Tragedy: Senator, State Assembly Leader Shot Dead By Gunmen In Plateau State (Page 9)

Date: 08-07-2012 7:52 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
1 ... 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13
- franel at 9-07-2012 12:33 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: cadanre on  9-07-2012 09:59 AM
My brother this has to do with the foolish and stupid poster. Nowhere in the Vanguard Newspaper you could find his first paragraph of the post. So the mentioning of Fulani is the poster's doing. Up till now, nobody is blaming Fulani or Berom of being the mastermind of the attack. You can see from the Vanguard Newspaper website: http://www.vanguardngr.com/2012/07/tragedy-in-plateau-senator-house-leader-50-others-killed/

Some people are meant to be rumour mongers.

I am short of words except the fact that all what you said above is not true.
Cadanre, it is not today that you started commenting on what I post starting from JOKE Forum. But you shock me with this particular comment.
Well, despite the subheading was changed from what I posted.
Find the RED words below:

Quote from: franel on  9-07-2012 01:54 AM
THE NEWS IN FULL....

JOS— The dark cloud of death that has been stalking Plateau State thickened, yesterday, after Senator Gyang Dantong and the Majority Leader of the Plateau State House of Assembly, Mr. Gyang Fulani were killed while attending the mass burial of about 50 victims of Saturday’s attack on villages in Barkin Ladi and Riyom local government areas of the state.

The killing of the lawmakers came on the heels of the discovery, yesterday, of the remains of over 50 persons mostly women and children burnt inside the residence of a local pastor where they had taken refuge following the attack on about 14 villages by suspected Fulani herdsmen on Saturday.

The two lawmakers were reportedly gunned down at Maseh village in Riyom LGA where over 50 victims of Saturday’s attack were being buried.  The gunmen reportedly stormed the venue and opened fire on those present, causing more deaths.

Member representing Barkin-Ladi/Riyom Constituency in the House of Representatives, Mr. Simon Mwadkon was lucky as he escaped with injuries and was resuscitated at the Barkin-Ladi General Hospital where he was rushed to after he fainted.

Senator Dantong was the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP senator representing the Plateau North Senatorial District and was until his death yesterday, the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Health. The developments which sparked angry reactions across Plateau State was immediately flayed by the senate with Senate President David Mark describing the death as a personal loss. Senator Dantong’s colleagues in the Senate including Senate spokesman, Enyinnanya Abaribe; Senators Pius Ehwerido and Ifeanyi Okowa also paid tributes to a man they described as a gentleman.

Speaker Aminu Tambuwal of the House of Representatives also joined in the condemnation of the killings, describing Senator Dantong as a man of peace whose death is highly regrettable.

The death of the 50 persons in the residence of the pastor of the Church of Christ in Nigeria at Maseh village was believed to have been the handiwork of the suspected Fulani herdsmen who were believed to have torched the house when they discovered that the people had taken refuge there.

The killing of the lawmakers sparked off angry reactions around the plateau as youths took over the highway to protest what they described as a genocide against the Berom people allegedly by the Fulani.

The angry reaction following yesterday’s killings forced many motorists travelling along the Jos-Riyom highway to turn back to avoid being caught in the disturbance.

The Permanent Secretary in charge of security in the Cabinet Office, Mr. Istifanus Gyang confirmed the killing of the two lawmakers.

Condemnation greets killings

Commenting on the killings, a Jos-based civil rights group, Centre for the Advocacy of Justice and Rights in a statement by its Director, Mr. Gad Peter called for the sacking of all  security chiefs in the country.

“It is a clear indictment of the inability of the Special Task Force and the Federal Government to provide security for the citizens of Plateau State. It is also a clear statement that we are no longer safe in this country.

“We demand the mass retirement of all security chiefs and for Mr. President to give us a roadmap on how he intends to solve the Plateau crises and other issues of insecurity in the Northern part of the country within two weeks.

“We use this opportunity to appeal to the people of Plateau State not to take the law into their hands”, the statement said.

