Police Arrest Two Fake Doctors in Lagos...............!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Date: 17-08-2013 4:38 am (10 years ago) | Author: Tony Ladipo
- at 17-08-2013 04:38 AM (10 years ago)
Poster is not responsible for the Major Headline outside this page…..

Police Arrest Two Fake Doctors in Lagos...........

The quack doctor, Nwankwo Stephen: had delivered over 90 pregnancies....

Lagos

August 16, 2013

Two suspected quack medical doctors were on Friday paraded by the Lagos State Police Command at its headquarters in Ikeja, southwest Nigeria.

They were arrested for operating an unlicensed hospital at Omotoba Street, Unity Estate, Iba, Lagos.

The suspects, 39-year-old Gabriel Onyema Ihejiero, and Nwankwo Stephen, employed as doctor by Ihejiero, were arrested at a hospital named ‘Care Hospital’ located at 1B Omotoba Street, Unity Estate, Iba-Lagos.

According to the police, on 26 July, an Assistant Commissioner of Police, Damian Okoro, who is the Area ‘E’ Commander, Festac Town, received a distress call that some fake doctors were operating in Iba area and they were arrested.
In his confessional statement, Stephen said: “The MD (Ihejiero) is my friend. He came to me for an advice, then I suggested to him that we should start a hospital business and he agreed.

“I only worked for two years in his hospital before I stopped. I was trained as an auxiliary nurse in Ondo State for two years.”
The police said their investigation revealed that the two suspects never attended any medical or nursing school and they have conducted over 80 deliveries for pregnant women in the hospital.

While corroborating the Police report that they have carried out series of surgical operations, Stephen said: “I have delivered over 90 pregnant women and they were all successful.”

In his own confession, Ihejiero, who claimed to be selling bond paper in Ghana before he began the hospital business, said: “I own the hospital located at Iba. Though I am not a medical doctor, I employed a doctor with two years medical experience.”

Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Ngozi Braide, while speaking at the parade, advised the public not to patronise unlicensed hospitals and quack doctors.

Posted: at 17-08-2013 04:38 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- winace at 17-08-2013 05:12 AM (10 years ago)
OMG!!! Dis are killers in disguise. They can fake anythg but not doctor na. Its risky. Those women he deliver shld go and check themslves.
Posted: at 17-08-2013 05:12 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- papadip at 17-08-2013 05:31 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: winace on 17-08-2013 05:12 AM
OMG!!! Dis are killers in disguise. They can fake anythg but not doctor na. Its risky. Those women he deliver shld go and check themslves.
They should....
Posted: at 17-08-2013 05:31 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 17-08-2013 06:27 AM (10 years ago)
Is there any active regulatory body at all?

The poor will always be the victim..
Posted: at 17-08-2013 06:27 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- kebella at 17-08-2013 09:21 AM (10 years ago)
 Angry Angry Angry Angry

Posted: at 17-08-2013 09:21 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Solidstonez at 17-08-2013 11:13 AM (10 years ago)
Anything for naija,  is no surprise for me

Posted: at 17-08-2013 11:13 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- sonjohn994 at 17-08-2013 11:21 AM (10 years ago)
 Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 17-08-2013 11:21 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- angesco at 17-08-2013 11:23 AM (10 years ago)
I am sure a lot of pregnant women ran to them because their hospital fees were probably much cheaper than the legitimate ones.

Two fake doctors arrested - one thousand more to be apprehended.
Posted: at 17-08-2013 11:23 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- steveoneal at 17-08-2013 11:29 AM (10 years ago)
Quote from: papadip on 17-08-2013 04:38 AM
Poster is not responsible for the Major Headline outside this page…..

Police Arrest Two Fake Doctors in Lagos...........

The quack doctor, Nwankwo Stephen: had delivered over 90 pregnancies....

Lagos

August 16, 2013

Two suspected quack medical doctors were on Friday paraded by the Lagos State Police Command at its headquarters in Ikeja, southwest Nigeria.

They were arrested for operating an unlicensed hospital at Omotoba Street, Unity Estate, Iba, Lagos.

The suspects, 39-year-old Gabriel Onyema Ihejiero, and Nwankwo Stephen, employed as doctor by Ihejiero, were arrested at a hospital named ‘Care Hospital’ located at 1B Omotoba Street, Unity Estate, Iba-Lagos.

According to the police, on 26 July, an Assistant Commissioner of Police, Damian Okoro, who is the Area ‘E’ Commander, Festac Town, received a distress call that some fake doctors were operating in Iba area and they were arrested.
In his confessional statement, Stephen said: “The MD (Ihejiero) is my friend. He came to me for an advice, then I suggested to him that we should start a hospital business and he agreed.

“I only worked for two years in his hospital before I stopped. I was trained as an auxiliary nurse in Ondo State for two years.”
The police said their investigation revealed that the two suspects never attended any medical or nursing school and they have conducted over 80 deliveries for pregnant women in the hospital.

While corroborating the Police report that they have carried out series of surgical operations, Stephen said: “I have delivered over 90 pregnant women and they were all successful.”

In his own confession, Ihejiero, who claimed to be selling bond paper in Ghana before he began the hospital business, said: “I own the hospital located at Iba. Though I am not a medical doctor, I employed a doctor with two years medical experience.”

Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Ngozi Braide, while speaking at the parade, advised the public not to patronise unlicensed hospitals and quack doctors.

POLICE in Lagos State have arrested a fake medical practitioner who claimed to have helped in the delivery of over 200 babies.
The owner of the hospital, a Ghana-based newspaper vendor, has also been arrested in connection with the unethical practices that took place at the hospital, which is situated at Unity Estate in Iba area of the state.

The duo were arrested after policemen from Area E Command, led by the Area Commander, Damman Okoro, swooped on the hospital following intelligence reports.

The Ghana-based vendor, Gabriel Onyema; and the fake medical doctor, Nwankwo Stephen, were on Friday paraded before newsmen by the image maker in charge of the state police command, Ngozi Bride.

Stephen was initially employed at Cares Hospital to understudy the doctor in charge but was allowed to take over, when the doctor left.

Stephen, while speaking with newsmen, admitted to being a fake medical doctor but claimed to have earlier been an apprentice at an unnamed hospital in Ogun State.

The fake medical doctor said, “Actually, I must be truthful to you, I am not a medical doctor, but I was employed as a medical doctor.
What really happened was that I told them (management) the truth that I was a trained auxiliary nurse, but, when the real doctor that was employed left the hospital, I started acting as the real medical doctor.

“My work speaks for me, because I have delivered (sic!) over 200 babies and only one died. 199 survived. Their mothers survived too. It was only a baby and a mother that died.”

On how the said baby and the mother died, the Anambra-State born suspect said, “It was not my fault; it was the fault of the doctor that was in charge. Before I took over, I was not happy, when he was trying to deliver a pregnant woman of her baby and the delivery lasted for about six hours.”

He said further, “She was bleeding profusely; blood littered everywhere and I pushed the doctor out of the labour room and inserted my hand into her womb and brought out the baby, so that the woman would not suffer. But all my efforts were fruitless as the woman and the baby died .That was the only woman who died in my years as the doctor in charge of the hospital.”

“Another (incident) that happened when I was there, which I was not happy with, was when a woman was transfused with an unscreened blood. I protested. Even though I was not qualified to be a doctor, I tried my best to operate according to the ethics of the (medical) profession.”

The owner of the hospital, Onyema, said that he sells newspapers in Ghana.

“I opened the hospital but (it is) not registered. I have started the registration process. I employed a genuine doctor but he left. This man (Stephen) that is talking like parrot started acting. I am a qualified spinal cord doctor, though I did not study it in the university.
The hospital was doing well, and this thrash that this man is talking, I was not there when it happened; I was in Ghana,” Onyema said.

Braide said the Area Commander in charge of Area E “through a tip-off started investigating the hospital and finally discovered that it was not registered, and that the doctors there were all fake.”

