PHOTOS: Abuja National Stadium From Green Grass To Forest And Now Desert

Date: 02-03-2013 8:14 pm (11 years ago) | Author: franel
- at 2-03-2013 08:14 PM (11 years ago)
«§» 2 March 2013

In September 2012, a popular photo journalist, Femi Ipaye visited the National Stadium in Abuja and photo-documented the degeneration of the structures built by former President Olusegun Obasanjo for $300 million. The stadium main arena and facilities had become decrepit and decayed because they had not been maintained.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW CURRENT & PAST PHOTOS OF ABUJA STADIUM

A few months later, Mr. Ipaye returns to the stadium to document the current state of the pricey sports arena, Nigeria’s biggest and most expensive. Again, he finds the stadium still abandoned but apparently undergoing some renovation and rehabilitation allegedly by construction giant Julius Berger. However, the cost of rehabilitation remains a mystery. Still the arena remains in a state of disrepair and dysfunction.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW CURRENT & PAST PHOTOS OF ABUJA STADIUM

Saharareporters

Posted: at 2-03-2013 08:14 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- holaolu1 at 2-03-2013 09:19 PM (11 years ago)
Niaja 4 life!
Posted: at 2-03-2013 09:19 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Senegal at 2-03-2013 09:29 PM (11 years ago)
Posted: at 2-03-2013 09:29 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Lateef67 at 2-03-2013 09:34 PM (11 years ago)
Ppl incharge has embezel d money notn we can maitan in naija
Posted: at 2-03-2013 09:34 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odprince at 2-03-2013 09:39 PM (11 years ago)
where is the EFCC?you can't see them because money have been giving to them........God will punish all of you..
Posted: at 2-03-2013 09:39 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Starship at 2-03-2013 10:45 PM (11 years ago)
Quote from: holaolu1 on  2-03-2013 09:19 PM
Niaja 4 life!
Naija for life my bros na we be giant of africat no be only africa.... I go ask where south Africa go de una go be giant........ Goodluck jonaa where u de abeg carry patience con upgrade here jare......
Posted: at 2-03-2013 10:45 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Solidstonez at 3-03-2013 12:09 AM (11 years ago)
SMH

Posted: at 3-03-2013 12:09 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 3-03-2013 12:09 AM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 3-03-2013 12:09 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- PidginMOUTH at 3-03-2013 12:30 AM (11 years ago)
 giant of africa una too much o o
Posted: at 3-03-2013 12:30 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- WhaleDog at 3-03-2013 12:55 AM (11 years ago)
We Nigerian takes most national issue for granted and just let go vastly bcus nobody cares about the situation and affair of Nigeria .Very regretful to say that ,even the soil of the land is not happy with the inhabitants ,I'm sure few people will agree with me on this point,take for instance some countries where you will see citizen volunteer without government support to clean the streets ,even employee of companies volunteer to sacrifice few hours cleaning not only their environs but surroundings .Nigerian can't sacrifice nothing without benefit for Nigeria ,everyone aim is to eat the free fruits of te land without the objective of giving back in returns to the land.Until the day our unborn generation change this selfish interest against Nigeria before we as a nation as a people can know peace,until that day Nigerian we not live in Nigeria in happiness.The love of Nigeria is the first priority ,if ever Nigeria will be great nation.In most countries I hv lived or visited around the globe,I saw elderly men and women doing volunteer job,grandpa and grandma picking cigarettes ,cans,plastic and littering even without mobilized,hv seen school pupil walking down the street alone and yet picked cigarettes butt in the street to dump in liter bin ,I mean without any mandatory order rather doing it for the love of the country.When shall we as people change our attitude towards a country that has giving so much to us,we can just show a little love for Nigeria ,despite the government lack of interest in the country management,but if we the citizen change our course and approach to Nigeria ,then the politician will have no choice to redress .

Posted: at 3-03-2013 12:55 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezchusa at 3-03-2013 01:46 AM (11 years ago)
Cool

Posted: at 3-03-2013 01:46 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 3-03-2013 02:51 AM (11 years ago)
 Huh? Huh? Huh? Huh?

Posted: at 3-03-2013 02:51 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- ukanahv at 3-03-2013 03:37 AM (11 years ago)
Goverment is by the people, we failed on our part..and those idiots we do nothing but prey on us.
Posted: at 3-03-2013 03:37 AM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 3-03-2013 03:59 AM (11 years ago)
That's Naija for u,,, lack maintainance culture???
Posted: at 3-03-2013 03:59 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- toibeli at 3-03-2013 04:51 AM (11 years ago)
This one no be National stadium, but na National disgrace Embarrassed
Posted: at 3-03-2013 04:51 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- WhaleDog at 3-03-2013 05:37 AM (11 years ago)
So pathetic reading more dishearten news all about Nigeria than uplifting news,A country suffering ,staggering on its feet providing employment for her ever willing citizen ready to engage themselves in labour jobs to provide for families,the stadium in question is a very lucrative investment and also a source to provide jobs for hundred of unemployed Nigerians ,if the government of Nigeria is sincere to its people in creating employment for her citizen ,then this is an untapped source of employment for the jobless,the ministry concerned should set up and recruits staffs ,workers ,gardner ,cleaners and necessary workers needed to keep the stadium in functioning state,If that could be done ,it also will reduce over-all cost of renovation when abandoned to rust at it is presently ,if maintained it will create jobs also improve the image of the nation and of the government,this stadium can be used for recreational centre,a relaxing park ,a venue for elderly and youth gymnasium in general it will be of benefit to Nigerian .

Posted: at 3-03-2013 05:37 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- etibaba at 3-03-2013 06:04 AM (11 years ago)
Quote from: WhaleDog on  3-03-2013 12:55 AM
We Nigerian takes most national issue for granted and just let go vastly bcus nobody cares about the situation and affair of Nigeria .Very regretful to say that ,even the soil of the land is not happy with the inhabitants ,I'm sure few people will agree with me on this point,take for instance some countries where you will see citizen volunteer without government support to clean the streets ,even employee of companies volunteer to sacrifice few hours cleaning not only their environs but surroundings .Nigerian can't sacrifice nothing without benefit for Nigeria ,everyone aim is to eat the free fruits of te land without the objective of giving back in returns to the land.Until the day our unborn generation change this selfish interest against Nigeria before we as a nation as a people can know peace,until that day Nigerian we not live in Nigeria in happiness.The love of Nigeria is the first priority ,if ever Nigeria will be great nation.In most countries I hv lived or visited around the globe,I saw elderly men and women doing volunteer job,grandpa and grandma picking cigarettes ,cans,plastic and littering even without mobilized,hv seen school pupil walking down the street alone and yet picked cigarettes butt in the street to dump in liter bin ,I mean without any mandatory order rather doing it for the love of the country.When shall we as people change our attitude towards a country that has giving so much to us,we can just show a little love for Nigeria ,despite the government lack of interest in the country management,but if we the citizen change our course and approach to Nigeria ,then the politician will have no choice to redress .

Posted: at 3-03-2013 06:04 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Machealex at 3-03-2013 06:35 AM (11 years ago)
Naija
Posted: at 3-03-2013 06:35 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Nicksam at 3-03-2013 08:53 AM (11 years ago)
AM NOT SURPRISED THAT'S NIGERIA FOR YOU
Posted: at 3-03-2013 08:53 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- aliaaz at 3-03-2013 09:08 AM (11 years ago)
k

Posted: at 3-03-2013 09:08 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Disturbing Video Shows Handcuffed Black Man's Last Words As Police Knelt On Him Before He Died

2. GWR Holder, Tunde Onakoya's Parents Gifted A House

3. BREAKING: President Tinubu Appoints Jim Ovia Chairman Of Nigerian Education Loan Fund

4. ‘My Values, Not Dad’s Money’ – Davido Opens Up On Secret Of His Success

5. P-Square Ordered To Pay N25m Over Breach Of Contract After Being Defeated By Music Promoter

6. PICS; Police Arrest 8 Suspected Kidnappers, Rescue Four Kidnapped Victims In Delta

7. Two Siblings, Motorcyclist Allegedly Crushes To Death By Speeding Student Driver In Ondo

8. Benue Gov. Alia Set To Demolish Property Housing Kidnappers, Yahoo Boys

9. How DSS Rescues Seven Kidnapped Victims In Sokoto

1. Lady Who Was Dragged For Wearing a Racy 'Asoebi' Outfit to a Wedding Reception Breaks Silence

2. Lady Who Left The UK With Her Family to Return Home to Nigeria Reveals Why She Did So

3. UNIPORT Lecturer Caught on Camera Pants Down, S3xually Harassing a Female Student in His Office

4. VID: Peter Obi Replies Critics Asking Him Why He Didn't Build a School in Anambra as a Governor

5. "Emefiele, Kanu Arrested Arbitrarily As Pre-Trial Detention Persists In Nigeria" – US Govt Says

6. Watch Touching Video Of Lady Surprising Boyfriend Who’s An Okada Rider

7. Rapper Megan Thee Stallion Sued By Cameraman Claiming He Was Forced To Watch Her Have S3x

8. Yoruba Nation: Akintoye, Sunday Igboho Write Open Letter To Tinubu, Seek Exit From Nigeria

9. Popular Ghanaian Media Personality, Serwaa Amihere Finally Reacts To Her Leaked S3x Tape

10. Divide Nigeria Before June 15 - Yoruba Nation Agitators, Sunday Igboho, Akintoye Tells Tinubu