I see a new Nigeria filled with love – Jonathan

Date: 03-03-2014 5:52 am (10 years ago) | Author: Direct
- at 3-03-2014 05:52 AM (10 years ago)
President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday assured Nigerians that the security challenges being facing by the country especially in the North Eastern states of Borno, Yobe and Adamawa are euphemeral  which the nation will overcome.
CENTENARY-CELEBRATION-INTERThe President who spoke yesterday at a thanks giving service to conclude the centenary celebration urged Nigerians to   show more love to one another.
According to the President , his vision for the country is a new Nigeria filled with love noting that love for one another should be unconditional.
The president said although some people at the beginning of the centenary celebration had expressed misgivings that the celebration was not necessary, those who had such opinions had been proved wrong by the enthusiasm expressed by Nigerians
“I believe that we must remember our past because if those in the Nordic region can celebrate 200 years of not fighting wars, Nigeria has enough reasons to celebrate.   Nigeria will surely get over her challenge”.
He added: “Let us show love even when it hurts most, for our lives will be more fulfilled in giving love to others. Few days ago, all our leaders gathered and our nation honoured them for their labour of love.  I see a new Nigeria filled with love, I see a new Nigeria with treated determination, I see a new Nigeria with passion for a greater Nigeria.
“Of course, this is my article of faith and hope for a brighter future and our commitment to realising  a united and creating a Nigeria that our children will be proud of is what I request from all of us.
“I have one appeal to all Nigerians, to show love to one another more than ever before regardless of tribe and religion or race”.
In his message, the retired Prelate of the Methodist Church of Nigeria, Sunday Ola Makinde, urged the federal government to unravel the sources of funding for the terrorists and their collaborators in Nigeria with the view of ending the groups’ activities in the country.
Makinde, while also challenging those residing in the communities where Boko Haram members operate, noted that only an internal mechanism that identifies and check the activities of the Boko Haram collaborators in their neighborhood will assist government end the mayhem being visited on the communities in Borno, Yobe and Adamawa
“Find out the source of funding of Boko haram, where do they get their weapons, how do they get through the borders, where do they get to buy their food, is there a separate market for Boko Haram”?
“The Yorubas have an adage that says  “Without enemies within, enemy without cannot strike. We have internal and external collaborator. God will expose them”
While praying God to “wage war against those who are waging war on Nigeria” he, also admonished Nigerians to ensure that “ our words and our actions heal and build Nigeria” because “united we stand, divided we fall”
He  commended President Jonathan for considering the forth coming national conference which he said will give Nigerians the opportunity to dialogue,
Makinde who urged Nigerians to accept the out come of the conference, likened the  current situation in Nigeria to what obtained in Israel in the time in the Bible as recorded in Amos 3 verse 3 “can two people walk together without agreeing on the direction.
”Amos who prophesied between 750 to 780 AD condemned Israel for breaking their covenant with God.
Let us see the madness in Israel in those days. Injustices, wickedness, oppression, false worship, when I see the magnificent churches and Mosques in Nigeria,  say oh my God these building alone ought to convert us.
“We need to discuss how we can live together”
The national conference is the best thing that has ever happened to this country and it has come at the right time. We have to review where we are coming from, where we are and where we are going, this is the best time for us to do that. We have to talk and agree on a common goal, common interest. We do not have them in Nigeria. We have fought war, it is time to jour jour. We have to bring to our mind part if the national anthem. I am hoping for a nation where I will be able to control what I produce
“Rise up to build Nigeria and not to break it. We should learn from what is going on in Sudan, Congo, Somalia etc. if India can be one, I do not know why Nigeria cannot be one”
“As we enter the journey of another 100 years, I called on Nigeria politicians not allow rigging. Please allow God’s will to be done. You cannot help God in this matter”
Those who attended the event include  President Goodluck Jonathan, First Lady, Dame Patience Jonathan,  Mother of the President, Eunice Jonathan, the President’s sister, Mrs Akpeifu, Senate President David Mark and wife Hellen Mark, former Military Head of State Gen. Yakubu Gowon,  head of Nigeria’s Interim government, Chief Earnest Shonekan, PDP BOT Chairman, Tony Aneni, Deputy Speaker of House of Representatives, Emeka Ihedioha, Justices of the Supreme Court, Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Anyim Pius Anyim, Chief of Staff to the President, Jones Arogbofa.
Governor of Abia state, Theordore Orji, Audu Bajoga, Deputy Governor of Kaduna state
Service Chiefs led by the Chief of Defence Staff, Air Chief Marshall Alex Barde.
Other Spiritual fathers present include, Primate Nicholas Oko, Musa Aseke,Presiding Bishop of Living Faith, David Oyedepo, Bishop Abioye of the Abuja Living Faith Church and John Kennedy Opara, Executive Secretary of the Christian Pilgrims Commission, CPC , amongst others

Posted: at 3-03-2014 05:52 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dareper at 3-03-2014 08:53 AM (10 years ago)
Story, up biafra!!!
Posted: at 3-03-2014 08:53 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- angesco at 3-03-2014 09:09 AM (10 years ago)
Martin Luther King also had a dream!