She said the suspects would be arraigned in court soon.---http://www.tribune.com.ng/news2013/index.php/en/news/item/19343-police-arrest-fake-medical-doctor-who-midwifed-200-babies.html
Posted: at 17-08-2013 11:29 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- steveoneal at 17-08-2013 11:32 AM (10 years ago)
human lives shouldnt  be something we should be toying with, even if our government is beating the i dont care drum as regard our lives,, we shouldnt be doing the same ,, all in the name of wanting to make money,,
Posted: at 17-08-2013 11:32 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- chicco77 at 17-08-2013 12:17 PM (10 years ago)
every thing dey happend for naija  Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 17-08-2013 12:17 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- Noble12 at 17-08-2013 12:20 PM (10 years ago)
kai
Posted: at 17-08-2013 12:20 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- paulohking at 17-08-2013 12:26 PM (10 years ago)
chaiiiiiiiii professional killers
Posted: at 17-08-2013 12:26 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- softhils at 17-08-2013 12:49 PM (10 years ago)
gud
Posted: at 17-08-2013 12:49 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Yossman at 17-08-2013 01:07 PM (10 years ago)
God nigerians sha haha fake doc again!
Posted: at 17-08-2013 01:07 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- maxzy277 at 17-08-2013 01:29 PM (10 years ago)
Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, DSP Ngozi Braide, while speaking at the parade, advised the public not to patronise unlicensed hospitals and quack doctors.....
Pls tell me how to Identify Unlicensed and Quack Doctors...
Posted: at 17-08-2013 01:29 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Solidstonez at 17-08-2013 01:32 PM (10 years ago)

Posted: at 17-08-2013 01:32 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- dareper at 17-08-2013 02:52 PM (10 years ago)
Ajanni u hear am? Next time wey u go call yourself doctor I go call police for u.
Posted: at 17-08-2013 02:52 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- Kechywillz at 17-08-2013 03:23 PM (10 years ago)
no be small thing

Posted: at 17-08-2013 03:23 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ebiteck at 17-08-2013 03:27 PM (10 years ago)
too bad
Posted: at 17-08-2013 03:27 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac

1. Bride Calls Off Wedding After Catching Groom's Mum Br3astfeeding Him in Restroom On Wedding Day

2. Female ADC Attached to Embattled Ex Gov, Yahaya Bello Has Been Arrested

3. Singer, Portable Celebrates His Lookalike Son on His Birthday With Stunning New Photos

4. Nigeria's Tunde Onakoya Smashes Guinness World Record For Longest Chess Marathon (VID)

5. Brymo Makes Strong Allegations Against 2face, Burna Boy & Davido in New Viral Video

6. President Tinubu Announces Appointment of SEC Chairman, Seven Board Members

7. Everyone Knows You’re Wicked – Angela Okorie Continues to Drag Zubby Michael

8. Reality TV Star, Ifu Ennada Embraces Spiritual Awakening, Removes Sultry Content From SM

1. Moment Atiku Abubakar And Nyesom Wike Snub Each Other At PDP National Caucus Meeting (VID)

2. The Real Reason Tinubu Government Went After Bobrisky - Reno Omokri Drops Bombshell

3. Check Out The Video That Got Cubana Chief Priest Into EFCC's Net

4. Jubilation In Nigeria As Many Are Currently Receiving N50k Inside Their Account From Tinubu

5. PICS: Ex Ooni Of Ife's Wife, Queen Naomi Ties The Knot Again On Her 31st Birthday

6. Embarrassing Turn for Afrobeats Star, Davido in Latest Romantic Scandal With American Model

7. Kim Kardashian Shows Off Lots of Flesh as She Debuts Her SKIMS SWIM Summer 2024 Line

8. Lady Who Accidentally Posted Cozy Photos With Davido Shares New Shocking Video of The Singer

9. APC National Chairman, Ganduje Suspended From The Party

10. Tragedy As Two Teenage Girls Drown As Canoe Capsizes In Niger State