Nigeria Rewards Gallant Paralympians & Female Footballers..!...!...!

Date: 16-09-2012 4:09 am (11 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
[1] 2 3 4
- at 16-09-2012 04:09 AM (11 years ago)
Nigeria Rewards Paralympians & Female Footballers...!
ABUJA AP
September 15, 2012

Nigerian President Goodluck Jonathan late Saturday announced cash rewards for the country's Paralympians and Female Under-20 footballers for their performances at the just-concluded games.
"You represented our country to the best of your ability, we thank you," Jonathan told the Paralympians and footballers at a reception hosted for the two contingents.

The physically-challenged athletes won a total of 13 medals, including six gold at the London Paralympics, placing Nigeria 22nd on the medals table and third best in Africa after Tunisia and South Africa.
The female football team, the Falconets, battled to become world fourth best at the U-20 World Cup in Japan.
Jonathan announced a cash reward of between two million naira ($12,700/ 9,700 euros) and five million naira ($31,800/ 24,200 euros) for each of the medal-winning Paralympic athletes.
An athlete without a medal got 500,000 naira each while their coaches were rewarded with 2.5 million naira each.
Nigeria's athletes for the London Olympics won no medals.
Jonathan announced a reward of one million naira for each of the footballers and 1.2 million naira for each of their coaches.
The award ceremony was also attended by the vice-president, ministers, state governors and other top government officials.

We Should All be Proud of These Worthy Nigerians…!

Posted: at 16-09-2012 04:09 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 16-09-2012 04:42 AM (11 years ago)
The All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) has asked President Goodluck Jonathan to sign the People With Disability (PWD) Bill into law as a matter of urgency, as a reward to the gallant Nigerians, who made the country proud at the London Paralympic Games.

The party in a statement signed by its National Publicity Secretary, Chief Emma Eneukwu, was sad by the reception given to the Team Nigeria athletes to the London 2012 Paralympic Games by the Federal Government when they returned home.

He said the treatment was not befitting of a team that brought glory to the nation against the backdrop of the recent depressing outing by the able-bodied compatriots

"ANPP therefore calls on President Jonathan to sign the People With Disability (PWD) Bill into law as a matter of urgency, if not for any other reason, but as a reward to the Nigerians with disabilities who went to London, saw and conquered the world, and by this singular outing, wiped away the shame of our nation, as Nigeria finally appeared with other victorious countries on the medals table at London. Given that they won a total of 13 medals, comprising 6 gold, 5 silver and 2 bronze with four world records."
Posted: at 16-09-2012 04:42 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- neloceleb at 16-09-2012 04:24 PM (11 years ago)
Ok,seen..but this is not d problem of ds country
Posted: at 16-09-2012 04:24 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Adego1 at 16-09-2012 04:58 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 16-09-2012 04:58 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- aso4life1 at 16-09-2012 05:07 PM (11 years ago)
At last, he appreciate them.

Posted: at 16-09-2012 05:07 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- chicco77 at 16-09-2012 05:13 PM (11 years ago)
abi
Posted: at 16-09-2012 05:13 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Neglito at 16-09-2012 05:17 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 16-09-2012 05:17 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- toibeli at 16-09-2012 05:20 PM (11 years ago)
In addition to monetary compensation to these athletes,I think they should be recognized nationally.
Posted: at 16-09-2012 05:20 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- cocoeni at 16-09-2012 05:51 PM (11 years ago)
ok...this is nice
Posted: at 16-09-2012 05:51 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Biafranwar at 16-09-2012 05:53 PM (11 years ago)
A job well done from the president
Posted: at 16-09-2012 05:53 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Jacobokpabi at 16-09-2012 05:57 PM (11 years ago)
D major problems shld b taken care of...& not al dis!
Posted: at 16-09-2012 05:57 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- papadip at 16-09-2012 06:08 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: neloceleb on 16-09-2012 04:24 PM
Ok,seen..but this is not d problem of ds country