Violence broke out in parts of Jos and other Berom communities as news of the killing of the senator and the majority leader spread as youths took over the highways in Rayfield, Bukuru and other areas to protest the killings.

Security men had difficult time restoring order as the youth accused them of being effective only in checking them while the Fulani herdsmen, who they alleged perpetrated the killings, had a field day.

Describing the death of the senator as a great shock, Senator Mark in a statement signed by his Special Adviser, Media and Publicity, Kola Ologbondiyan, noted that the death of Dantong was a personal loss.  He, however, warned that, “the incessant killings of innocent Nigerians must be stopped,” adding that the federal government, state and local governments and security operatives must rise to halt the senseless killings.

“We must do everything within the ambit of our laws to ensure that this type of murderous act is stopped. As a nation, we must just rise against those who are determined to return us to a state of nature where life had little or no value.”

According to Senator Mark, the deceased was “a patriotic parliamentarian, quintessential gentleman and committed nationalist who was killed in active service to his fatherland.”

Senator Abaribe, stressed that the murder of Senator Dantong was a tragedy to the Senate and described him as a calm, gentle, unassuming, loving and humane doctor.

Also reacting, Dantong’s Vice in the Senate Committee on Health, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa, described the late Senator as a calm man who was passionate about his work and his people, adding that he was always going on weekends to have a feeling of his people’s problems.

Senator Ehwerido on his part said yesterday: ”Senator Dantong was a distinguished colleague and gentleman. It’s painful to lose him in this barbarous manner.”

Speaker Tambuwal in a statement issued by his Special Adviser on Media, Mr. Imam Imam said the incessant killings in the state and other parts of the country must be stopped forthwith. While condoling with the government and people of Plateau State over the losses, the Speaker said the House of Representatives in particular, and the National Assembly in general, will continue to liaise with other arms of government and security agencies to find lasting solution to the spate of violence bedeviling the nation.

According to the Speaker, criminal groups hide under different guises to cause mayhem in the country, as such, Nigerians should remain resolute in their quest for lasting peace.

He said Nigeria is greater than any group, and expressed optimism that this dark period in our history would soon pass.

The Peoples Democratic Party in its reaction expressed utter shock at renewed violence in Plateau State describing as heinous and reprehensible the Sunday violent attack that claimed the lives of Senator Dantong,  Mr. Gyang

A statement by the National  Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Chief Olisa Metuh said the party was deeply worried and regretted that the development was coming as Federal Government was making fresh efforts to tackle the nation’s security challenges.

Curfew in parts of Plateau

Meanwhile, the state government has imposed a curfew in some areas of the state. A statement signed by Commissioner for Information and Communication, Yiljap Abraham said: “In view of the prevailing security situation, the Governor of Plateau State Dr Jonah Jang is hereby imposing a curfew in the following areas: Jos North, Jos South, Barkin Ladi and Riyom LGAs with immediate effect. The curfew will start from 7.30 today to 7.00 tomorrow morning, while the curfew starts 6pm tomorrow to 7am till further notice”.

Posted: at 9-07-2012 12:33 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- mkpume22 at 9-07-2012 12:38 PM (11 years ago)
It is quite unfortunate that this incessant killings, christian are always their target. I knowplateau as a Christian's land yet muslims north are too desperate to kill every christian there simply because they voted for south for presidency, secondly plateau state is govern by christian n majority leaders in their house of assembly are christians .

the regrettable conditions is gowon has never treated indigbo with fairly during the biafran civil war n he will gradually reap what he sowed        
Posted: at 9-07-2012 12:38 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vicklove at 9-07-2012 12:49 PM (11 years ago)
I know say boko haram don send you here to represent them. the God that you defile will visit you.

ok i dey wait. MUMU

GOD would surely visit you fool. remember God is in charge of your life. ewu
Posted: at 9-07-2012 12:49 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crusifixo at 9-07-2012 12:51 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Methuselah on  9-07-2012 11:21 AM

