describe your music?
It started out like traditional gospel, and I would have maintained that if God wanted it that way, but He put me in a different phase, with different experiences. I mean, I’m not going to do it like Sammie Okposo, or Kefee, because their experiences are theirs alone, so it is my experiences that have kept me. So I said I was doing alternative gospel, and the title alternative gospel singer kinda stuck along the way. But it gives me an edge because I can work with secular artistes, like Terry G and the like, which helps to push the message across better.

How did your new venture in the food industry come about?
I have a passion for cooking. I’m in love with cooking, especially for people. I get bored with the same old jollof rice, fried rice and the rest. Now, my menus are named after celebrities because the Nigerian entertainment industry has really gone far in promoting our culture around the world, through movies and music. So the idea is to get people to fall in love with our culture, leveraging on the popularity of these celebrities. It shouldn’t be about Chinese food all the time. So I thought, how about taking the name of these icons to brand the food, such that there’s an endearment to it. There’s a Genevieve, a Don Jazzy, Goldie, Omosexy, 2face, someone called me last time for a Minjin (laughs). There’s a clamour now for aBanky W which I haven’t quite worked out yet, but it’s in the works (more laughter).

What should i expect when i order a Don Jazzy?
A Don Jazzy is a sauce with spicy pepper, onions, garlic, oriental herbs and others but with a lot of assorted meat. It’s kinda close to an ‘ofada’ sauce.

Did you have to blend the personalities of these people into these menus?
Yes, that’s what I did

So, I’m just curious, what’s a Genevieve like for example?
A Genevieve is a brown smoked chicken, chopped and spiced up with colourful pepper; green, yellow, red, pepper which can be eaten with rice, yam etc.

So it’s like playing with people’s fantasies?
Yes, so when you’re eating this you’re like, ‘I’m having a Genevieve’ (general laughter). Then you have a Funke Akindele, you know she’s a very proudly Yoruba actor so she best promotes a food like ‘gbegiri’, but with a little innovation on my part in the creation of the food, making it more appealing and appetizing. For now, we do deliveries based on orders, we’re still building, but with time, we’ll expand the KSB foodies brand so it can get across to a lot of people everywhere. We are also taking it to a global audience, with a TV program in the works.

What’s on the cards for you romantically?
You can tell from my disposition that I am a romantic person and when I find someone to love I drift and soar.

Would you take another shot at marriage?
If it’s good, if it’s the type that would nurture me, help me to develop, and bring out the best in me, yes of course. But more importantly, marriage is a good thing when you’re both friends. Friendship is very important and it is what I didn’t have in my marriage. I would do anything for friendship, genuine friendship.

What would you like to be remembered for?
I want them, especially the youths of today, to remember me as someone who gave them wings to fly.

Posted: at 6-04-2012 08:17 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Shaunie at 7-04-2012 03:02 AM (12 years ago)
Shine ur eyes this time around
Posted: at 7-04-2012 03:02 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- deboalabi262 at 7-04-2012 03:32 AM (12 years ago)
KSB -make you look wella b/4 you leap this time around..... Huh?