Lets hope this dream changes Nigeria as MLK's did USA!!
Posted: at 3-03-2014 09:09 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- iamDonc at 3-03-2014 09:26 AM (10 years ago)
Story Story Story!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Posted: at 3-03-2014 09:26 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- kennethosita at 3-03-2014 09:32 AM (10 years ago)
up biafra
Posted: at 3-03-2014 09:32 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- Dames at 3-03-2014 09:45 AM (10 years ago)
I have a dream. Jonathan's version....
Posted: at 3-03-2014 09:45 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- fdkenny at 3-03-2014 11:29 AM (10 years ago)
Abeg make i hear word, i no fit read all dis story finish jare, no b dis one we want chop we want a new NIGERIA whr thr wud peace.
Posted: at 3-03-2014 11:29 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- beneno at 3-03-2014 11:45 AM (10 years ago)
i beg no see am,do  am Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes  Roll Eyes
Posted: at 3-03-2014 11:45 AM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- paulohking at 3-03-2014 11:53 AM (10 years ago)
can someone say a big amen to that heading pls  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 3-03-2014 11:53 AM (10 years ago) | Hero
- dickman2 at 3-03-2014 12:05 PM (10 years ago)
na lie..which love ..u alone dey eat 1.5 billion  a year..when some no get water to drink..which love..make I hear word jare..na who u dey tell this nonsense..me dickie no see no love there abeg..
Posted: at 3-03-2014 12:05 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- gbojac at 3-03-2014 12:43 PM (10 years ago)
whAt
Posted: at 3-03-2014 12:43 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- IDOKOO at 3-03-2014 01:00 PM (10 years ago)
It a super story.... and life is tuff wit sorrows.. nigeria wey don dey fold frm grand like mat, na him u dey see dat vission for ? if def's n dump's hear dis wan, dem go just heal begin dey quorel u strait.u nid 2 drimk ijaw water, 2 clear ur eye's
Posted: at 3-03-2014 01:00 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- richcash61 at 3-03-2014 01:13 PM (10 years ago)
Ole...i remember all your good words in 2011..you want to start again, i no fit cheap this one ooo..ole
Posted: at 3-03-2014 01:13 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- christianity at 3-03-2014 01:41 PM (10 years ago)
for ur dream
Posted: at 3-03-2014 01:41 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benbellabiz at 3-03-2014 02:13 PM (10 years ago)
tales by moonlight, government version or i will say political version.
Posted: at 3-03-2014 02:13 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- osarobo62 at 3-03-2014 05:10 PM (10 years ago)
when you wake up... tell us your dream again.
hatred, anger,  and frustration is simmering in the land...and you are there talking about love Angry Angry Angry
Posted: at 3-03-2014 05:10 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- cocoeni at 3-03-2014 05:33 PM (10 years ago)
 Cheesy Cheesy
Posted: at 3-03-2014 05:33 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- kelvos007 at 3-03-2014 06:14 PM (10 years ago)
Stop fooling ur sef GEJ, 100 years of lies n corruption. Lord Lugard made a mistake in the amalgamation of the northern n southern protectorate, biggest mistake ever, the northerners are devils, not worth dwelling wit.
Posted: at 3-03-2014 06:14 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- spiridion at 3-03-2014 06:56 PM (10 years ago)
Even the president knows that what he is saying is false and that Nigeria can never get to that level of unity or love as he expresses...
Posted: at 3-03-2014 06:56 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- abk01 at 3-03-2014 07:20 PM (10 years ago)
ISLAM D RELIGION OF PEACE

GEJ,  U  CAN  ONLY  FOOL  UR   IGBO'S   PPL'S   DAT  ARE  SUPPORTING  U  BUT   NOT  WE   OKAY! Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

WEL, I SHADE TEARS FOR DIS GEJ ADMINISTRATION & HIS USELESS BLOODSUCKING TRANSFORMATION AGENDA

EITHER U LIKE IT OR NOT   GEJ IS D LEADER OF BOKO HARAM'S,  I KNO DAT MANY OF U WIL NOT BELEIVE  DIS  BUT  TIME SHALL TELL

WAT  GOES  AROUND WIL SURELY COMES AROUND
Posted: at 3-03-2014 07:20 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming