President Jonathan escapes plane crash

Date: 09-03-2014 11:33 am (10 years ago) | Author: famuyiwa oluwatosin raphael
[1] 2 3 4
- at 9-03-2014 11:33 AM (10 years ago)
President Goodluck Jonathan and top government functionaries on Saturday escaped an air mishap at Minna Airport, Niger State, when the N9billion Presidential Jet developed technical fault, while they were aboard.

The presidential jet, Nigerian Air Force 001, had earlier conveyed Jonathan to Minna for PDP North-Central rally which held in the state. But when at the end of the rally, the President returned to the airport in company of top government officials, PDP state governors and party chiefs for a trip to Sokoto, from where he was scheduled to return to Abuja, they didn't know that something strange was waiting for them..Several minutes after Jonathan had bade farewell to those who accompanied him to the airport, and the door of the aircraft was shut, the aircraft failed to move.

After many attempts, crew members and engineers, for the first time, had to disembarked from the aircraft and made spirited efforts to fix the fault as armed security men took strategic positions around the place.

While this was going on, Vice-President Namadi Sambo; Senate President,, David Mark; PDP governors and National Assembly and Federal Executive Council members were watching in disbelieve.

They couldn't understand why a Presidential Jet that they voted billions of Naira for its maintenance would be in such a bad shape that it couldn't fly any more. Is it that the Ogas are pocketing the money for servicing?

When it became obvious that Nigeria's Number One Presidential plane has been grounded, the commander of the Presidential Air Fleet, Air Vice Marshal Uko Ebong, ordered that a smaller presidential jet, which took the Vice-President to the state be brought to fly Jonathan.

President Jonathan disembarked from the faulty jet around 3.30pm and quickly moved to the smaller aircraft.

All the top government officials and PDP governors who had rushed into the first plane with Jonathan all come down with long faces, with some of them sweating heavily. It was indeed a big embarrassment as many started making alternative travel arrangements.

When asked what happened to the plane, a FAAN official simply said: “The return engine refused to pick.”

Posted: at 9-03-2014 11:33 AM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- yettyness at 9-03-2014 11:42 AM (10 years ago)
They couldn't understand why a Presidential Jet that they voted billions of Naira for its maintenance would be in such a bad shape that it couldn't fly any more. Is it that the Ogas are pocketing the money for servicing?
Everything is possible.
Posted: at 9-03-2014 11:42 AM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 9-03-2014 12:44 PM (10 years ago)
Quote from: yettyness on  9-03-2014 11:42 AM
Everything is possible.

I am sure they don’t service anything but their pockets...... Only oil change…..
Posted: at 9-03-2014 12:44 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- papadip at 9-03-2014 12:48 PM (10 years ago)
Opportunity has presented itself to purchase additional planes to the presidential fleet which has 10 already.
Three presidential jets were used for this PDP fanfare at the expense of taxpayers.

The first republic did not even have one single helicopter……
Posted: at 9-03-2014 12:48 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- victormorgan at 9-03-2014 02:33 PM (10 years ago)
Make una take am easy oh. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes
Posted: at 9-03-2014 02:33 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- osarobo62 at 9-03-2014 02:34 PM (10 years ago)
the pilot mistakenly put vegetable oil in the engine Grin Grin
Posted: at 9-03-2014 02:34 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- christianity at 9-03-2014 02:34 PM (10 years ago)
lol,naija i hail thee.they ar using the money to service their pockets.wasted coun3
Posted: at 9-03-2014 02:34 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- dickman2 at 9-03-2014 02:42 PM (10 years ago)
ok..
Posted: at 9-03-2014 02:42 PM (10 years ago) | Addicted Hero
- angesco at 9-03-2014 02:54 PM (10 years ago)
They have had a small taste of what the ordinary Nigerians who fly to and fro feel - the onky difference is everyone ensured the plane was fixed.

The young people who died in the Sosoliso air tragedy were not so lucky. No one cared the plane was faulty, and so after a little fiddle here and a little there they flew anyway - after all they were COMMON Nigerians and thought POOR MAN NO DEY DIE FOR PLANE CRASH!

We can't all be president of Nigeria but we ALL deserve the right to be given good QUALITY SERVICE!

After all this is the only country we can call our home - worst luck!!!!!
Posted: at 9-03-2014 02:54 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- vantheo at 9-03-2014 03:20 PM (10 years ago)
So how did he escape death? Did the plane burst into flames?

Posted: at 9-03-2014 03:20 PM (10 years ago) | Hero
- gbojac at 9-03-2014 03:23 PM (10 years ago)
Hahaha, Poster you make me laugh
"security men took strategic positions around the place" Which are ??

Well done Mr Jonathan Ebele, you just proved to the world you are president of banana country...
Posted: at 9-03-2014 03:23 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- benbellabiz at 9-03-2014 03:50 PM (10 years ago)
i sure say na ajanni go touch the plane with his boko haram hands.  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 9-03-2014 03:50 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- ken222 at 9-03-2014 03:56 PM (10 years ago)
I never knew that Jonathan is a powerful as this, the Hausas planted bomb in the plane but they did not know that Jonathan came with Big juju, that is why the plane couldn't start. 
Posted: at 9-03-2014 03:56 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- nwoko_emmanuel at 9-03-2014 04:12 PM (10 years ago)
"The return engine refused to pick" Can you imagine Airforce 1 of the US refusing to Pick, I am happy that the effect of corruption is beginning to reach your door steps.
Posted: at 9-03-2014 04:12 PM (10 years ago) | Newbie
- ugbang at 9-03-2014 04:17 PM (10 years ago)
Oga Joe will not die but live. He still coming for anoda 4 more yrs to role naija

Posted: at 9-03-2014 04:17 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- IDOKOO at 9-03-2014 04:57 PM (10 years ago)
What is good 4 the gender, is good 4 th good's, in lane man language, what is good 4 the goat, is good 4 the ram
Posted: at 9-03-2014 04:57 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- bissau at 9-03-2014 05:15 PM (10 years ago)
THANK GOD OOOOOOOOOO
Posted: at 9-03-2014 05:15 PM (10 years ago) | Upcoming
- okilo101 at 9-03-2014 06:24 PM (10 years ago)
Ohk na
Posted: at 9-03-2014 06:24 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Topsylucas at 9-03-2014 08:30 PM (10 years ago)
D kind english wey I dey read 4 ppl comment 4 dis naijapals dey detonate bombs evrywher.
Abegi oga joe,sey u corrupt sotay u corrupt 4 ursef.2 maintain private jet wey cost hw much sef 2 fly ur corrupt ass,u no fit cos u dey divert d mney. U won't go anywher wif doze stolen funds.if u die 2day ull go & face ur maker naked.
Posted: at 9-03-2014 08:30 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- odprince at 9-03-2014 08:50 PM (10 years ago)
BUHARI,ATIKU THEM..ALL THE HAUSA'S WANTED TO KILL PRESIDO..BUT GOD SAYS NO TO THEIR EVIL DOINGS,,,,,,CARRY GO JOE....GOD WILL ALWAYS GUIDE YOU FROM THOSE ABOKI BLOOD SUCKERS HAND..IBB STYLE OF KILLING
Posted: at 9-03-2014 08:50 PM (10 years ago) | Gistmaniac
[1] 2 3 4