Posted: at 7-04-2012 03:32 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- malvin2525 at 7-04-2012 05:52 AM (12 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 7-04-2012 05:52 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- feelfee at 7-04-2012 06:50 AM (12 years ago)
Just about what Shan George warned against, just bcoz Brown is now poor, He's no longer a man. God help us from these daughters of Lucifer!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 7-04-2012 06:50 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- starlove1 at 7-04-2012 07:27 AM (12 years ago)
are you sure you are ready to get married, you will fine one but not tomorrow you will dievorce
Posted: at 7-04-2012 07:27 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- shallbe4all at 7-04-2012 07:31 AM (12 years ago)
Here am we can make it happen
Posted: at 7-04-2012 07:31 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- okrika at 7-04-2012 08:22 AM (12 years ago)
my dear i guess you are a christian,staying 6 whole years without reason to forgive the father of your kids does not depicts you well in the light of what we confessed.think of the good moments you both shared together in the past and reconciled with him will make you a better role model, mother to your kids.nothing is too to big to be sacrificed for your peace and home taking into cognizance the future of your kids.
Posted: at 7-04-2012 08:22 AM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- utomilan at 7-04-2012 08:33 AM (12 years ago)
VIVA LA VIDA live life or leave the life
Posted: at 7-04-2012 08:33 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ZION7ZION at 7-04-2012 09:04 AM (12 years ago)
 it amazes me and also annoys me when people boldly and shamefully claim that they are bornagain christians when there some minor things JESUS advise us not to do as christians, she is even proud to say that the marriage does not exist since 6years, she should tell us why she could not forgive the father of her kids, even when jesus was on the cross of calvary, he ask God to forgive his killers, the problem is that we put somuch trust on our so called pastors, that any way they interpret the word of God we believe it is the truth. she should stop saying she is a bornagain christian, the only reason if she should divorce her husband is if she caught her with another woman. Angry 
Posted: at 7-04-2012 09:04 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- lanudja at 7-04-2012 09:14 AM (12 years ago)
The Lord wil meet u at d point of ur need.
Posted: at 7-04-2012 09:14 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- proly at 7-04-2012 10:15 AM (12 years ago)
d ALMIGHTY GOD will see u tru nd bless ur marriage in JESUS name AMEN
Posted: at 7-04-2012 10:15 AM (12 years ago) | Hero
- sammy111 at 7-04-2012 10:28 AM (12 years ago)
IF I HEAR...EHHH
Posted: at 7-04-2012 10:28 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- agbonson at 7-04-2012 10:32 AM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 7-04-2012 10:32 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- sonjohn994 at 7-04-2012 10:49 AM (12 years ago)
Sorry i m  not interested Look for your Husband somewhere Else ..lol
Posted: at 7-04-2012 10:49 AM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- FRANKLYNJUDGE at 7-04-2012 11:02 AM (12 years ago)
Come on go back to ur  marriage  quick  before  u regret  it  forever,  there is no reason of divorce   remember  God  hate divorce  and u are calling urself  a child  of God, please  go back to ur marriage.
Posted: at 7-04-2012 11:02 AM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- BendelArmedRobb at 7-04-2012 12:22 PM (12 years ago)
you are too much!!! Cheesy Cheesy coffee wey I dey drink for hia comot for my nose as I read this. Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 7-04-2012 12:22 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Adikpe at 7-04-2012 12:54 PM (12 years ago)
Don Jazzy sauce! That is great.
Posted: at 7-04-2012 12:54 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osupia at 7-04-2012 01:17 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: utomilan on  7-04-2012 08:33 AM
VIVA LA VIDA live life or leave the life
i na evu otere evu ka ina aku otu na scale......................franchez Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 7-04-2012 01:17 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- osupia at 7-04-2012 01:21 PM (12 years ago)
Quote from: chisparlis on  7-04-2012 11:07 AM
MEN ARE JUST FOOLS AND DUMPS, MEN ARE THE REASONS WOMEN DUMP THEM AND GET LOST WITH ANOTHER MAN, WOMEN ARE EVILS AND IF YOU ARE NOT THAT STRONG MAN YOU WILL NEVER OVER COME THAT KIND OF A WOMAN. I KNOW ALL THE TRICKS THAT ANY KIND OF WOMAN IS TRYING TO PUT ON ME AND I WILL SHUN HER LIKE A DUMP, I RESPECT WOMEN THAT HAVE FEAR OF GOD AND KNOW WHAT RESPONSIBILITY IS ALL ABOUT, BUT THOSE HOLES AND BITCHES THEY CAN GET THE MONEY AND GIVE ME fcuk BUT DON'T GO THERE, I MEAN DON'T PRETEND LIKE YOU LOVE ME BECAUSE I KNOW.........fcuk MEN AND WOMEN... I WAS NOT BORN IN THIS WORLD TO BE CALLED BORN BY MISTAKE, NEW GENERATION IS PUTTING PEOPLE INTO NON SENSE, I DON'T KNOW  WHY SEX SHOULD BE THE REASON WE DO THINGS THAT IS BEYOND THE ACT OF GOD, THE PEOPLE THAT CLAIM CHRISTIANS ARE THE PEOPLE THAT IS CORRUPTING THIS WORLD, GO TO CHURCH YOU SEE THEM LOOKING LIKE ANGELS BUT THE EVILS IN THEM IS MORE THAN ANY EVIL YOU CAN EVER THINK OF, CHRISTIANS ARE EVILS, MUSLIM SHOULD CONTINUE KILLING THEM LIKE CHICKEN, AT LEAST MUSLIMS RESPECT MARRIAGE AND KEEP IT TO THE END. TODAY CHRISTIANS ARE fcukING UP AFTER MARRYING FOR BETTER AND FOR WORST.......fcuk YOU ALL HEART BREAKERS, YOU CAN'T GET ME
kikikikikikikikikikkikiikkikikikikiki........................i no understand u oooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Posted: at 7-04-2012 01:21 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming