Between 1960 and 1999, Nigerian officials had stolen or wasted more than $440 bi

Date: 28-07-2009 10:53 am (14 years ago) | Author: M Hugo
- at 28-07-2009 10:53 AM (14 years ago)
Between 1960 and 1999, Nigerian officials had stolen or wasted more than $440 billion. That is six times the Marshall Plan, the total sum needed to rebuild a devastated Europe in the aftermath of the Second World War.
On a regional dimension, it is estimated that some $20 billion leaves Africa annually through the illicit export of money extorted from development loan contracts. This money is deposited in overseas banks by a network of politicians, civil servants and businessmen. This figure is now roughly equal to the entire amount of aid from the US to Sub-Saharan Africa every year.

In 2003, almost 100,000 barrels of oil was stolen daily; by 2005•6, we had managed to reduce this to 10,000 barrels per day. We also secured convictions for kidnappers in the Delta, who were driving the cycle of violence and bribery with the private oil companies.
The UK’s Commission for Africa estimates that the assets stolen from the continent and held in foreign bank accounts amount to $93 billion. If Africa can succeed in tracing and repatriating such stolen wealth, the next chapter in the story may truly turn a new page, and the days of aid dependency can start to wane.

Posted: at 28-07-2009 10:53 AM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- Mecutiepie2 at 29-07-2009 07:31 PM (14 years ago)
I  know that life in Nigeria for you decent people must be hard, but the scammers need to stop doing their dirty deeds to other innocent people!!  Why don't you rise up against your Goverment and demand a change in the corrupt Goverment officials!!  There must be a way the pepole of Nigeria can do something about the Goverment taking your countrys money out and into another country!!  The people in the USA just vote them out of office or they get kicked out of office for doing bad things and procuted!!  So what's up Guys and Girls lets band together and demand a change rather than starving to death when your country is rich in oil and other materials!!  Demand that they produce jobs for you people!!  It is a sad situation!!  The USA pours so much money into 3rd world countries and into the Middle East countried now we people here are left in a bind, peoples health care cut, their monthly checks cut, the people that get paid my the Goverment to go into someones home and take care of the sick and eldery paychecks are being cut!  God didn't promise us a rose garden, but damn a Goverment that would cheat their people out of a decent living!!  YOU HAVE YOUR RIGHTS!!  USE THEM FOR YOUR OWN GOOD!!  GET OUIT IN THE STREETS WITH BANNERS AND SIGNS AND PROTEST!!  MAY GOD BLESS AND HELP YOUR PEOPLE OF YOUR SELFISH GOVERMENT AND SET YOU FREE FROM STARVATION AND SICKNESS!!

Mecutiepie2

Posted: at 29-07-2009 07:31 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- ALLFORGOD at 29-07-2009 10:37 PM (14 years ago)
My only answer to this is that you people are blessed to have such a country and system that works for the people and by the people over there in Nigeria before i left Government is for the president, for his family and friends they promise us bridges where there are no rivers we vote but in vain Nigeria is like a big hall where you are left alone to shout and cry but your voice returns back to you as an echo

We also bear in mind that for many years now Nigeria has been ruled by the same group of people where we change government without changing governance and you hardly find a good or even Christians among them THIS IS NOTHING BUT THE TRUTH WHICH ONLY GOD CAN CHANGE   
Posted: at 29-07-2009 10:37 PM (14 years ago) | Newbie
- pope12 at 30-07-2009 06:14 PM (14 years ago)
and the money still dey buku, na wa ooooooooooh.
asuu dey strike
phcn dey strike
doctors dey strike
and dis money dey
u go steal if u dey there?
Posted: at 30-07-2009 06:14 PM (14 years ago) | Upcoming