Church, community disputes over killing of snake (Page 10)

Date: 07-05-2013 8:41 am (11 years ago) | Author: Direct
1 ... 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 ... 32
- dlimelite at 8-05-2013 12:56 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Mobbysmartins on  7-05-2013 01:36 PM
Those snakes really do not bite.In any community where they forbid killing snakes and there are many of such communities in Anambra and Imo States,snakes in such communities do not bite.They come around peoples houses from time to time,they stay for sometime and leave on their own without hurting anybody.Why should you kill a snake if it does not harm you???.Can the Pastor swear he does not know about that tradition since he has been staying there???.I think the Pastor should concentrate on his Church and stop trying to change the tradition of a people.The Pastor have a village and I am sure his own village have some traditions which the pastor have not changed,yet he went to another community and wants to change a tradition that has been there from time immemorial.The problem with us Africans is that we forget we have always been better than the people we are trying to copy.I mean any tradition that can stop snakes from biting and hurting people,to me such tradition is a very good tradition.Instead of us to study and identify the reason why this tradition is able to stop a snake from biting,and apply the same to other harmful animals,we are busy following white mans tradition which cannot stop a snake from biting.

Not many ppl know which snakes are harmful and which snakes are harmless. You cant look at a snake and automatically know that's its harmless or harmful  there are about 3,000 species of snakes. How many ppl are familiar with them all? You can't stop a snake from biting. Its in their nature to bite, for that's how they were made. Just like a bees. Its either the snake is the biting type or the harmless type. The only way a biting snake wont bite you is if the biting snake overtime gets used to your presence, and therefore is comfortable around you. But if that same snake were to be with another person, the snake will likely bite that person whom is a "stranger" to them, or bite them cuz they felt threatened. That's why those who keep snakes as pets don't get bitten. As for the pastor, becuz he killed the snake doesn't mean his goal is to change the tradition. Not like he's preaching "kill snakes" at his church then if so that'll be an attempt to change the tradition. And him being a pastor, you can't expect him to care to believe in the "sacred snake god" tradition. Him killing the snake was his own personal choice to protect his children. If a snake was on your child's bed, most of ya'll here would also kill it. White man? More white ppl have snakes as pets than blacks & they rarely kill snakes. They have lots of them in local zoos. White or not, you cant change the nature of a snake.  I believe the pastor shoulda just thrown it back into the bush if he's not killing it to eat it.
Posted: at 8-05-2013 12:56 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- gbojac at 8-05-2013 01:16 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: dlimelite on  8-05-2013 12:56 AM
Not many ppl know which snakes are harmful and which snakes are harmless. You cant look at a snake and automatically know that's its harmless or harmful  there are about 3,000 species of snakes. How many ppl are familiar with them all? You can't stop a snake from biting. Its in their nature to bite, for that's how they were made. Just like a bees. Its either the snake is the biting type or the harmless type. The only way a biting snake wont bite you is if the biting snake overtime gets used to your presence, and therefore is comfortable around you. But if that same snake were to be with another person, the snake will likely bite that person whom is a "stranger" to them, or bite them cuz they felt threatened. That's why those who keep snakes as pets don't get bitten. As for the pastor, becuz he killed the snake doesn't mean his goal is to change the tradition. Not like he's preaching "kill snakes" at his church then if so that'll be an attempt to change the tradition. And him being a pastor, you can't expect him to care to believe in the "sacred snake god" tradition. Him killing the snake was his own personal choice to protect his children. If a snake was on your child's bed, most of ya'll here would also kill it. White man? More white ppl have snakes as pets than blacks & they rarely kill snakes. They have lots of them in local zoos. White or not, you cant change the nature of a snake.  I believe the pastor shoulda just thrown it back into the bush if he's not killing it to eat it.
Well said but, u keep coming back with this idea of "killing animals if and only if u want eat it''
I say u can kill animal any time u want, for their meat or not....
Only GOD can destroy what He created.... Dinosaur are extinct because GOD want them disappear....
Did men kill them finish??? Nope!!! 
Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:16 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbojac at 8-05-2013 01:20 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: Sophyrocks on  8-05-2013 12:20 AM
Very useless n senseless tradition. Dese same pple wil later go to church on sunday n start shouting to block d ears of God. Why do u nid to shout out to God wen ur hands are clean? But bcos of deir hypocrisy, deir prayers r yet to be answered, poverty kips lashing dem in d face n backwardness is deir middle name. No wonder 9ja has a long way to go. Hw can u claim to be a christian n yet worship a snake? U tink God is som1 u can mock? Kip deceivin urselvs. On sunday, dey wil stil go to church to worship who? HYPOCRITES. Dese r d pple jesus talkd abt in d bible.
mama the mama, tell them,,,,
They think they can serve their snake god and the Almighty GOD...
Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:20 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- HOPEA23 at 8-05-2013 01:29 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: emnoeasy on  8-05-2013 12:06 AM
na me you the call mouth maker Hope? chee i don suffer for here even you hope they call me mouth maker? Well call me on this line make we talk better +966536010818
call this line 800-grave-6ft deep...

Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:29 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- WhaleDog at 8-05-2013 01:36 AM (10 years ago)
Been pastor of foreign religion doesn't give you immunity to respect and recognize your host ancestral belief,Long before European invasion and its brutal colonization as African we worshiped the true God and not the inferior Arab and western God of guns and quran or bible,a strategy applied in conquering our heart by deceit .Therefore,I'm not here to criticize your belief we live in a society where freedom to religion is our basic right,to avoid religion disrespect ,please pastor dissuade yourself from any or further activities that undermine other beliefs.

Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:36 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbojac at 8-05-2013 01:39 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: WhaleDog on  8-05-2013 01:36 AM
Been pastor of foreign religion doesn't give you immunity to respect and recognize your host ancestral belief,Long before European invasion and its brutal colonization as African we worshiped the true God and not the inferior Arab and western God of guns and quran or bible,a strategy applied in conquering our heart by deceit .Therefore,I'm not here to criticize your belief we live in a society where freedom to religion is our basic right,to avoid religion disrespect ,please pastor dissuade yourself from any or further activities that undermine other beliefs.

What's the name of ur African true god, how come people don't know him, is he shy???
Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:39 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- deboalabi262 at 8-05-2013 01:40 AM (10 years ago)
 Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed

Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:40 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- papadip at 8-05-2013 01:51 AM (10 years ago)
Hey guys….yu debate so much Snake go soon appear ooh on this website..!
Honestly I think it is good to have a healthy argument regarding religion that will not involve tribal rants.
Posted: at 8-05-2013 01:51 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kingst at 8-05-2013 02:20 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: fallah on  7-05-2013 11:21 AM
U can see these igbo people now having a belief in snake as their god. But they will keep aside their diety fault and  keep complaning on others trible fault. Belief in snake as god, when sweet and sound religion have spreed over the world. This is a shame to igbo kuwenu. Pls. Those citizen from this nauty vilage, who have leant from outside should go and preach a sounded word of God to them.
You also made a mistake, if you truly worships a sounded God you shouldn't have judged by tribe, when you mentioned Igbo you are referring generally. It happened in Umuoji community in Idemili so don't use general hatred you had in Igbo's to judge others. Don't forget they are fighting with a pastor that refused to dance their idol music pastor refused according to his reasons he believed in the same sounded God too....[/color]
Posted: at 8-05-2013 02:20 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- WhaleDog at 8-05-2013 02:33 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: gbojac on  8-05-2013 01:39 AM
What's the name of ur African true god, how come people don't know him, is he shy???
Thank you Gbojac for your quest to enable me shed little light on "African God before colonization".First and foremost ,we as a people of black race were the first color on the surface of this earth,modernization all started from Africa back before 3300BC ,there are geological evidence human existed in Africa two million years ago,So how would you imagine we were living before European colonization ,was our ancestors living in without beliefs?definitely No.Now back to your question ,Way before Islam and Christianity ,We African worship nature which is envied among nations,and believe me those natural around you is God,through them all things were created,through them science emerge,through them all substance on earth emerge.Without them we are nothing and with their abuse we are destroyed,I think the proceeds of nature abuse is eminent and realistic right now,the climatic changes,earthquake and cataclysm around the world is evidence to prove nature rules .Im sure this medium is not and wouldn't be enough to take on this topic in more elaborate form.

