Nigerian Justice: Young Girl Jailed For Four Years For Buying Stolen Phone

Date: 16-04-2012 12:38 pm (12 years ago) | Author: Daniel Bosai
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8
- at 16-04-2012 12:38 PM (12 years ago)
What is this Nigeria turning into sef? “In 2008, I bought a Starcomms phone for N10,000 in order to start a business centre. A few days later, a man called me and said the phone was stolen from him. I told the man I didn’t know it was stolen. We had an agreement that I should return the phone and he would refund my money.

I gave the man my address but when he got to my place, he said the phone was stolen from him along with his laptop and some other vital documents. He accused me of being a thief, called the police and had me arrested. I was charged with robbery and have been in Kirikiri since then as my trial has yet to begin.”

I told the IPO that I was only 16 years old and that I knew nothing about the stolen phone but the IPO wrote 21 on my statement and claimed I was lying about my age. I was arraigned as an adult.”

This is the story of 20 year old Blessing Effion an awaiting trial inmate at the female section of Kirikiri Prisons, Lagos. Her case perhaps typifies the injustice suffered by the poor in the Nigerian society.

Unfortunately, even after four years,  Blessing's trial had not begun as the court was said to be awaiting advice from the Director of Public Prosecutions. The truth came out after the Akwa-Ibom indigene was interviewed by the Attorney-General of Lagos State Mr. Ade Ipaye during a visit to the prisons.

Posted: at 16-04-2012 12:38 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- terdue at 16-04-2012 01:00 PM (12 years ago)
that naija police for u
Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:00 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HOPEA23 at 16-04-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago)
Okay the 15 years old bought  the phone and didn't know it was a stolen phone and she bought  it in order to starts business with it..hmm can she still remember who solid the phone for and and where and the time,? If yes  Nametalkame  tell her to take the polices over there to questions the person.

Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:05 PM (12 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- AnnyhotSparkles at 16-04-2012 01:13 PM (12 years ago)
no allow make anythng carry ur leg enta police station o whether u b d most innocent person or near innocent...cos wen u get there...music go change 2 world song...police no go b ur frnd o
Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:13 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- ejisluv2 at 16-04-2012 01:18 PM (12 years ago)
Pathetic
Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:18 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adikpe at 16-04-2012 01:23 PM (12 years ago)
That was unfair
Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:23 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Lekan22 at 16-04-2012 01:29 PM (12 years ago)
NaijA Police!
Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:29 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 16-04-2012 01:34 PM (12 years ago)
what a pity
Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:34 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Idbabe at 16-04-2012 01:35 PM (12 years ago)
Unfortunately, even after four years,  Blessing's trial had not begun as the court was said to be awaiting advice from the Director of Public Prosecutions. The truth came out after the Akwa-Ibom indigene was interviewed by the Attorney-General of Lagos State Mr. Ade Ipaye during a visit to the prisons.

What is the truth that came out?  Is she out of the kirikiri now?  I tire for Naija police
Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:35 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- verah at 16-04-2012 01:54 PM (12 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Sad wat a pity haba

Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:54 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- verah at 16-04-2012 01:56 PM (12 years ago)
please what is d name of d ipo in cahrge that wrote 21 on d age am sure he must b a ................................................... my people don knw wetin i wan talk  Wink  Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink Wink

Posted: at 16-04-2012 01:56 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Bettygirls at 16-04-2012 02:03 PM (12 years ago)
poor girl, wahala deh oh!!!!
Posted: at 16-04-2012 02:03 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ssstrawberry at 16-04-2012 02:27 PM (12 years ago)
eya too bad
Posted: at 16-04-2012 02:27 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- ikwo1 at 16-04-2012 02:43 PM (12 years ago)
If this story is true and the girl was really a minor,the police man will never know peace for his life.
Posted: at 16-04-2012 02:43 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Diamond4u at 16-04-2012 02:46 PM (12 years ago)
nautalkam, stop behaving like a fool people hv told u several times 2 put  d source of ur news....
Posted: at 16-04-2012 02:46 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- Senegal at 16-04-2012 02:50 PM (12 years ago)
Naija
Posted: at 16-04-2012 02:50 PM (12 years ago) | Hero
- Nasman2 at 16-04-2012 02:52 PM (12 years ago)
what a pity, oh ma God  Shocked
Posted: at 16-04-2012 02:52 PM (12 years ago) | Newbie
- onlyGodknows at 16-04-2012 02:52 PM (12 years ago)
Phone thievery
Posted: at 16-04-2012 02:52 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- agbonson at 16-04-2012 03:10 PM (12 years ago)
four years? impossible... Angry
Posted: at 16-04-2012 03:10 PM (12 years ago) | Upcoming
- malvin2525 at 16-04-2012 03:33 PM (12 years ago)
Posted: at 16-04-2012 03:33 PM (12 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4 ... 8