Who caused the Niger-Delta crisis ? (Page 2)

Date: 10-07-2008 2:53 am (15 years ago) | Author: FORTUNE A
1 [2] 3 4 5
- wof at 7-08-2008 01:50 AM (15 years ago)
 the question should be what caused the niger delta problem and not who caused it
greed caused it all
Posted: at 7-08-2008 01:50 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- lamide at 9-08-2008 08:16 PM (15 years ago)
o b j
      y
Posted: at 9-08-2008 08:16 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 31-08-2008 06:09 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: wof on  7-08-2008 01:50 AM
the question should be what caused the niger delta problem and not who caused it
greed caused it all

I beg to disagree with u.Who remains they question.Problems are caused by people & not things.So the what question is a secondary one.The greed u're talking about is not in a tree or stone.It's in men.So we must treat the primary cause(men) before any talk of the secondary(greed et al).
Posted: at 31-08-2008 06:09 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- TheTruth at 3-09-2008 12:32 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: shizou on 28-07-2008 10:50 PM
Insentivity of leadership of Niger Delta has immensely contributed to the show of shame in that region. Moreover the people of the region, too, seem not to be ready to get themselvews extricated from  the schakle of backwardness and poverty as they contiunue to help these rogues to power. They must now rise against the traitors that parade themselves as leaders in that region. These leaders tactically collude with the power that be in the centre to further impoverish the hapless niger Deltans. What have they done with the huge financial resources they have drawn  from the federal purse to advance the economy and political stability of the region?
Quote from: Godsson on  3-08-2008 03:14 AM
Buddyflex,I must commend u 4 ur clear understanding of the ND crises.Many folks here seem 2 misunderstand the crux of the crises.They are looking @ the symptoms rather than looking @ the ailment.Just 2 reiterate,let me state it here that the so called militants are not part of the crises but an offshoot or offspring of the crises.

The ND crisis is a crisis of UNDERDEVELOPMENT,caused by unbridled ethnic chauvinism & ethnic based political domination,that ve given those with access to State power,the opportunity 2 exploit & expropriate those without power.In this case,the Niger delta happened 2 be the victims.This crisis of underdevelopment,which is characterized by the Niger Delta masses living in abject penury,while the whole country grow fat from the Petro-dollar, which is earn through activities that ve many negative externalities for the ND people.The frustration that comes out of this(the crisis of Underdevelopment)was/is what ve led to the 2nd crisis-the crisis of INSTABILITY.The crisis of instability has taken various forms.Namely,intra & inter communal & ethnic conflicts,Youth restiveness,hostage taking,insurgence(which some of u call militancy),sabotage of the Fed Govt interest in the area,etc.

You cannot understand the Crises without putting it in its proper perspective like this.Some of u ll ask,"is he then saying the Niger delta ruler ain't part of the problem?"I ain't saying that.I'm only saying,u should look past the smoke(flame)& see the fire.Buddyflex talked about a pre-independence agreement to develop the area.Yes the Willinks Commission report said the ND should be declared a SPECIAL AREA 4 development,but nothing was done.
For those of you talking about Militancy,ve u ever asked urself why there weren't militancy B4 1999?Have u taken the time out 2 ask urselves why the once peaceful ND people,who actually fought in the side of Nigeria during the 30 Months Civil war,decided to be agitating all of a sudden?It's called CONSCIOUSNESS in Marxism.
Posted: at 3-09-2008 12:32 AM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 30-09-2008 07:09 PM (15 years ago)
The Crisis is still here.No serious effort ve being made towards solving it.
Posted: at 30-09-2008 07:09 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- ddurkwa at 30-09-2008 07:21 PM (15 years ago)
ma guy, never blame the government for what is happening in the N/D. The gov't pump alot of cash in that direction but there leaders steal the money and tell the thugs to go about kidnapping white guys. for god's sake former bayelsa state governor was wearing a $250000000 wrist watch when he was caught for abuse of office abroad how many schools would that wrist watch of the thief build.
 secondly every naija person got rights to live any where he/she wants must they live by the waters?.
men those people are there own crisis just because they live where crude is extracted does not mean they should go about disgracing the country on the international scene.
Posted: at 30-09-2008 07:21 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 1-10-2008 01:36 PM (15 years ago)
Ddurkwa!
I can see U dont understand the crisis.U're still stoke in this 1998/9 argument.U talk about 'leaders of the Delta stealing the money sent there for development,& gave D.S.P as ur classic example.My question is,who put him in power in the first place?If he had agreed to support OBJ's 3rd term bid,would we've discovered all that?
It's amazing how some of U analyze politics.U treat political objects like u treat some other low level things.Take ur time to study the crisis so U'll be in an enlightened position to discuss it in its proper perspective.Thanks & God bless.Happy independence Day 2 U.
Posted: at 1-10-2008 01:36 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- easylifeg at 1-10-2008 07:51 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 10-07-2008 02:53 AM
Some peeps say the ND Governors,LGA Chairmen & community leaders are the cause of the crisis.However,the popular view holds that it was caused by the long EXPLOITATION & NEGLECT of the Area by the Nigerian State controlled by the elites of the major ethnic groups & the Oil Multinational Companies operating in the area.Pals!what's ur take on this.

