UNILAG students continue prostest; block third mainland bridge (Page 5)

Date: 30-05-2012 12:11 pm (11 years ago) | Author: hakeem Babatunde
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 10
- maryclaret at 31-05-2012 02:28 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: batima on 31-05-2012 01:20 AM
I'm appalled that people think the fight not to rename UNILAG to Mushroom Abiola University (MAU) is all about swag. i dont need to guess that its non UNILAG students that are speaking this way. Unilag being one of the best in West Africa and 200 in the whole world attests that the school has distinguished its self in exceptional global academic excellence. To flush all these down the toilet just becos GEJ needs a political nod from the South west is disheartening. My reasons for saying this are not far - fetched:

Firstly, UNILAG is not a street or a baby or an individual that you name and rename as you wish and once you print out the change of name in guardian or tribune newspaper the story ends. It is an institution established by acts, constitution, ordinances and has constitutional rights hence due process must be followed. what due process was followed in this case? the president bypassed the school council, senate, the legislative arm of the NASS, did not receive the votes of 2/3rd majority of NASS before changing a constitutional body. This so unacceptable for a president that claims to celebrate democracy. Democracy is about the rule this was absent by the 'suprise announcement'.

Secondly, UNILAG has a population of at least 40,000 students excluding staff members, college of  medicine and its staffs. The cost to print new identity cards for these amount of people, the resources to be spent and time to be wasted is not worth it if its for the same 'democracy' that is being practiced by this PDP govt-govt for the few,of the few and by the few. it would cost billions of naira to build and implement the change in the university and its college of medicine and i don't recall in Mr president speech any allocation being made for the name change.

Thirdly, the certificate that carries the prestigious University of Lagos stands us out in interviews, scholarship applications and even granting exemptions in writing professional exams within and outside Nigeria. we wont be there when these bodies are trying to process the name Mushroom Abiola University. The offer would have been given to another candidate from a school they understand is founded on principles and not politics. our certificate credibility is what we fight for. this is the main reason Unilag students are on the streets. this is the reason we study hard so we can work and be successful with our certificates. Britain is one of the world power and has so many heroes why hasn't it changed the Harvard, Standford, Liverpool Universities to these heroes' names. UNILAG is Nigeria's Harvard, a global brand, Africa's pride!!!!!

we cannot say this name change will not come with its cost. we know this govt. if its has to fund the name change this would lead to increase in  tuition to probably N450,000. this is why we are saying NNNNNNOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!

If Mr President believes so much in this democracy let him use the money for National Museum to build a befitting University for the late democrat Abiola or revive Abiola Scholarship fund or better yet his extinguished businesses. we see national heroes on our naira notes. i think we av seen enough them. its time to move forward, make and celebrate new heroes like Gov. Fashola of Lagos State, Gov. Rochas Okorocha of Imo state, Gov Godwill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom, to mention but a few. These once have delivered and are still delivering dividends of democracy.

we are saying NO to manipulation, we are saying NO to unwarranted sufferings, we are saying NO to ruining our certificates, we are saying  to the abuse of power and flagrant disobedience for the rule of law. We are saying no to UNILAG becoming history!!!!!!!!

ALUTA CONTINUA VICTIRIA SANITAS!!!!!!!!
GREATEST AKOKITE!!! UNILAG SHALL NOT DIE!!!

You make very good points here. Now that I think about it, this is just one of the reasons why it's harder for Nigerians abroad to have their college diplomas approved by the instutions they are in to further or continut their education....just hope no one has to lose his or her life for this.

Posted: at 31-05-2012 02:28 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ngeboju at 31-05-2012 03:33 AM (11 years ago)
To my considerable shock that President Goodluck Jonathan did not even think it fit to consult or inform the administrators of the university, including Council and Senate, of his intention to re-name their university for any reason, however laudable.
Posted: at 31-05-2012 03:33 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- malvin2525 at 31-05-2012 05:24 AM (11 years ago)
 Undecided
Posted: at 31-05-2012 05:24 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chidiex at 31-05-2012 05:53 AM (11 years ago)
may GOD help our country,
Posted: at 31-05-2012 05:53 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- kingselyokafor at 31-05-2012 07:00 AM (11 years ago)
hahahahaahhahaa nigerian mentality continues,just to show respect,gratitude and immortalize the name m.k.o abiola for the life lost while vine for democracy,and the whole ghost student of lagos state university appear visible on the road  in protest ,GOD punish devil.u people are fools.can ur old school name give u job when u finished school mumu,cant u people understand the meaning of changing the name of ur school,or do u think that this is fuel subsidy.if i am gudluck jonathan i wil close down the university for now ,because  u people have insulted the government for protesting against this.i know seriouse student are in school ,only the scallywags ,nonentities,hudloms,lagos state university of armrobbery students and alayes are doing this protest.shame  on u yorubas
Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:00 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- dickman2 at 31-05-2012 07:28 AM (11 years ago)
nawaooooooooooooo..e no easy ooooo
Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:28 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 31-05-2012 07:28 AM (11 years ago)
nawaooooooooooooo..e no easy ooooo
Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:28 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- judegiven at 31-05-2012 07:30 AM (11 years ago)
i 'll advice them to go back to their studies,cos this riot won't change the situation.our government are bad,all they want to see is another human blood been waisted,is better that they should keep on with there studies,is only God that will change the situation of this country.the changing of the school name won't change their ability,it won't change their brain and it won't cause any damage to the school or affect it in any way and what matter's most is what you gain from the school,your degree,thats all.so is better that you all should go back to your different studies
Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:30 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aliaaz at 31-05-2012 07:36 AM (11 years ago)
k

Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:36 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- danny6 at 31-05-2012 07:53 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: gifted222ify on 30-05-2012 04:33 PM
I don't know the way most people think,
what has the Name of a school have to do with ur course outline , ur career , ur dignity , ur study time , ur future , ur certificate , and even ur person?
This name is a name of a school and not ur surnames.
why on earth will students protest over a change of name if not for pride?
why don't u go to school and face the reason y u are in school instead of protesting over something that is not worth it.
I am really sure that if ur course outline were to be changed for a simpler one or to that of a secondary school most of u will never protest
pls come over this nonsense and fight for ur own name.

Thank you for this wonderful and astute comment. Kiss Kiss Kiss

Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:53 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- danny6 at 31-05-2012 07:54 AM (11 years ago)
This is why Nigeria still in the ladder of retrogression, Our educational system is in shambles, how on earth will changing of name affect their (student) academic pursuit if not stupidity and ignorant, I surely believe that those who involve themselves in this meticulous protest are illiterates who doesn't want to relax and read. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:54 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- steveoneal at 31-05-2012 07:55 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Keffejude on 30-05-2012 07:44 PM
dats d hight of joblessness if em 2 vex make em go boil stone chop or rather go private sch if fit afford am. Anyways i n o blame em cuz dats d yorubas natural attitude(fighting 4wat isnt theres). Like say em papa done put pillar or add any block to unilag apart 4rm their lii sch fees.
MR LECTURER;; ARE YOU SURE THAT YOU ACTUALLY WORE THAT GOWN FOR REAL AT ONE TIME IN YOUR LIFE;; COS YOU AINT BEHAVING OR TALKING LIKE SOMEONE THAT REALLY PASSED THRU ELEMENTARY SCHOOL;;OR IS ONE OF YOUR PREREQUISITE COURSES TRIBALISM 201;;HUH; THE WAYS YOU ATTACH TRIBES OR RACES SENTIMENTS TO ISSUE TEND TO DEPICT THAT YOU A SOMEBODY THAT ISNT WORTH LEAVING HIS HAMLET FOR ONCE;;;ARE THERE ONLY YORUBA STUDENTS IN UNILAG???WHAT A BLIND AND ERRATIC CONCLUSION FROM YOU;; I HOPE YOU GET A LIFE AND REALLY LET THE LIFE PASS THRU YOU;; AND NOT YOU JUST PASSING THRU THE LIFE
Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:55 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- danny6 at 31-05-2012 07:58 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ROYAlPRINCE77 on 30-05-2012 09:00 PM
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH so fbi sabi talk self i think say na deaf and dumb before.....maybe na person help am comment here Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin no more stop by to say hi the best English he can speak Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

lol' Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:58 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- danny6 at 31-05-2012 07:59 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FinlandGuy on 30-05-2012 09:07 PM
Pls GEJ Change all the University in the North to Boko Haram University of Bombing Technology,dat is if there any uni dia in the North !!! This one there will be no protest all.  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Guy your blood dey hot....oooo!! Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?
Posted: at 31-05-2012 07:59 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- j_snk at 31-05-2012 08:00 AM (11 years ago)
I think the students are just not serious with their studies, the name has nothing to do with learning and moreover so many other institutions in the country has had a name change before Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin ..MAU sounds really good.. Grin Grin
Posted: at 31-05-2012 08:00 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 31-05-2012 08:15 AM (11 years ago)
very serious  oooooooooooooo
Posted: at 31-05-2012 08:15 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 31-05-2012 08:22 AM (11 years ago)
this man MKO was the African piller of sport , he contributed to the sport in Africa much more than any living men and women , so why not named the national stadium after him ?that would have been better rather than the nonsense naming of the unilag, the common sense is no more common here oooooo
Posted: at 31-05-2012 08:22 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- urchmony at 31-05-2012 08:27 AM (11 years ago)
what is the name;Unilag!!! could u imagine the reason this student is protesting just want to be braging on the name UNILAG.any reasonable parent should call thier children to order and let them no that they went there not to hala Unilag but to read and come out with a flying colour and if any thing should be done on issue of changing the name of the school back to Unilag let it be done through a dialog wt the fg and the gorvaning of the instution body and stop disturbing the peace of the nation with UNILAG!UNILAG!UNILAG
Posted: at 31-05-2012 08:27 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- obinobest at 31-05-2012 09:07 AM (11 years ago)
The say is becos of change of name,, I ask!! What has change of name got to do with Academic Excellence?
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:07 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- edobaking at 31-05-2012 09:35 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FBI_CIA on 30-05-2012 01:20 PM

Treasure2 or wateva ya nem is, I have bn 4-lowing ur comments and u always sm to criticize GEJ. wetin be ur own sef? Na Goodluck Jonathan send u to Italy to do Ashawo abi na during his govt u decide to go Italy for ur Ashawo profession? ans my Question ooo

why all this insult man, u are just a fool defending and idiote shame on u 
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:35 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 10