Posted: at 8-05-2013 02:33 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbojac at 8-05-2013 02:50 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: WhaleDog on  8-05-2013 02:33 AM
Thank you Gbojac for your quest to enable me shed little light on "African God before colonization".First and foremost ,we as a people of black race were the first color on the surface of this earth,modernization all started from Africa back before 3300BC ,there are geological evidence human existed in Africa two million years ago,So how would you imagine we were living before European colonization ,was our ancestors living in without beliefs?definitely No.Now back to your question ,Way before Islam and Christianity ,We African worship nature which is envied among nations,and believe me those natural around you is God,through them all things were created,through them science emerge,through them all substance on earth emerge.Without them we are nothing and with their abuse we are destroyed,I think the proceeds of nature abuse is eminent and realistic right now,the climatic changes,earthquake and cataclysm around the world is evidence to prove nature rules .Im sure this medium is not and wouldn't be enough to take on this topic in more elaborate form.
Nature is god, does nature as u know it affect or has effect in space, on the moon, on mars and Jupiter?Huh?
U said those natural around you is god, it mean chicken, goat, monkey etc are god because they aren't created by men....Abi....
Mango tree, palm tree, Yam etc is god Abi.....
Posted: at 8-05-2013 02:50 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- WhaleDog at 8-05-2013 03:01 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: gbojac on  8-05-2013 02:50 AM
Nature is god, does nature as u know it affect or has effect in space, on the moon, on mars and Jupiter?Huh?
U said those natural around you is god, it mean chicken, goat, monkey etc are god because they aren't created by men....Abi....
Mango tree, palm tree, Yam etc is god Abi.....
Yes Gbojac you right I'm wrong,but those things you listed are nature proceeds created for your survival,without those you listed you can't survive by eating Jesus or eating Mohammed ,no sorry bible or quaran.Through nature all things were created and emerge for your survival as higher being.Every natural thing inter-depended on the others for survival (food cycle).Please brother lets not be deceived our ancestral religion were more effective ,fearful,moral,dignified,reliable ,dependable and does make sense than these slavery tools deployed to reap off our resources ,culture ,beliefs,heritage and tradition.They colonial master knew from inception and beside they envied our culture and history ,we were fooled to let go of our ancestral heritage,we were robbed of our fatherland pride.

Posted: at 8-05-2013 03:01 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbojac at 8-05-2013 03:09 AM (10 years ago)
@ WhaleDog. I never heard this story of yours that everything u see for eyes were worshipped on the African continent,,,, This is a first and I don't see why u choose to call everythings around u god except the Human race,,,,,What the word "GOD" signify for u, Huh? For me GOD is my creator,,,,
Do u take what u see around u as ur creator Huh??
If what u see around u created U, who created those things u see in nature Huh??  
Posted: at 8-05-2013 03:09 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- charlesamandi at 8-05-2013 03:10 AM (10 years ago)
THIS IS MADNESS SNAKE IS THEIR god WHY THE SNAKE GOES INTO CHRISTIAN HOME? DOES IT MEANS THAT THEIR god IS NOT SEEING  ? THIS SNAKE I SAW IN THIS PICTURE  IS ANACONDA  NOT PYTHON EVERYONE KNOWS THAT ANACONDA CAN SWALLOW HUMAN AND IT IS NOT A FRIEND OF HUMAN BEING FOR ME I THINK WE HAVE TO GIVE GOD ALL THE GLORY BECAUSE IS HIM THAT PROTECT THOSE CHILDREN , THAT ANACONDA SHOULD HAVE SWALLOW ALL THOSE KIDS
Posted: at 8-05-2013 03:10 AM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- gbojac at 8-05-2013 03:15 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: WhaleDog on  8-05-2013 03:01 AM
Yes Gbojac you right I'm wrong,but those things you listed are nature proceeds created for your survival,without those you listed you can't survive by eating Jesus or eating Mohammed ,no sorry bible or quaran.Through nature all things were created and emerge for your survival as higher being.Every natural thing inter-depended on the others for survival (food cycle).Please brother lets not be deceived our ancestral religion were more effective ,fearful,moral,dignified,reliable ,dependable and does make sense than these slavery tools deployed to reap off our resources ,culture ,beliefs,heritage and tradition.They colonial master knew from inception and beside they envied our culture and history ,we were fooled to let go of our ancestral heritage,we were robbed of our fatherland pride.
In Africa, everything has a name, this god of yours should have a name since he was worshipped by your forefather.... As far as I know, Ikenga and other deity worshipped in Africa were not brought in 9ja by oyibo.... How do u explain that....
Posted: at 8-05-2013 03:15 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- WhaleDog at 8-05-2013 03:18 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: gbojac on  8-05-2013 03:09 AM
@ WhaleDog. I never heard this story of yours that everything u see for eyes were worshipped on the African continent,,,, This is a first and I don't see why u choose to call everythings around u god except the Human race,,,,,What the word "GOD" signify for u, Huh? For me GOD is my creator,,,,
Do u take what u see around u as ur creator Huh??
If what u see around u created U, who created those things u see in nature Huh??  
Hi Gbojac ,I knew you won't give in neither wil I accept or be convince of your conclusion that god created everything,Well Gbojac my bottom line is the fruits you eat ,vegetable you eat ,fish and whatsoever product of nature are your God ,for keeping your body and soul together ,without the carrot you eat you be deficiency of vitamin A and so many more.So just give thanks to nature.

