Extravagant Gov Akpabio distributes N1million lunch money to“hungry” PDPchairmen

Date: 18-03-2013 12:50 pm (11 years ago) | Author: famuyiwa oluwatosin raphael
- at 18-03-2013 12:50 PM (11 years ago)
Akwa Ibom State Governor, Godswill Akpabio, took his famed profligacy to a new high Sunday, openly donating N1million to party chairmen from states in the South-South geopolitical zone who had converged on Port Harcourt for a party reconciliation session.

<a href="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3XpBKxc2eQ" target="_blank" class="aeva_link bbc_link new_win" rel="nofollow">http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A3XpBKxc2eQ</a>

Party chairman Bamanga Tukur had led party leaders from Abuja to Port Harcourt for the South-south round of the nationwide trip the national leadership of the party is doing around the country to reconcile feuding factions and restore peace to bickering state chapters.

But the meeting suffered setback after two key players, Governor Rotimi Amaechi of Rivers and Emmanuel Uduaghan of Delta walked out after they could not bear what appeared Mr. Akpabio’s improvident behavior.

Mr. Uduaghan had spoken at the meeting saying poverty is widespread among party members in the zone and that action needed to be taken to reduce the hardship faced by faithful.

“I join all my brothers in the South-South in welcoming you (Tukur),” the Delta state governor said. “Even in my position as elected governor, I must tell you this; even if you tar all the roads in the South-South without putting food on the table, our members will not appreciate the party.

“If you want to prevent our members from straying to other parties, you must put food in the stomach of our supporters.”

But shortly after Mr. Uduaghan spoke, Mr. Akpabio announced he would distribute N1million each to party chairmen at the venue as lunch money as a way of placating them not to leave the party.

He said, “My brother Governor, Uduaghan, said our members are hungry and that we must put food in their stomach so that they don’t stray to other parties. I am giving all the state chairmen of the party N1 million each for lunch. Our members must not be hungry.”

The donation suggested that the governor came to the meeting with several millions of naira in cash.

As the Akwa Ibom State governor spoke, party leaders at the venue exchanged furtive glances in embarrassment. And shortly afterwards, Messrs. Amaechi and Uduaghan walked out of the venue. Both didn’t return.

Mr. Akpabio however continued his speech asking all PDP members in the region to rally round their son, President Goodluck Jonathan.

“There is a hand of God in every position of leadership,” he said. “Bayelsa is, perhaps, the smallest state in Nigeria but God decided to choose Goodluck Ebele Jonathan from Bayelsa State to become the President of Nigeria.

“We must all support our brother to succeed. For us, we shall not fail and we will never fail.”

Mr. Akpabio has been widely criticized for what many Nigerians consider his profligacy.

His donation of a N50 million award for Nollywood, two SUVs to Tuface Idibia, and wife, Annie, and the acquisition of an exotic multimillion dollar bullet-proof sprinter luxury vans from US-based Texas Armoring Corporation (TAC), have sparked outrage.

On Saturday, the governor unilaterally donated N230 million on behalf of the newly-formed PDP Governors Forum to President Goodluck Jonathan’s hometown church. There are indications many of the governors did not give him their nods to make any donation on their behalf.

Posted: at 18-03-2013 12:50 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- Idbabe at 18-03-2013 01:11 PM (11 years ago)
Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, Olorun 'wa ooo.. From one scandal to another.  I rest my case
Posted: at 18-03-2013 01:11 PM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Starship at 18-03-2013 01:15 PM (11 years ago)
Nigerians no get mouth for them matter na,, since the take public fund as personal money and allowancies.... I actually thought this man was better than all mis-behaving governors but this present qualities shows or portray's his as a wolf in sheep's clothing... God save nigeria..... Its well.....
Posted: at 18-03-2013 01:15 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- DMG17 at 18-03-2013 10:12 PM (11 years ago)
THE FALL OF A MAN IS AT HIS FINGER TIP. AKPABIO, THE TEMPEST IS RAGING.
Posted: at 18-03-2013 10:12 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ezchusa at 18-03-2013 10:22 PM (11 years ago)

Posted: at 18-03-2013 10:22 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Ifemylove at 18-03-2013 10:36 PM (11 years ago)
everyday, Governor Akpabio
Posted: at 18-03-2013 10:36 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Shegzan at 18-03-2013 10:50 PM (11 years ago)
Wisdom is scarce.... Datz why!

Posted: at 18-03-2013 10:50 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- denmal at 18-03-2013 11:12 PM (11 years ago)
this man will fall soon
Posted: at 18-03-2013 11:12 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Yungchill at 18-03-2013 11:15 PM (11 years ago)
That's his biznex..

Posted: at 18-03-2013 11:15 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- gbojac at 18-03-2013 11:37 PM (11 years ago)
Peanut money!
governor Boastin'
Posted: at 18-03-2013 11:37 PM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- longben at 18-03-2013 11:52 PM (11 years ago)
stupid governor,why 1million naira?that amount cannot even buy you a proper meal at mama effiongs buka.make it a 100million,afterall nigerias money belong to politicians and they must feed well abi?but sir,next time your feel like sharing jeeps to miilionaires,remember me as your greatest supporter on naijapals.i dey wait ooh
Posted: at 18-03-2013 11:52 PM (11 years ago) | Upcoming
- morgrawl231 at 19-03-2013 12:31 AM (11 years ago)
 Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 19-03-2013 12:31 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- Clip1960 at 19-03-2013 03:13 AM (11 years ago)
9ja gov. people are  Cry Cry Cry  everyday. no work and you are wasting ur people money on ur chairmen.
Posted: at 19-03-2013 03:13 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- malvin2525 at 19-03-2013 04:06 AM (11 years ago)
 Undecided Lips Sealed Huh?
Posted: at 19-03-2013 04:06 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- etibaba at 19-03-2013 04:29 AM (11 years ago)
Big thief

Posted: at 19-03-2013 04:29 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- elephant2Blion at 19-03-2013 05:53 AM (11 years ago)
Thief !  God is storing unholy deeds for the day of judgement, where the holy angels will be left with no choice than to throw you into hellfire where you will gnash your teeth. Terrible person.
Posted: at 19-03-2013 05:53 AM (11 years ago) | Newbie
- Biafranwar at 19-03-2013 06:00 AM (11 years ago)
Winning election is not about sharing money to all ur party members but making life easy for ur state and country
Posted: at 19-03-2013 06:00 AM (11 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 19-03-2013 06:50 AM (11 years ago)
see he head like dog head,,
Posted: at 19-03-2013 06:50 AM (11 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- osamabinladin at 19-03-2013 07:20 AM (11 years ago)
Noted !!
Posted: at 19-03-2013 07:20 AM (11 years ago) | Hero
- lanudja at 19-03-2013 07:33 AM (11 years ago)
Na wa 4 dis gov'nor wey dey take public wealth dey show off. May God av mercy on him
Posted: at 19-03-2013 07:33 AM (11 years ago) | Hero