Today in Igboland, marriage has become a project for people the society see as having arrived financially. This entails that the intending groom would be ready to cater for the family of the wife should there be need for that, after he must have performed all the rites required to take a lady as wife.
In most cases a junior sibling of the new wife would be attached to the new family to train. Whatever it takes, the man would be ready to foot the bills in order to be respected among the kinsmen of the in-laws.
But the duel of the husband to-be-would only get to the other commitments after he must have scaled the first hurdles. On the day of the traditional marriage, the kinsmen who might have taken laxative pills prior to the day would be in attendance to feast to their fill and probably get drunk too. Findings show that because of the endless demands made on the intending husband, traditional marriage seems to be phasing out as some parents would organize it in the city where they reside while the new wife would gladly move into the man’s house after the event.
Such factors have been responsible for low patronage of the marriage institution and a threat to the family system.
As a result, fathers are battling to give out their daughters on time or run the risk of leaving them unmarried. To achieve this they go out of their way to satisfy these kinsmen by allowing them have their way on the endless demands.
please do not distract and keep discussions along line of topic - make proper use of capit
Posted: at 15-06-2009 10:23 PM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
diplomatik at 15-06-2009 10:32 PM (15 years ago) (f)
sam .. i no fit read....summarize jor...
u've seen me right? i look kool right? ???but don't send me mails asking for my add or phone no. and don't give it to me either , i'll ask u if i want it ..ok...kool
Posted: at 15-06-2009 10:32 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
diplomatik at 15-06-2009 10:45 PM (15 years ago) (f)
Quote from: dguy on 15-06-2009 10:43 PM
Quote from: diplomatik on 15-06-2009 10:32 PM
sam .. i no fit read....summarize jor...
Are you an igbo lady?
lol...no...y?......just want to know
summarize jor...
u've seen me right? i look kool right? ???but don't send me mails asking for my add or phone no. and don't give it to me either , i'll ask u if i want it ..ok...kool
Posted: at 15-06-2009 10:45 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
diplomatik at 15-06-2009 10:49 PM (15 years ago) (f)
in fact i can't read....teach me to read na.... come my room and teach me....
Posted: at 15-06-2009 10:49 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
diplomatik at 15-06-2009 10:52 PM (15 years ago) (f)
Quote from: dguy on 15-06-2009 10:51 PM
Quote from: diplomatik on 15-06-2009 10:49 PM
You learn how to read in the school not in your room
i no get money for sch.....r u coming...i'm waiting jor...or u summarize...
Posted: at 15-06-2009 10:52 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
diplomatik at 15-06-2009 10:56 PM (15 years ago) (f)
Quote from: dguy on 15-06-2009 10:54 PM
Quote from: diplomatik on 15-06-2009 10:52 PM
Quote from: dguy on 15-06-2009 10:51 PM
You learn how to read in the school not in your room
i no get money for sch.....r u coming...i'm waiting jor...or u summarize...
government schools are free
oh really didn't know..... .....u shy to come my room eh?...ok lets go to the library....how about that
Posted: at 15-06-2009 10:56 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
diplomatik at 15-06-2009 11:00 PM (15 years ago) (f)
ok ..to the library then......
Posted: at 15-06-2009 11:00 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
diplomatik at 15-06-2009 11:05 PM (15 years ago) (f)
Quote from: osituga on 15-06-2009 11:03 PM
hmmm
nothing naa...ok baby... u can teach me instead ok...forget sam...he's not coming anyways..
Posted: at 15-06-2009 11:05 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
diplomatik at 15-06-2009 11:15 PM (15 years ago) (f)
Quote from: Toks-E on 15-06-2009 11:11 PM
kpele ooo
abeg enlighten us abt the other tribes
Posted: at 15-06-2009 11:15 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero
diplomatik at 15-06-2009 11:16 PM (15 years ago) (f)
Quote from: osituga on 15-06-2009 11:10 PM
Quote from: diplomatik on 15-06-2009 11:05 PM
Quote from: osituga on 15-06-2009 11:03 PM
hmmm
nothing naa...ok baby... u can teach me instead ok...forget sam...he's not coming anyways..
he gat some oscaboos...he needs to attend to...hehee
Posted: at 15-06-2009 11:16 PM (15 years ago) | Addicted Hero