UNILAG students continue prostest; block third mainland bridge (Page 8)

Date: 30-05-2012 12:11 pm (11 years ago) | Author: hakeem Babatunde
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9 10
- knightxxx at 31-05-2012 09:13 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: reelme on 30-05-2012 04:52 PM
Pls before u criticise, try to put urself in deir shoes... The school authority said it wsnt notified before d change of name...dats nt hw democracy works... U wont expect ppl to jst keep quiet wen procedures r nt followed... Blame jonathan's authocratic totz for wat u r seein on TV
he does nt ned to consult any1 as it was a suprise  democracy gift to 1 who lost his life for democracy. He acted in his full capacity though i am nt a fan of GEJ i dont see anything wrong in what he has done.
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:13 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- knightxxx at 31-05-2012 09:19 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: laskywizzy on 31-05-2012 08:35 PM
Changing of school name is a normal thing that has been happening in some part of Nigeria. Many university names was changed and there was no protest against it, so how come UNILAG own is now a different thing? The brilliant students wont come out to protest on such thing. I know people that will protest for this kind thing is the un-serious ones. President has the final say, weather the unserious students like it or not. Imo State University (IMSU) was changed to Evan Enwerem University, so UNILAG must also be change. Final.
They hv no work dey just want 2 to stay in d street, in uk alot of 23 yrs old re doin PHD dey re busy wasting their time about name of sch n some of them re 25yrs still battling wit name of sch n first degree.
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:19 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- knightxxx at 31-05-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: laskywizzy on 31-05-2012 08:35 PM
Changing of school name is a normal thing that has been happening in some part of Nigeria. Many university names was changed and there was no protest against it, so how come UNILAG own is now a different thing? The brilliant students wont come out to protest on such thing. I know people that will protest for this kind thing is the un-serious ones. President has the final say, weather the unserious students like it or not. Imo State University (IMSU) was changed to Evan Enwerem University, so UNILAG must also be change. Final.
They hv no work dey just want 2 to stay in d street, in uk alot of 23 yrs old re doin PHD dey re busy wasting their time about name of sch n some of them re 25yrs still battling wit name of sch n first degree.
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:20 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- goddy4real at 31-05-2012 09:28 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FBI_CIA on 30-05-2012 01:20 PM

Treasure2 or wateva ya nem is, I have bn 4-lowing ur comments and u always sm to criticize GEJ. wetin be ur own sef? Na Goodluck Jonathan send u to Italy to do Ashawo abi na during his govt u decide to go Italy for ur Ashawo profession? ans my Question ooo

FBI or CIA whatever you call your name.... Make the God of progress bend that your hand wey you take type this rubbish!!! Amen.... wettin consign her comment with her profession...  look and get out if you had notting to comment, and stop casting out your freeking Curses on someone else... try and see a pastor for deliverance..(good advice)  Angry Angry 
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:28 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- ajanni at 31-05-2012 09:38 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Senegal on 31-05-2012 07:16 PM
Will u shut dat ur mouth before i do it for u? What do u know about WAEC and GCE? Aboki!

monki
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:38 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 31-05-2012 09:39 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dickman2 on 31-05-2012 07:17 PM
okada man u dey crazy ooh..

footwagen truck pusher, you well so?
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:39 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- ajanni at 31-05-2012 09:45 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: goddy4real on 31-05-2012 07:39 PM
FBI or CIA whatever you call your name.... Make God the of progress bend that your hand wey you take type this rubbish!!! Amen.... wettin consign her comment with her profession...  look and get out if you had notting to comment, and stop casting out your freeking Curses on someone else... try and see a pastor for deliverance..(good advice)  Angry Angry
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:45 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- divyne at 31-05-2012 09:47 PM (11 years ago)
Now let's face the truth here............ Why trying to kill yourselves for things like this Huh? Afterall when they moved the capital of Nigeria to Abuja (North) you didnt kill yourselves............. then why this  one that at least the Versity is still in Lag Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 31-05-2012 09:47 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- igbonnanna at 31-05-2012 10:09 PM (11 years ago)

Treasure2 or wateva ya nem is, I have bn 4-lowing ur comments and u always sm to criticize GEJ. wetin be ur own sef? Na Goodluck Jonathan send u to Italy to do Ashawo abi na during his govt u decide to go Italy for ur Ashawo profession? ans my Question ooo

@FBI_CIA, - the person without picture, often faceless fakes and shameless cheats here. It's absurd. It's bad. It Stinks. It's shameful. It's uncivil and it's uncalled among others that you criticize Treasure2. This lady is one of the respected ladies here on NP. She is not  and has never lived in Italy either. GEJ has depicted enough poor and shameless leadership and cowardice in Nigeria. It boils down to show or reveal his past. May be he never attained the Vice Presidency position through merit route. Since he assumed power, like the predecessprs, no development of praise has happened in Nigeria. I was never a fan to Obasanjo at all, but he at least he privatized NITEL and today, many Nigerians can now be online, use BBs, telephones, etc. which since 1960 Nigerians never afforded unlike other African countries. THAT MAN, JONAH SHOULD GO. His history will be written. It's only a question of time.