You are entitled to your opinion…. So you did not appreciate what they did. In the midst our problems one can still acknowledge the good things. These are disabled people and no one wants to be disabled. They did not loot the treasury rather made most Nigerians (excluding you) proud of their accomplishments. The able-bodied athletes brought no medals back home but they were still appreciated.
Your comment shows a complete disdain towards the handicapped. You being able-bodied (assuming) cannot do what they did if you were to compete with them. How much did they pay them compared to billions looted? Is that the issue with you? They deserve much more…! Please try to show little appreciation sometimes, don’t be self-centred and think again..... 
Posted: at 16-09-2012 06:08 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mylittleman at 16-09-2012 07:15 PM (11 years ago)
This was a job well done. It is good that the country has seen fit to
acknowledge and reward the efforts of these atheletes, as the able bodied,
were not so fortunate. These persons persevered in spite of difficulty, obstacles,
and possibly discouragement. May they continue to steadfastly work towards their goals
and achieve even greater things... I am glad the country has shown that they appreciate their efforts.
God bless them!
Posted: at 16-09-2012 07:15 PM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- dlimelite at 16-09-2012 07:32 PM (11 years ago)
Ok. Thats good
Posted: at 16-09-2012 07:32 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 16-09-2012 07:34 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: mylittleman on 16-09-2012 07:15 PM
This was a job well done. It is good that the country has seen fit to
acknowledge and reward the efforts of these atheletes, as the able bodied,
were not so fortunate. These persons persevered in spite of difficulty, obstacles,
and possibly discouragement. May they continue to steadfastly work towards their goals
and achieve even greater things... I am glad the country has shown that they appreciate their efforts.
God bless them!

Well said
Posted: at 16-09-2012 07:34 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- mallorca at 16-09-2012 07:42 PM (11 years ago)
good news

Posted: at 16-09-2012 07:42 PM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- papadip at 16-09-2012 07:52 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: Jacobokpabi on 16-09-2012 05:57 PM
D major problems shld b taken care of...& not al dis!
You have no respect for human decency. I hope you will never be handicapped. The only way you and others with the same thought like you can appreciate these athletes is if you experience it yourself by being disabled. Experience is always a good but slow teacher. Our major problems are there and we all know that.
Posted: at 16-09-2012 07:52 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- zoe61 at 16-09-2012 07:55 PM (11 years ago)
he did well but money can't buy love and unity
Posted: at 16-09-2012 07:55 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- harunakoni at 16-09-2012 09:01 PM (11 years ago)
True talk ANPP. Sign d PWD into. Dat wil b better.
Posted: at 16-09-2012 09:01 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- moniconyez at 16-09-2012 09:04 PM (11 years ago)
Mr President, That's a Good one there.
Posted: at 16-09-2012 09:04 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
[1] 2 3 4

1. Wofai Fada’s In-laws Release Public Statement Debunking Reports Of Her Marriage To Their Son

2. Wofai Fada Defies In-Laws, Ties The Knot With Taiwo Cole In Traditional Ceremony (Photos & Vid)

3. Mercy Johnson's Husband Raises Awareness On Mental Health Amidst Angela Okorie's Claims

4. Mohbad's PA, Darosha Grilled by Police, Spills More About Singer's Death & Hurried Burial

5. "Why INEC’s Server Suffered Glitch During 2023 Presidential Polls" – Peter Obi

6. Controversial singer, Portable Spotted On A Flight To Kenya With Wife, Bewaji Amid Online Drama

7. Peter Obi Missing as EFCC Releases Names of 58 Former Governors That Embezzled N2.187 Trillion

8. Outcry As Lagos Govt Begins Demolition on Parts of Arowojobe, Mende Estate (Video)

9. Actress Genevieve Nnaji Appreciates Her Fans, Shares Special Moment From Fer 45th Birthday

10. Why I Am Hardly Seen in Public These Days - Veteran Actress, Stella Damasus Opens up (VID)

11. How 40yr Old Man Lured 13yr Old Girl With N200 to His House & Held Her From January to March

12. Amidst Witchcraft Accusations, Mercy Johnson Marks Daughter’s 4th Birthday in Style (VID)

13. Don't Choose to be Lonely Because of People - Judy Austin Dishes Tips on Fighting For 'Love'

1. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

2. Former Nollywood Star, Lola Alao Recounts Shocking Incident Of Assault While Working In Canada

3. Billionaire's Daughter, DJ Cuppy Shares Wedding Bliss & Dreams Of Her Own Love Story

4. "58 Ex-Govs Embezzled N2.187 Trillion" - EFCC Unveils Startling Revelations (See Full List)

5. Security Forces Kill IPOB/ESN IED Specialist In Imo State

6. Holy Spirit Always Gives Me Lotto Number Whenever We Don't Have Anything To Eat -Efotete Family

7. Lady Accuses Actress,Mercy Johnson Of Witchcraft, Says Angela Okorie Is Her Next Target (Video)

8. Outrage As 40-year-old Man Allegedly Lures 13-year-old Girl With ₦200, Sparks National Debate

9. Drama In Club As Sam Larry Gets Confronted By A Club Guest Over Mohbad’s Death (Video)

10. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years