Posted: at 8-05-2013 03:18 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbojac at 8-05-2013 03:28 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: WhaleDog on  8-05-2013 03:18 AM
Hi Gbojac ,I knew you won't give in neither wil I accept or be convince of your conclusion that god created everything,Well Gbojac my bottom line is the fruits you eat ,vegetable you eat ,fish and whatsoever product of nature are your God ,for keeping your body and soul together ,without the carrot you eat you be deficiency of vitamin A and so many more.So just give thanks to nature.
I don't care to convince u,,,, I wanna understand what u say, that's why I ask questions,,,,If I don't have answer to my questions there's no way I can understand ur ideas.....
Posted: at 8-05-2013 03:28 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbojac at 8-05-2013 03:37 AM (10 years ago)
@ WhaleDog. U seem to forget that we are part of nature....U started this your story by saying African worshipped true god,,,, Still, u can't name it,,,, now u changed to say everything we eat to sustain us is god.... So when u have headache, do take tablet or you go eat for pain to go???
Posted: at 8-05-2013 03:37 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- gbojac at 8-05-2013 03:42 AM (10 years ago)
umm, some people,,,na wa OOO,,,,may the Lord Jesus Christ have mercy for them....
Posted: at 8-05-2013 03:42 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- sonjohn994 at 8-05-2013 04:55 AM (10 years ago)
I could remember then when i was serving as  Youth Corp,we where told not to kill Snake i killed one and nothing happened IGBO with there Shallow thinking  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 8-05-2013 04:55 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 ... 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 ... 32

1. Late Buhari Oloto's Wife, Alhaja Alimotu Sadia Oloto a.k.a IYA OYO Is Dead

2. Presidency Confirms Seyi Tinubu Joined The Board Of Directors Of CDK In 2018

3. Igbo Billionaire, Arthur Eze Says Tinubu Will Change Nigeria After Eight Years In Office

4. VIDEO: Veteran Actor Kanayo O. Kanayo Officially Welcomes Son To Nollywood Industry

5. VIDEO: Lady Laments Over Small Portion Of Porridge Sold At N5,500 By Chef Hilda Baci

6. Kwankwaso, 13 Others Dragged To EFCC By NNPP Over Alleged Fraud

7. Singer, Portable Excited As He Finally Gets His American Visa

8. 30Yr Old Husband, Fatai Abdullahi Stabs Wife To Death In Ondo

9. 40Yr Old Man, Abiola Arrested For Allegedly Defiling Minor Inside Mosque's Restroom In Ondo

10. VID; 'I Must Draw Blood From You' - Ekiti Varsity Bully Says As She Brutalise Fellow Student

11. Actress, Etinosa Finally Reveals BBN Pere As Debtor Who Refuses To Refund Her Money, Slams Him

12. Focus On Fall Of Naira, Insecurity – Charly Boy Drags Onanuga For Tagging Peter Obi As ‘Bitter’

13. Singer, Harrysong Raises Speculations After Sharing Cryptic Post

14. PSG v Borussia Dortmund: UEFA Champions League S/Final Match,Team News,Goal Scorers And Stats

15. Nigerian Rapper, Dremo Issues Stern Warns To Those Calling Him Untalented

16. Odumodublvck Praises Olamide For His Generosity, Reveals How He Gift Him $20K & A Private Jet

17. Nigeria Would’ve Been Better If Yar’Adua Completed His Tenure Says Yakubu Gowon

18. Edo Assembly Speaker Suspends 3 Lawmakers Over Alleged Impeachment Plot

19. Charly Boy Questions Pres. Tinubu’s Unannounced London Visit, Demands Transparency

20. Many Arrested As Gov. Peter Mbah Launches Onslaught Against Insecurity In The State

1. Moment Canadian Mayor Praises Tinubu For Work Done in Lagos While Honouring Peter Obi at Event

2. Following CBN Directive, OPay, Palmpay, Others Clamps Down On Crypto

3. Onanuga Shares A Post Alleging Peter Obi Demarkets Nigeria, Calls Him ‘Bitter Obi'

4. Yvonne Jegede Reveals The Truth About Colleague, Mercy Johnson, While Calling Her Out (Video)

5. Father-in-Law Of Wofai Fada, Engineer Kunle Cole Gives Reasons For Son’s Wedding Rejection

6. Soldier, Abdullahi Ismail Dismissed From The Nigerian Army For Sleeping With Colleague’s Wife

7. Primate Ayodele Issues Warning To Tinubu, Predicts Northern Opposition To Presidential Ambition

8. Houseboy - Angela Okorie Fires Back At Mercy Johnson's Husband After His Post on 'Mad People'

9. Actors In Nollywood Films Used To Be Cast Based On Social Media Followers – Uzor Arukwe

10. Ipswich Town Promoted to The Premier League After 22 Years