na lie ooo na d FG cause am all
Posted: at 1-10-2008 07:51 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Buddyflex at 11-10-2008 10:04 AM (15 years ago)
ALUTA!!!! MY PEOPLE ALUTA!!!!
Posted: at 11-10-2008 10:04 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Godsson at 11-10-2008 10:46 PM (15 years ago)
When will Victoria ascerta?
Posted: at 11-10-2008 10:46 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 12-10-2008 12:39 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 11-10-2008 10:46 PM
When will Victoria ascerta?
not now
Posted: at 12-10-2008 12:39 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Buddyflex at 12-10-2008 07:30 AM (15 years ago)
Slowly but surly coming soon to a creek near you
Posted: at 12-10-2008 07:30 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
- Cleverman at 12-10-2008 06:48 PM (15 years ago)
who is responsible for the sorry state of power and energy in naija? My guy Godsson! naija is sick. But u seems to care only 4 N/D. pls think of naija as a nation
Posted: at 12-10-2008 06:48 PM (15 years ago) | Newbie
- Godsson at 12-10-2008 09:48 PM (15 years ago)
Cleverman!
I know that the whole of Nigeria is a psychiatric hospital.I ve said that elsewhere.However,solving the crisis in the Niger Delta,where over 90% of the nation's wealth come from,will go a long way in solving the problem in this country.I am not & will never neglect other parts of the country in my analysis.However,where we see the truth,let's say it,even if it hurts our ethnic homelands.
Posted: at 12-10-2008 09:48 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 12-10-2008 10:33 PM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 12-10-2008 09:48 PM
Cleverman!
I know that the whole of Nigeria is a psychiatric hospital.I ve said that elsewhere.However,solving the crisis in the Niger Delta,where over 90% of the nation's wealth come from,will go a long way in solving the problem in this country.I am not & will never neglect other parts of the country in my analysis.However,where we see the truth,let's say it,even if it hurts our ethnic homelands.
am gonna have to laugh Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin
Posted: at 12-10-2008 10:33 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 12-10-2008 10:44 PM (15 years ago)
So why the laughter,this time?
Posted: at 12-10-2008 10:44 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 12-10-2008 11:02 PM (15 years ago)
thought it was a bit funny
Posted: at 12-10-2008 11:02 PM (15 years ago) | Hero
- Godsson at 12-10-2008 11:55 PM (15 years ago)
It wont be funny if U se the naked realities urself.It wont be worth a smile when U see people(whose ethnic homeland account for the bulk of Nigeria's wealth)fetching water to drink from the same place where they shit.U wont ve the courage to even think of smiling when U see the abject penury that have visited the people due to the dislocation of the traditional occupations,means of livelihood & way of life,by Oil exploration & exploitation.It wont be funny when U find out that they life expectancy rate in the Niger Delta is lower than the national average.And the national average is about one of the poor or least in the whole world.You cant laugh(how would U?U ve a milk of kindness in U)when U find out that they ve the least access to anything that is needed to live a normal life.And that due to lack of education,health care,food,sanitary equipment,a once peaceful people have now turned into hostage takers etc.