WAITING IN VAIN DUDE!   GOD DONT GIVE A fcuk,HE IS BUSY COUNTING SUNDAY MONEY

YOU THIS IMBECILE HOW DID YOU MANAGE TO TYPE THIS..... Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 9-07-2012 12:51 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- crusifixo at 9-07-2012 12:52 PM (11 years ago)
THIS NEWS IS NOT GOOD ENOUGH UNTIL DEY SHOOT BUHARI THEIR SPONSOR IN THE HEAD..... Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 9-07-2012 12:52 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 9-07-2012 12:57 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: igbonnanna on  9-07-2012 11:03 AM
A MUST READ FOR ALL SOUTHERN NIGERIANS: YORUBA, IGBO, MIDDLE-BELT, SOUTH-SOUTH, etc. etc. and reasonable HAUSAS too who want to be FREE from Deceits, Slavery and Marginalization.

The African Courier in Europe is a bi-monthly fearless magazine registered, approved and published in Germany, owned by a respected Nigerian Publisher and Author, Femi Awoniyi. There is a Special Edition that has carefully digged, researched and enumerated how the unpopular/untold history of Northern and Southern Protectorates of the British Empire to link with the present Boko Haram.

The Fulanis conquered the Hausas in 1500s and their leaders / Emirs then believed that they can subdue other minorities in the North to do what they like, lead and live how they like, and 'use' their minorities to join forces to force the Southern Nigerians to be under them throughout their lives or else they must ruthlessly deal with anyone who rose up against their authority. Britain saw this, and formed alliance with them to gain access to indirect rule. It worked well for British, that they then applied same indirect rule in other African countries like Kenya, etc. The speeches of Abubakar Tafawa Balewa, Ahmadu Bello on 12 October 1960, etc. spoke for itself. Quote: "This New Nation called Nigeria should be an estate of our great grandfather, Uthman Dan Fodio, whose spirit we used to conquer others ..(Hausas), etc. We must ruthlessly prevent a change of power. We use the minorities in the North as willing tools, and the South, as conquered territory and never allow them to rule over us, and never allow them to have control of their future"..Ahmadu Bello.

To cut it short: General Olusegun Obasanjo tried to balance power when he assumed his democratic 2nd term Presidency in Nigeria, they were shocked, very angry and afraid that they replied with the introduction of Sharia Law against the Constitution of Nigeria using  the then Governor of Zamfara State, Alhaji Ahmed Sani. To complement and cement their solidarity to oust Obasanjo, other 11 states of the North joined forces in order remove Obasanjo in power. Obasanjo being a Military too, decided to achieve it by all means and tried 3rd term but they being in power for long used their tentacles with their past Presidents and powerful men in the North to stop the move by propaganda, money, influence and cronies all over Nigeria and sensitize everybody. To their chagrin and diffuse tension, Obasanjo handed over to a Northerner, President Yar'adua who unfortunately for them died in Presidency.

They could not see and accept why a Christian, a Southerner again should succeed the Presidency despite he, Jonathan was the Vice President, hence they did all to scuffle that justifiable efforts, but local and international outcry stopped them that justice must be done. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan emerged to be President through the votes of the South and also the 'Northern Christians', while MOST  of the 'Northern Muslims' voted for Atiku/Buhari as they announced and wished in their mosques. The election was transparent, free and fair, ignoring their consensus Candidates Buhari and Atiku. In revenge, the unleashed the present mayhem against the 'Northern Christians' to wipe them out or force them to join the muslims (perpetuated by the Fulani leaders and top Northerners to weaken the Southerners and the earlier the better to coerce the Northern Christians to join them. This is the Boko Haram. THEY DECIDED TO MAKE THE GOVERNMENT UNGOVERNABLE FOR THE SOUTH TO CAUSE NIGERIANS TO RISE UP AGAINST JONATHAN OR ANY SOUTHERNER. GEJ does not eat, drink, sleep or enter the Seat in Aso Rock anyhow, considering what happened Abiola, Abacha, Tunde Idiagbon, his predecessors, etc. etc. They feel frustrasted and panicky here.