So your criticism against Treasure2 is SHAMEFUL (if you have any), FAILURE and BIASED. Check my writings here, I have no time to talk on trivialities. I hate your statement against Treasure2. I do not know Treasure2 either, and she did not make any bad comment, but I follow her and most comments here, often. She is a careful lady. You FBI_CIA is the WORST PERSON hiding under the cloak of NP to mess around, I have seen here. Those who reap on peoples blood and unhappiness. I am not interested to know your person or your like you even those in the present Presidency. Very Important Personality, Integrity and Dignity (Hereoism) is obtained by those who can demonstrate courage and true leadership.
Posted: at 31-05-2012 10:09 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Tyahaya at 31-05-2012 10:18 PM (11 years ago)

wetin do you  Huh? Huh? she didn't say anything about GEJ..
Posted: at 31-05-2012 10:18 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 31-05-2012 10:41 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FinlandGuy on 30-05-2012 08:19 PM

Hahahahahhaah My Friend FBI_CIA, I thought you would have stopped by to say Hi !!! Why commenting today na,i surprise ohh,Your first comment since you join this forum come be insult,me no know say u fit talk like dis ohhh.

You have been monitoring her comment as FBI/CIA naaaaaa.Pls no monitor my own comment,people like ajanni,cardnre dejola and co,make u dey monitor dem a beg!!!!

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 31-05-2012 10:41 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Tyahaya at 31-05-2012 10:42 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: sirdonclemo on 31-05-2012 05:20 PM
Name Change Really is that what people are protesting for . That is a very stupid move you dont have basic amenities in Nigeria, no good research facilities, classes are overcrowded but you are not complaining. Then you come out to protest about name change. Change is a constant thing one of the best university in the world "HAVARD" was initially called New College" or "the college at New Towne it was renamed Havard and many more has been renamed. is it not people that make name.

Due process what part of the constitutions or what act  says that to change a federal government school's name you have to consult the school i bet you wouldn't find any. This why i get angry at Nigerians taking decisions without facts. People work with facts in other countries to protest but we work on assumption.  nobody is protesting against high unemployment rate, high inflation rate, uncontrollable corruption and others una say na school name change una dey protest for .. i wish una good luck
DO NOT BE DECEIVED THE MAJOR THING AN EMPLOYER IS LOOKING FOR IS IF AN INDIVIDUAL CAN DO THE WORK NOT IF HE HAS A UNILAG DEGREE MY BROTHER HAD A UNILAG DEGREE BUT COULDN'T FIND A JOB FOR MORE THAN 8 YEARS THAT WAS BACK IN 1999.
AGAIN GOODLUCK PROTESTING OVER NAME CHANGE WHILE CORRUPTION THRIVES OUT THERE  

God Go bless you my brother...aimless students bragging on position 200 in the world,no be how u go become 1st u are suppose to be fighting 4,um um,na name dem they fight 4 and school law,what has school law achieved 4 them other than constant strike.mtcheeew!! lecturers are sleeping with students,dem no protest on that,no enough school facilities,dem no protest on that,cults around naija universities,dem no protest on that..many big big issues dem no protest on,na name dey won kill themselves on,i'm sure they don drop to position 300 after this protest,cos dey don fall Uni's hand,take it or leave it,the only thing that is sure in this world is CHANGE!!!
Posted: at 31-05-2012 10:42 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 31-05-2012 10:43 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: FinlandGuy on 30-05-2012 09:07 PM
Pls GEJ Change all the University in the North to Boko Haram University of Bombing Technology,dat is if there any uni dia in the North !!! This one there will be no protest all.  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Posted: at 31-05-2012 10:43 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 31-05-2012 10:50 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: batima on 31-05-2012 01:20 AM
I'm appalled that people think the fight not to rename UNILAG to Mushroom Abiola University (MAU) is all about swag. i dont need to guess that its non UNILAG students that are speaking this way. Unilag being one of the best in West Africa and 200 in the whole world attests that the school has distinguished its self in exceptional global academic excellence. To flush all these down the toilet just becos GEJ needs a political nod from the South west is disheartening. My reasons for saying this are not far - fetched:

Firstly, UNILAG is not a street or a baby or an individual that you name and rename as you wish and once you print out the change of name in guardian or tribune newspaper the story ends. It is an institution established by acts, constitution, ordinances and has constitutional rights hence due process must be followed. what due process was followed in this case? the president bypassed the school council, senate, the legislative arm of the NASS, did not receive the votes of 2/3rd majority of NASS before changing a constitutional body. This so unacceptable for a president that claims to celebrate democracy. Democracy is about the rule this was absent by the 'suprise announcement'.

Secondly, UNILAG has a population of at least 40,000 students excluding staff members, college of  medicine and its staffs. The cost to print new identity cards for these amount of people, the resources to be spent and time to be wasted is not worth it if its for the same 'democracy' that is being practiced by this PDP govt-govt for the few,of the few and by the few. it would cost billions of naira to build and implement the change in the university and its college of medicine and i don't recall in Mr president speech any allocation being made for the name change.

Thirdly, the certificate that carries the prestigious University of Lagos stands us out in interviews, scholarship applications and even granting exemptions in writing professional exams within and outside Nigeria. we wont be there when these bodies are trying to process the name Mushroom Abiola University. The offer would have been given to another candidate from a school they understand is founded on principles and not politics. our certificate credibility is what we fight for. this is the main reason Unilag students are on the streets. this is the reason we study hard so we can work and be successful with our certificates. Britain is one of the world power and has so many heroes why hasn't it changed the Harvard, Standford, Liverpool Universities to these heroes' names. UNILAG is Nigeria's Harvard, a global brand, Africa's pride!!!!!

we cannot say this name change will not come with its cost. we know this govt. if its has to fund the name change this would lead to increase in  tuition to probably N450,000. this is why we are saying NNNNNNOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!

If Mr President believes so much in this democracy let him use the money for National Museum to build a befitting University for the late democrat Abiola or revive Abiola Scholarship fund or better yet his extinguished businesses. we see national heroes on our naira notes. i think we av seen enough them. its time to move forward, make and celebrate new heroes like Gov. Fashola of Lagos State, Gov. Rochas Okorocha of Imo state, Gov Godwill Akpabio of Akwa Ibom, to mention but a few. These once have delivered and are still delivering dividends of democracy.

we are saying NO to manipulation, we are saying NO to unwarranted sufferings, we are saying NO to ruining our certificates, we are saying  to the abuse of power and flagrant disobedience for the rule of law. We are saying no to UNILAG becoming history!!!!!!!!

ALUTA CONTINUA VICTIRIA SANITAS!!!!!!!!
GREATEST AKOKITE!!! UNILAG SHALL NOT DIE!!!

WELL SAID

Posted: at 31-05-2012 10:50 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- youngeazy at 31-05-2012 10:58 PM (11 years ago)
@ SAINTKITTS ur i love ur advice bt my talk goes 2 all de gvt pple in nija coz i will tell them wht i want 2 tel them bt dey can nt kill me soon all dis will come 2 end unilag ve been name unilag 4 over hw many years b4 u dream 2 be 2 be in dat sit,mi follow free them let them do dey mind and @ last dey will hear 4rm god
Posted: at 31-05-2012 10:58 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- stevesharon at 31-05-2012 11:21 PM (11 years ago)
You bet the promising ones aren't the ones out there protesting.
Posted: at 31-05-2012 11:21 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- smartiyke at 31-05-2012 11:26 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Maggiecube on 31-05-2012 07:32 PM
I suggest jona should resign or be impeach. Period! He is a loser

Maggie, how are you?
Posted: at 31-05-2012 11:26 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- smartiyke at 31-05-2012 11:32 PM (11 years ago)

Man, you are a big jerk. I bet you don't know the meaning of FBI and CIA, you douche bag
Posted: at 31-05-2012 11:32 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- navygee at 31-05-2012 11:47 PM (11 years ago)
Can't Mr. President engage his time into something more meaningful than re-naming schools and giving out awards.

He should please be serious.

May God open his eyes to see.
Posted: at 31-05-2012 11:47 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- wilat at 1-06-2012 12:31 AM (11 years ago)
The students are just being foolish,what has change of name got to do with their studies.

Posted: at 1-06-2012 12:31 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 ... 5 6 7 [8] 9 10