There is nothing comical about the Niger Delta Crisis.Those who thought it was funny are facing the existential realities now.It's not a Joke.
Posted: at 12-10-2008 11:55 PM (15 years ago) | Upcoming
- blackberryPearl at 13-10-2008 12:20 AM (15 years ago)
ok u win
but that was not even what i was laughing at
Posted: at 13-10-2008 12:20 AM (15 years ago) | Hero
- khadijah at 13-10-2008 02:19 AM (15 years ago)
Quote from: Godsson on 12-10-2008 11:55 PM
It wont be funny if U se the naked realities urself.It wont be worth a smile when U see people(whose ethnic homeland account for the bulk of Nigeria's wealth)fetching water to drink from the same place where they shit.U wont ve the courage to even think of smiling when U see the abject penury that have visited the people due to the dislocation of the traditional occupations,means of livelihood & way of life,by Oil exploration & exploitation.It wont be funny when U find out that they life expectancy rate in the Niger Delta is lower than the national average.And the national average is about one of the poor or least in the whole world.You cant laugh(how would U?U ve a milk of kindness in U)when U find out that they ve the least access to anything that is needed to live a normal life.And that due to lack of education,health care,food,sanitary equipment,a once peaceful people have now turned into hostage takers etc.

There is nothing comical about the Niger Delta Crisis.Those who thought it was funny are facing the existential realities now.It's not a Joke.
kai...so u really think dem they shit for naija delta?well..i think its all because these guys sense the feelin of inferiority complex from that end.and u know its eay to be ridden in such cases..i'm sure u know that
Posted: at 13-10-2008 02:19 AM (15 years ago) | Gistmaniac
1 [2] 3 4 5

1. Disgraceful Videos Of Student Bullying In Nigeria's Boarding School, Lead British School Abuja

2. Kenyan Police Reportedly Arrest Binance Executive, Nadeem Anjarwalla Who Fled Nigeria

3. IK Ogbonna Writes Romantically To Alleged Lover, Ini Edo On Her Birthday, Shares Video

4. Kanye West Shocks Many As He Says He Wants To Have Threesome With Ex 1st Lady, Michelle Obama

5. 500 Lawyers Storm Supreme Court Over Planned Arrest Of Ex-kogi Gov, Yahaya Bello On Fraud

6. BBN Star, Liquorose Sparks BBL Rumours In Recent Video With Actor, Deyemi Okanlawon

7. Naira Abuse: I’m Only Artist Who Stops Supporters From Spraying Me Says Seun Kuti

8. Singer, Fireboy Recounts How He Failed Trying To Copy Beyonce's Stage Presence

9. PROUD MOTHER: Mercy Aigbe Gushes Over Daughter, Michelle As She Shares Photos Of Her

10. Many Dead As Two Navy Helicopters Crash After Colliding Mid-Air In Malaysia

11. SAD: Five Missing Children Found Suffocated To Death Inside Car In Niger State

12. Total Blackout Hits Three States As Vandals Destroy TCN Towers

13. "Most Hit Songs In Nigeria Are Not Good Music" – Nigerian Singer Ric Hassani Claims

14. Police, Ogun State Govt On Trail Of Killers Of Babcock University Lecturer

15. Mercy Chinwo Not Aware EeZee Tee Treated Me Unfairly – Producer Dr Roy Says After Calling Her

16. NSCDC Intercepts 10 'Potential' Human Trafficking Victims In FCT

17. How Strange Illness Claims 8 Lives In Sokoto, 208 Cases Identified

5. Pastor, David Odeniyi Seeks Divorce After Wife Strips Him Nak3d In Front Of His Congregation

7. Abia State Police Arrest Suspects Linked To Mysterious Death of 23-Yr-Old Hope Chinedu Prosper

8. Nollywood Actress Toyin Abraham Extends Olive Branch To Funke Akindele,Calls For Industry Unity

9. Nigerian Man Introduces Innovative Solution For Money Spraying At Parties Amidst EFCC Crackdown

10. Owner of Cybercrime 'Yahoo Yahoo' Training School, Ikemesit Edet Jailed 10 Years in Uyo