The article is much longer than this, dated back from 1914 to fulfill the British interest, because the Emirs did not want the Independence of Nigeria or Britain to go while it was only the Southerners who did want independence. Britain promised them support. In revenge against the Southern Nigeria, Britain rigged population census and election of Nigeria to make-believe that the Northern population were higher than the Southerners which was massively rejected by Southern Nigerians in 1953/54 First Census of Nigeria, but the British and Emirs forced it on Nigerians, etc. etc. claiming that Northerners are more in number which has been a blatant lie, but just a gimmick to be winning elections in Nigeria.

The support of England (west) for the Emirs for their economic interests contributes to the major cause of our problems and to oust Obasanjo courage who wanted to balance power. This issue puts a lot of weakness on Goodluck Jonathan to act, because any attempt may cause destabilization of Nigeria and the west may support to massacre Southerners to enjoy their oil very well.

Against these background, the Notable, educated, well informed, exposed and respectable Nigerians from the South wants a Sovereign National Conference but the Northerners and the Western countries, especially England don't want us to talk and dialogue on the future of our country Nigeria. Till now, any Southern President in Nigeria is in dilenma, and until date, we have only Obasanjo and Jonathan who have seen it all in the secret paper and print of the Contract.

IT was General Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu being a historian who came across a lot of information about England and Emirs of the North during his studies at Oxford, England and exposed the British and Emirs secrets during the peace talks to the whole world in Ethiopia and Aburi, Ghana. For that, they joined forces to deal with his efforts to correct the injustices and fair play. Then there were unfortunately few people who knew what he knew.

This is just a summary of the story.

MY DEAR Naijapals BROTHERS AND SISTERS, NOW WHAT DO WE DO? (Please think and give a reasonable contribution or leave it). You are not under obligation. Do not appear stupid, foolish or like an idiot by using insults instead of constructive criticism and or contribution).

To Read the African Courier, click: http://www.theafricancourier.de/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=500&Itemid=747 (http://www.theafricancourier.de/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=500&Itemid=747)
bros this too long na..anyway
Posted: at 9-07-2012 12:57 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 9-07-2012 12:58 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: igbonnanna on  9-07-2012 11:07 AM
Nigeria needs : SOVEREIGN NATIONAL CONFERENCE to discuss if we should be together as one, and how? Or SEGREGATE, DISSOLVE  and DIVIDEthis entity called Nigeria. Let each ethnic nation answer their father's name.
good talk ..
Posted: at 9-07-2012 12:58 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dickman2 at 9-07-2012 12:59 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: seeuthere22 on  9-07-2012 11:27 AM
dont mind them.......how far nah?
i dey my guy ..how far your side ..
Posted: at 9-07-2012 12:59 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- saddeq at 9-07-2012 01:03 PM (11 years ago)
WE ARE VERY HAPPY, GUD NEWS FOR ALL MUSLIMS UMMAH, BCOZ CHRISTENS ARE DISEASE IN THE WORLD WE HATE U ALL 
Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:03 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- dickman2 at 9-07-2012 01:14 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Solidstonez on  8-07-2012 08:43 PM
INTERESTING
why,,nothing dey intersting here..the senator na someone father and somebody husband..na bad thing happen to that family..how u dey ..wetin dey happen nah..no vex ooh..
Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:14 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- vicklove at 9-07-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago)
WE ARE VERY HAPPY, GUD NEWS FOR ALL MUSLIMS UMMAH, BCOZ CHRISTENS ARE DISEASE IN THE WORLD WE HATE U ALL 

fool why are you hiding yourself? GOD would surely wipe all of you bcos you are all disease to this great nation.
Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:24 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Boobies at 9-07-2012 01:37 PM (11 years ago)
Why cant these idiots divide this country for goodness sake...RIP TO THE DEAD IF HE'S A XTIAN BUT IF A MUSLIM...MAY HE ROT IN HELL
Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:37 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- estilizo at 9-07-2012 01:42 PM (11 years ago)
wowww  Cool Cool

Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:42 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 9-07-2012 01:43 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Boobies on  9-07-2012 01:37 PM
Why cant these idiots divide this country for goodness sake...RIP TO THE DEAD IF HE'S A XTIAN BUT IF A MUSLIM...MAY HE ROT IN HELL
Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:43 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- mkpume22 at 9-07-2012 01:51 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Boobies on  9-07-2012 01:37 PM
you sound too cantankerous to me with this your mean less comment. if you don't know what to write , is it not better you to put your rotten ass somewhere than coming here to show senseless you are ? by the way !!! who is idiot ? i guess its your father !!slattern Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Shocked Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:51 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mkpume22 at 9-07-2012 01:54 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: estilizo on  9-07-2012 01:42 PM
wowww  Cool Cool

What for ?? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:54 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 9-07-2012 01:54 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Dienedal on  9-07-2012 08:59 AM
She's not agirl he's a guy posing as a girl...that shows you how Dumb Hausa is Huh?
CAN YOU IMAGINE

Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:54 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- igbonnanna at 9-07-2012 01:59 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: dickman2 on  9-07-2012 12:57 PM
bros this too long na..anyway

Bros Dickman2, you are right, it's long, but I have even summarized it. The original article in the magazine is nearly 5 pages, and the gathered facts about these stinking evil-minded guys and women are over 200 pages. Their leaders being in government for a long time have scattered and promoted their agents in various Nigeria government offices, ministries, The Forces, high offices, security and so on. That is why, Jonathan Goodluck is finding it a BIG TASK and PROBLEM to tackle. They are infiltrators and saboteurs against innocent Nigerian Christians, honest Muslims and Southern Nigerians.

But God Almighty is already punishing them by exposing their atrocities because Nigerians are being gradually well informed against their bastardly and evil minded acts hidden behind the colliseum. That is why they feel unsettled and unease, and NEVER NEVER and NEVER wamt another Southerner to be on that Presidential Seat to get the Secrets about Nigeria they sold to the western countries at the alter of good governance. THEY ARE BIG FOOLS AND PIGS believing that Oyibo may accept them as partners?

They are blind not to see that even Britain are now amending their ways with their neighbours like Northern Ireland, etc. for the SWEEPING DEMOCRACY. They prefer Afghanistan, Somalia, and other Muslim type of country which America and the West are using to play politics.

So try to read this Article man. It is much more than what is here.
Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mkpume22 at 9-07-2012 01:59 PM (11 years ago)
Solid nwa xup!!!!
Posted: at 9-07-2012 01:59 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mkpume22 at 9-07-2012 02:01 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: igbonnanna on  9-07-2012 01:59 PM
Bros d*1*ckman2, you are right, it's long, but I have even summarized it. The original article in the magazine is nearly 5 pages, and the gathered facts about these stinking evil-minded guys and women are over 200 pages. Their leaders being in government for a long time have scattered and promoted their agents in various Nigeria government offices, ministries, The Forces, high offices, security and so on. That is why, Jonathan Goodluck is finding it a BIG TASK and PROBLEM to tackle. They are infiltrators and saboteurs against innocent Nigerian Christians, honest Muslims and Southern Nigerians.

But God Almighty is already punishing them by exposing their atrocities because Nigerians are being gradually well informed against their bastardly and evil minded acts hidden behind the colliseum. That is why they feel unsettled and unease, and NEVER NEVER and NEVER wamt another Southerner to be on that Presidential Seat to get the Secrets about Nigeria they sold to the western countries at the alter of good governance. THEY ARE BIG FOOLS AND PIGS believing that Oyibo may accept them as partners?

They are blind not to see that even Britain are now amending their ways with their neighbours like Northern Ireland, etc. for the SWEEPING DEMOCRACY. They prefer Afghanistan, Somalia, and other Muslim type of country which America and the West are using to play politics.

So try to read this Article man. It is much more than what is here.
Bro I love your article  Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 9-07-2012 02:01 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 ... 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13