The cost of marrying an Igbo lady (Page 5)

Date: 15-06-2009 10:23 pm (15 years ago) | Author: King Samuel O Dguy
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 17
- d_man at 16-06-2009 05:07 PM (15 years ago)
Hehehe
maybe some oda time
Todays weather is too cold to go out in d rain

Posted: at 16-06-2009 05:07 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vivian07 at 16-06-2009 05:11 PM (15 years ago)
hahahahaha, i know u wouldn't risk it  Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 16-06-2009 05:11 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- SAmyrocko at 16-06-2009 05:26 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: vivian07 on 16-06-2009 04:42 PM
where is ur 2nd ?  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Who ls that? Angry

Posted: at 16-06-2009 05:26 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- vivian07 at 16-06-2009 05:27 PM (15 years ago)
Posted: at 16-06-2009 05:27 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- SAmyrocko at 16-06-2009 05:29 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: vivian07 on 16-06-2009 05:27 PM

Answer me Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

Posted: at 16-06-2009 05:29 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- vivian07 at 16-06-2009 05:31 PM (15 years ago)
 :'( :'( :'( :'( Kiss Kiss Kiss Kiss
Posted: at 16-06-2009 05:31 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- phemmialone at 16-06-2009 05:44 PM (15 years ago)
hymmmm dats igbo laif 4 u. just passin sha
Posted: at 16-06-2009 05:44 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- oribaba at 16-06-2009 06:01 PM (15 years ago)
Dear,
It is a pity that we run ourselves down publicly this way. I am sure that you are not an Igbo man and if you are, it is a shame that you have to post this type of article here. We as Igbos are custodians of our great culture and tradition and this differs from one Igbo cummunity to another. People have been getting married all these years and only people who are no goods condemn what we have so inherited.

There is no law in any part of Igbo land that says a prospective in-law must train the family of his wife. It has always been an Honour for a man to take up responsibilities in his in-laws' family. No one has ever been mandated to do so anywhere. If you know of any, do let us know.

The issue of prospective in-laws making demands is only but Igbo Tradition...It is not mandatory that you will provide all those things...and coming to eat and drink is the fun of the celebration of marriage...it has always been so, even in the Bible...was it not a marriage ceremony that Jesus turned water into wine?

All men are not equal financially and anyone who is willing to marry does so within his means...nobody mandates anybody to go beyond his reach.

Our girls are the best and our tradition only celebrates their virtures. To make things straight here...Igbo girls are not for Sale.
Posted: at 16-06-2009 06:01 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Phil2 at 16-06-2009 06:28 PM (15 years ago)
ok am coming, let consult d oracles  Grin  Grin
Posted: at 16-06-2009 06:28 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- Nelobaby at 16-06-2009 08:06 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: oribaba on 16-06-2009 06:01 PM
Dear,
It is a pity that we run ourselves down publicly this way. I am sure that you are not an Igbo man and if you are, it is a shame that you have to post this type of article here. We as Igbos are custodians of our great culture and tradition and this differs from one Igbo cummunity to another. People have been getting married all these years and only people who are no goods condemn what we have so inherited.

There is no law in any part of Igbo land that says a prospective in-law must train the family of his wife. It has always been an Honour for a man to take up responsibilities in his in-laws' family. No one has ever been mandated to do so anywhere. If you know of any, do let us know.

The issue of prospective in-laws making demands is only but Igbo Tradition...It is not mandatory that you will provide all those things...and coming to eat and drink is the fun of the celebration of marriage...it has always been so, even in the Bible...was it not a marriage ceremony that Jesus turned water into wine?

All men are not equal financially and anyone who is willing to marry does so within his means...nobody mandates anybody to go beyond his reach.

Our girls are the best and our tradition only celebrates their virtures. To make things straight here...Igbo girls are not for Sale.
abi oh! u have d spirit of igbos guy. really we are not 4 sale.  Cool
Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:06 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- around_d_corner at 16-06-2009 08:13 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Nelobaby on 16-06-2009 08:06 PM
Dear,

hey who wrote that trash.... he's sily............
Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:13 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- around_d_corner at 16-06-2009 08:30 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: around_d_corner on 16-06-2009 08:13 PM
Quote from: Nelobaby on 16-06-2009 08:06 PM
Dear,

hey who wrote that trash.... he's sily............

what again
Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:30 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- ironlady at 16-06-2009 08:32 PM (15 years ago)
Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:32 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- shanique at 16-06-2009 08:37 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Zilly on 16-06-2009 03:05 PM
U no be marriage material. Too rude, saucy and obnoxious. However, i fit do you one time. bcos of dat yansh.

and who said i will wanna give u one time? mchewww ur not ma type neither ma size...so STFU and if i had one wish i will wish to cut ur third leg cuz itz of no use jo...

too small
doesnt rise...
e no get akamu

so wutz itz use? woman rappa

Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:37 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- around_d_corner at 16-06-2009 08:42 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: shanique on 16-06-2009 08:37 PM
U no be marriage material. Too rude, saucy and obnoxious. However, i fit do you one time. bcos of dat yansh.

and who said i will wanna give u one time? mchewww ur not ma type neither ma size...so STFU and if i had one wish i will wish to cut ur third leg cuz itz of no use jo...

too small
doesnt rise...
e no get akamu

easy now.............u dey hot oh!....
Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:42 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- ironlady at 16-06-2009 08:43 PM (15 years ago)
shaniqueeeeeeeeeeee
Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:43 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Kennee at 16-06-2009 08:47 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: dguy on 15-06-2009 10:23 PM
Today in Igboland, marriage has become a project for people the society see as having arrived financially. This entails that the intending groom would be ready to cater for the family of the wife should there be need for that, after he must have performed all the rites required to take a lady as wife.

In most cases a junior sibling of the new wife would be attached to the new family to train. Whatever it takes, the man would be ready to foot the bills in order to be respected among the kinsmen of the in-laws.

But the duel of the husband to-be-would only get to the other commitments after he must have scaled the first hurdles. On the day of the traditional marriage, the kinsmen who might have taken laxative pills prior to the day would be in attendance to feast to their fill and probably get drunk too. Findings show that because of the endless demands made on the intending husband, traditional marriage seems to be phasing out as some parents would organize it in the city where they reside while the new wife would gladly move into the man’s house after the event.

Such factors have been responsible for low patronage of the marriage institution and a threat to the family system.

As a result, fathers are battling to give out their daughters on time or run the risk of leaving them unmarried. To achieve this they go out of their way to satisfy these kinsmen by allowing them have their way on the endless demands.

Dis yur Story Confuse me small ooo, but thanx for the info, l dey go drop my Ibo Babe now now Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed

Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:47 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- shanique at 16-06-2009 08:49 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: around_d_corner on 16-06-2009 08:42 PM
Quote from: shanique on 16-06-2009 08:37 PM

too small
doesnt rise...
e no get akamu

easy now.............u dey hot oh!....

hot? i never start hot o...

Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:49 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- shanique at 16-06-2009 08:50 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: ironlady on 16-06-2009 08:43 PM
shaniqueeeeeeeeeeee

wetin? Undecided Undecided Wink

Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:50 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- ironlady at 16-06-2009 08:50 PM (15 years ago)
wow!!!shan shan..i was greting u u keep ignoring me
Posted: at 16-06-2009 08:50 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 ... 17