My Husband’s Death, El-rufai’s Demolition Forced Me Into Prostitution’

Date: 27-01-2013 8:31 pm (11 years ago) | Author: kahamde
- at 27-01-2013 08:31 PM (11 years ago)
My Husband’s Death, El-rufai’s Demolition Forced Me Into Prostitution’

The recent visit of the Global Fund on Fight HIV/AIDS, TB and malaria monitoring team led by Andrew Hurst was to Nigeria gave a detailed insight of the life commercial sex workers.
Behind Mass Park in Zuba, a satellite town in Abuja is Blessing Udeh, easily described as “your everyday type of woman.
 There’s nothing in her gait or looks to suggest that she is in what many refer to asthe oldest profession in the world.
Probably in her late 40’s, she’s a widow with three children who seemingly had a good life with her husband until fate played a cruel one on her by snatching him away.
An indigene of Imo State, getting Udeh to talk took someeffort as she fought severally to control her emotions.

She stated: “My husband died and left no money for the family. So, I had to fend for myself by joining the business (prostitution) to keep body andsoul together.”

According to her, she had a fairly good life, as a full time housewife, with her husband who was in solely charge of thefamily’s upkeep until he died.

She also disclosed that it was as a result of the devastating effect of the demolition exercise carried out by the former minister of the Federal Capital, Mallam Nasir el- Rufai that claimed the life of her husband.

“The building my husband built in Karmo was demolished by El-Rufai. This affected my husband so much that he couldn’t rise up financially again after that. It was the effect ofthe demolition that affected him and he died eventually. After his death, my children and I were thrown into abject poverty.
There was no where we could start from and nobody or even relations were willing to help us. It got so bad that my children who had dropped out from school, and I were begging daily for sustenance.”

The mother of three, who claimed to have embraced the profession recently when all else failed, disclosed that life too in the fast lane is not as rosy as she thought.

She said that she makes between N500 and N2, 000 a night which is meagre compared to the amount they pay for lodgings at the brothel.

“We pay N5, 400 for accommodation weekly and I have not even gotten enough to pay this week’s rent,” she said as at the time of conducting this interview.

She, however, appealed to the federal government, well-meaning and wealthy Nigerians to come to her aid.
http://livebetalife.com/my-husbands-death-el-rufais-demolition-forced-me-into-prostitution

Posted: at 27-01-2013 08:31 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ela214 at 27-01-2013 08:53 PM (11 years ago)
it´s not enough reason to sell ur body,what will u tell ur children,u beta look 4 anoda tin to do if u get sickness n die u put those child in a worse condition.
Posted: at 27-01-2013 08:53 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maryclaret at 27-01-2013 09:35 PM (11 years ago)
O this is sad. I can't understand why some people are so heartless. How can someone just destroy what another took hard work and pains to build without looking back? But this should serve as  a warning to women. It's not good to be so dependent on your husband for everything. She should have had her hands in something while her husband was alive. Maybe things would not have been as bad. Not when everything goes downhill, one will start seeking for anything no matter how degrading.

Posted: at 27-01-2013 09:35 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kadda88 at 27-01-2013 10:44 PM (11 years ago)
So she is actually blaming El-rufai for her stupi/dity?  She wanted to be a prostitute all along! Lips Sealed
Posted: at 27-01-2013 10:44 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- ajanni at 27-01-2013 10:54 PM (11 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed
Posted: at 27-01-2013 10:54 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- Rihannaaa at 28-01-2013 12:08 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: maryclaret on 27-01-2013 09:35 PM
O this is sad. I can't understand why some people are so heartless. How can someone just destroy what another took hard work and pains to build without looking back? But this should serve as  a warning to women. It's not good to be so dependent on your husband for everything. She should have had her hands in something while her husband was alive. Maybe things would not have been as bad. Not when everything goes downhill, one will start seeking for anything no matter how degrading.
u can say that again  Sad Sad Sad

Posted: at 28-01-2013 12:08 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dlimelite at 28-01-2013 07:13 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: maryclaret on 27-01-2013 09:35 PM
True
Posted: at 28-01-2013 07:13 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 28-01-2013 08:33 AM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-01-2013 08:33 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- micc at 28-01-2013 01:24 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 28-01-2013 01:24 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Rihannaaa at 28-01-2013 02:10 PM (11 years ago)
 Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

Posted: at 28-01-2013 02:10 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 28-01-2013 05:48 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: ajanni on 28-01-2013 08:33 AM
Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-01-2013 05:48 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- Unikpearl at 28-01-2013 10:37 PM (11 years ago)
Mtcheew...ashewo no be job
Posted: at 28-01-2013 10:37 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ajanni at 28-01-2013 11:07 PM (11 years ago)
 Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 28-01-2013 11:07 PM (11 years ago) | Grande Master
- PidginMOUTH at 28-01-2013 11:09 PM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 28-01-2013 11:09 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ajanni at 29-01-2013 08:18 AM (11 years ago)
 Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked
Posted: at 29-01-2013 08:18 AM (11 years ago) | Grande Master